Reply By: Member - toohey - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:55
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:55
77c works for me
cheers toohey
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:58
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:58
Or perhaps you could just read Toohey's post, much easier really...
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:58
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:58
Thanks Toohey, you guys are real quick. I'm cooking in the backyard and oh what an aroma...just fabulous
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:13
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:13
After forgetting my lunch today, I can nearly smell it from work(Altona)...
Camp oven I presume...???
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:19
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:19
yep
camp oven. Just too hot to
cook inside on days like this. Latest test showed 63 so it's close. The beer shows 1.9 from the Engel...hahaha
Arggg..work, I'm back tomorrow after a week off
Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:40
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:40
I seem to remember reading somewhere that all meats should be cooked to at least 70C (internal temp) to ensure all bacteria is killed off.
Anything less and yer playing Russian Roulette with yer bowels!
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:37
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:37
I think it depends on what meat Bilbo. beef can be eaten uncooked..I think but chicken and pork must be
well done. The pork measured 79 so that should be kind to the family.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:49
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:49
Ray, Heather says it should be 73 to 77 but did it look like this one?!MPG:8!
I like it
well done when you invite me, but not dry. Have done it in Bedouri and in the cast iron one when at Big Red for the National event with EO. It is so easy to crisp the crackling turning it to the heat.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:57
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:57
Alas no crackling for me John, looking after the health after a blood pressure scare, given up the smokes also and feeling on top of the world.
Well it's cooked and looks nothing like yours, ours is a boneless but mate if you invite me around I'll eat yours too...
timboon aint too far from
Geelong you know.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 17:16
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 17:16
Meat out, veges still cooking
Roast Pork
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 17:45
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 17:45
I have blood pressure to think of too mate, but nothing smoking here for years. The pics with the rig pic were down in the
Otways, one in the oven the other on the plate. I took good note of the huge fire rings at Warraweena and hope to have something here soon to match. Was impressed with the Warraweena ones. Gas would only be a backup.
Heaather askes how you get the net off without wrecking the roast? Can soon get cooking when you come this way too mate.
Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 17:46
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 17:46
that looks bloody beautiful,yum.
cheers toohey
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:11
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:11
hehe,
well I've had it, in more ways than one...too much to eat, just have to sit back now with a beer or two to get over this miserable life...haha
I think Michelle just uses a knife, cuts and peels it the net away John, seems to work fine as it's still in one piece...
well half a piece, and no bone to carve around, not much good for those with dogs though.
Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:41
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:41
Searching the web I see weber have a fancy electronic wireless device that sends the temp to a remote receiver...sounds cool...no more open and test just a continuous readout of the temp...cool
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:43
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:43
hmm, I guess the problem is getting the probe into the cooking vessel and maintaining a seal.
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:18
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:18
Wouldn't you know it... i get home after work(having forgotten my lunch), thinking i may be in for a suprise for dinner... A suprise is exactly what I got... The missus ran out the door as I walked in, her sister just had a baby... "What's for dinner?" I ask as she flies past... "There's some cold pizza the kids didn't eat" was the response... hope you damn
well enjoyed that roast Ray...
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:36
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:36
Tough luck Blue and yes the roast was fantastic, was 79c when it came out and just fabulous. The veges were great also, to hell with cold pizza, bit of a disapointment after a day at work eh but I can understand the excitement with the new arrival.
Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:53
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:53
Hi ya Ray. That roast looks terrific mate. You can put your boots under my
table anytime!! Catch you soon. Cheers
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 20:59
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 20:59
Hi Leigh, I reckon in this warm weather cooking outside is the way to go for a real meal. The oven inside just makes the aircon work overtime. I'm putting together a nice litle kitchen under the pergola.
Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:30
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:30
hey blue
whats the matter geelongs only 10min down the road from altona surely rays got a few leftovers
i was thinking about dropping over from dandenong
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 06:14
Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 06:14
Trouble is, I live in Ferntree Gully... Couldn't face the drive back past work for a feed...
Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 16:22
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 16:22
Roast chicken in the weber tonight going on shortly, steak, snags chicken wings and all sorts of stuff, plently of beer...all welcome
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 16:40
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 16:40
By the way I purchased one of those weber wireless temp senders, plug it into the meat and sit back with the receiver for a continous readout of the internal temp....great stuff
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 16:45
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 16:45
It's a tough life but gotta crack my second beer already...lifes a bitch
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 17:04
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 17:04
Wheres me invite. Not that I could have made it due to landscaping.. but on 5th beer too :)
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 17:18
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 17:18
Mate, you don't need an invite, you know that but you live sooo far away from me.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 18:10
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 18:10
well its time you moved closer ... :P
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:25
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:25
Would be nice Bruce but to move from here would be a major effort. I like my backyard and nearby circle of friends but anywhere in Vic is just tops if you're into 4x4 and the bush and the people are just the best, such a friendly and welcoming bunch in southern Oz, guess that's one of my reasons for deciding to settle here after looking around.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:30
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:30
Tell them to move too!
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 17:01
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 17:01
Look Ray
This requires some testing.. bring one along next weekend on the Haunted Stream Trip, and we can try it out.
But I would prefer Lamb...
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 17:16
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 17:16
What haunted stream trip..sounds scary to me. No one ever invites me on any trips, I think they're worried about the mighty Lux. Yeah Lamb is good, pork too, beef...all tastes good to me....this chicken smells bloody good.....time to crack another.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 18:08
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 18:08
Ya free next weekend? 3 cars going. send a MM 2 Crazie.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:27
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:27
you going are you ?
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:30
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:30
yea Im in
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:39
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:39
ok, details, where is haunted stream, my bus is not a boat so I wont go swimming but plently of clearance and double locked.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:47
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:47
ok, found haunted stream. How come I've got cable but have to wait 3 seconds for his thread to open..what a pain
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 00:00
Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 00:00
its a good trip, you go in from Cassilis Mine, very kewl mine site to sift through, then the 54 crossings
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 00:05
Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 00:05
54 crossings ? I don't drive a flippin submarine, I like to breathe real air
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 00:22
Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 00:22
LMAO! Last tiem I was there the DEEPEST was 2inches.. LOL..
the track goes along and if they were full, the deepest wouldnt need a blind