Sealing tailgate.

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:02
ThreadID: 27874 Views:6016 Replies:8 FollowUps:12
Hi everyone, I have purchased a new Holden Rodeo 4x4 turbo diesel dual cab, then it's off to ARB to fit a canopy, bullbar, snorkle and dual battery system. I have been told the tailgate on utes leaks dust, has anyone had success fitting a seal to prevent dust getting in after fitting a canopy. Your help will be great.

Cheers.......

Reply By: Rojac - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:15

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:15
I bought a strip of rubber about 150mm or there abouts and the width of the ute, and cut to fit behind the tailgate braces and ends and fits under the ute mat. Tends to keep the majority of the cr#p out. its on a HJZ75.
AnswerID: 138089

Reply By: Utemad - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:25

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:25
We use this. It works okay.
AnswerID: 138094

Follow Up By: Rojac - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:32

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:32
The ad says it reduces, so how much junk gets in??
FollowupID: 391738

Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:45

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:45
We bought it through an F series importer in Qld. It seems to work okay. Although this is on an F250. I have never bothered to do anything about the tailgate on my Rodeo.
FollowupID: 391765

Follow Up By: jduckmanton - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 16:22

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 16:22
Hi Utemad, when you say "It works okay", are you satisfied with the result, and where in Melb. could I get some?

Regards, John
FollowupID: 391916

Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 16:37

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 16:37
We got it from Ford Qld F-Series

Not sure where you would get it in Melbourne. It seems popular in USA/Canada but I have never seen it anywhere in a shop other than above.

It does look like it works. It seals really well along the bottom of the tailgate. The sides have bigger gaps to begin with but it still seems to seal them fine. However as for how much less dust gets in with the seal in place I couldn't really answer you. I don't pay any attention to it plus the side sliding windows are often open (dogs). I just bought and fitted it because the boss wanted me too (work vehicle).
FollowupID: 391920

Follow Up By: jduckmanton - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 16:42

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 16:42
Thanks Utemad, will check and see if there are any similar products available in or around Melb.

Cheers, John
FollowupID: 391921

Reply By: pafc - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:40

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:40
Did you buy it in Aust. or did you get it off the net?
AnswerID: 138098

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:45

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:45
there are many previous posts on this subject by ute owners going spare about the dust problem with canopies. By all means go for the rubber seals and when you find the dust is still a problem do what I believe you should do first and install a vent in the top to provide positive air pressure. Sorted out my last vehicle a treat. It is much the same reason why people put their windows up and have fresh air coming inside aided by the fan. Hope this helps. Cheers
AnswerID: 138100

Follow Up By: jduckmanton - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 20:26

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 20:26
G'day Luxoluk, I too have just purchased a Rodeo Crewcab TD 4x4, have also had the bullbar & lights fitted by ARB, and on Tuesday I am having a Hard lid Tonneau cover fitted...is there anything available out there that will help me with the dust/tailgate problem?

Regards, John
FollowupID: 391744

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:02

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:02
Hi John. Not sure I can offer any suggestions on that set up. Sorry.
FollowupID: 391750

Follow Up By: gramps - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:10

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:10
Agree with Luxoluk. Fitted a vent to the roof of my canopy and get bugger all dust in it.
FollowupID: 391752

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:38

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:38
After I saw Luxoluk's in the 'gatta a couple of years ago I fitted a pop up roof vent and have never regretted it.

Go the roof vent. Got mine at my TJM dealer in Shep.

PS When's Luxoluk gonna become Trooparound, Tripatroopa or similar. Come on where's the rig pic??
FollowupID: 391763

Follow Up By: gramps - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:49

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:49
John,

you might be better off trying the tailgate seal via the link in Utemad's post above.
FollowupID: 391766

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 20:34

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 20:34
as above positive air pressure is the best way to keep the dust out. i use a scupper vent in the roof of my canopy without sealing the tailgate and it keeps the dust out.
when you buy your canopy they will have these or whirlibird vents as an option. opening a front window on the canopy a little also helps

regards peter
AnswerID: 138113

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:00

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:00
I don't reckon the whirlibird type vents will help, they will only suck more dust in.

Go for the vent flap which is raised, when open, toward the front of the vehicle. It works like a ram air. Just don't cruise too long behind another vehicle in the dust otherwise close it and open again when clean air is available. The canopy fitters should be able to fit one in a jiffy. Cheers
FollowupID: 391749

Reply By: Michael_FNQ - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:19

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:19
Just leak the front window of the canopy slightly open and this will keep out the dust.

You cannot seal the tailgate for dust - it is the vacuum caused by the shape of the vehicle as you drive that causes dust to enter the canopy - even the smallest hole in the rear will allow heaps of dust in unless you can pressurise the canopy.
AnswerID: 138127

Follow Up By: myfourby - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:20

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:20
Exactly right Micheal - I went through the whole trying to seal the tailgate - generally a waste of time.

Once you fix the canopy air-pressure problem - the dust simply doesn't want to try and get in!

- myfourby
FollowupID: 391818

Reply By: atoyot - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:44

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:44
I've seen the ute lids with scupper vents fitted; they just have to be up the back a bit to pick up a bit of airflow.

AnswerID: 138135

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 10:02

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 10:02
I have had reasonable success and now keep most of the dust out.

I keep the front window of the canopy slightly open (just an inch or so). Around the tail gate I have done the following:

Along the bottom I used some self adhesive foam about 25mm wide and 6 or 8mm thick. Stuck it to the edge of the tail gate and it now seals well against the body.

At the sides (where the biggest gap is), I used rubber sealing strips which I 'clipped' over the edge of the vehicle body where the tail gate closes against it. These are heavy duty with wire reinforcing in the edges where they clip over the body. I got the rubber (for free) from Carryboy when I got the canopy. They had some offcuts which were the right size. I suspect you could get it from most motor body trimmers.

It is worth the effort and has made a huge difference.
AnswerID: 138187