Magazines - Ad infinitum

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:58
ThreadID: 27880 Views:4878 Replies:15 FollowUps:23
Many of here have harped about magazines and whether or not to buy them and the number and profusion of advertising, well I have gathered some concrete data on which to base a sane discussion.

The Process.
I leafed thru the following cross section of magazines, which I happened to find around the house, ones which represent a wide variation.

4WD Monthly
Wheels
4X4 Australia
Country Craft
Bunnings catalog

I counted the pages in each magazine which contained articles and advertising, and summated them in a spreadsheet. I broke each magazine down into sections based on a percentage of the total number of pages, that being 0-28%, 29-50%, 51-69%, 70-85% and 86-100%., so for 4WD Monthly that meant the sections finished at pages 81, 146, 202, 247, and a whopping 296 pages. For each section I then calculated the percentage of advertising to content and then compared each magazine graphically.

The Analysis.
Let me say up front, the Bunnings catalog was totally dedicated to advertising, rating 100% advertising for each section. This is not stated anywhere in the publication and could easily catch unwary readers. In total 4WDM had 45% of its whopping 296 pages dedicated to advertising, this possibly reflects its No1 rating as the most popular magazine and its attractiveness to advertisers. 4X4 wasn’t far behind at 42% from 180 pages, Wheels at 35% (164 pages) and Country Craft at 34% (132 pages). As stated above Bunnings disgraceful display of 14 pages did not go unnoticed.

The Mags.
4WD Monthly
Although its got the most advertising it was also the largest mag providing many more pages of larrikin reviews and news with the odd smattering of tips tricks and custom trucks. Roachie was on the front cover of this mag not long ago and Pesty in it last month, so one cannot bag it relentlessly. It has both serious and not so serious XXXX driven articles that either tickle of fickle the readership. Has a definite bent towards Toyotas, but hey Roothy is responsible for almost all that. WAECO won the fridge test.

Interestingly their ads were generally on front and rear of the same page, meaning that if you were an advertising Nazi you could tear out many of the offending information givers without destructing any actual stories and lower the advertising content to 23%. This is known as the non-destructive ad content rating. An attractive proposition to say the least.

4X4 Australia
Michael Ellem left 4WDM a while back and has now transformed this mags photographic demographic. He has also lifted its commitment to offroad sport. This mag is generally quite serious, tongue is definitely not anywhere near the cheek except where Antman and that Furry thing are concerned, and his references to Hunjy’s (which is the colloquial term for a 100 series Tojo). This magazine has been known to say a good thing or two about Nissans and at one stage didn’t even know that a 3.0l engine had blown up. They also have a lot of ads about themselves. Not sure what to make of that.

Non-destructive ad content rating 40%.

Wheels
This mag is about cars, once in a while they mention SUV’s and someone on the editorial section has some movement in their erogenous zone and they talk at length about size. It’s the quintessential car magazine and Australia should be proud of it. They like Holdens, and seem amazed that the new XR6 Falcon is so good. They are adept at sneaking in an ad when you’re not watching, like in the “What’s New” section and can spot a Rex at 200 paces. Stay away if you see any of the movement mentioned above.

Non-destructive ad content rating 31%.

Country Craft
I really only slipped this in to win some brownie points when I was noticed leafing thru a craft book. The ads are nice and sweet, and there’s a lot of talk of fabric and thread, although if they saw an EO thread they may just do a collage or a quilt of it and David could auction it off or wrap it around his next offspring. I stuck this mag in to see if another specialist mag had any different ad regime, oh, and for the brownie points. And for those wondering….it dint make a difference gosh dang it!

Non-destructive ad content rating 32%.

Bunnings
This was a real surprise. As mentioned above the ad content was horrifically high, but oddly attractive, I think I need a Patio Heater like Robbo’s got. Beware the curse of the Were-Bunning as we’re all bunnies in the end.

Non-destructive ad content rating 100%.

So there you have it, its been a big day here at the College of Anything and Everything. Our work is done, I would like to thank my Mum, my Dad, my family and whim without which I would not have been able to complete this work.

QED

Reply By: gramps - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:03

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:03
You've got altogether too much spare time on your hands young fella! I think you're being very kind to 4wd monthly. I was only thinking about doing something similar last week but decided I'd rather continue with my life :))))))
AnswerID: 138156

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:22

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:22
You should see the graph, which now werks, unlike me...

!MPG:8!

Regards GWBonz

FollowupID: 391879

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 19:53

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 19:53
Bloody hell! Graphs too :) Bonz, Bonz, Bonz, what are we to do with you? I think a long trip in the bush is well and truly overdue.
FollowupID: 391941

Reply By: Trekkie - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:10

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:10
VERY Very very SAD
AnswerID: 138158

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:21

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:21
But informative hahahahaha

FollowupID: 391819

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:16

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:16
I got a mention, so it can't be ALL sad.......but mostly I agree!!! hehehe
FollowupID: 391875

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 00:33

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 00:33
what can i say, it was a great day out there, and you were counting magazine pages !!!!

Unless you have a busted leg or similar, in which case you are excused.
AnswerID: 138160

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:16

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:16
Been off work 6 weeks with a cut tendon in my hand Brad, does that excuse me?

FollowupID: 391815

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:32

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:32
ok, yes you are excused , bugger about the hand, hows it coming along ?? on the rehab / physio yet?
FollowupID: 391861

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:37

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:37
yep the rehabs worse than the injury, ts a slow thing, but its coming along ok

FollowupID: 391863

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 10:49

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 10:49
i've heard that regular applications of cold held in the hand can be a great help , something maybe the size of a can (or stubbie) :-))))))
FollowupID: 392023

Reply By: ev700 - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 01:02

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 01:02
As a reward for all of that work here is a good fourby mag to read free of charge (with full credit to those on this forum who kindly mentioned it recently):

www.4wheelingsa.org
AnswerID: 138161

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 06:26

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 06:26
How did you go with those other mags that are under the bed the ones you only buy for the articles.
The bunnings catalogue are you sure that's 100% LOL.
Did you read the actual articles to see how much advertisement in them. In all the 4wd trip reports they plug every thing that they have taken with them.

AnswerID: 138163

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:15

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:15
Eric, years ago I read one of those mags and I never saw one ad.

FollowupID: 391814

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:28

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:28
Eric, I did also read thru the articles, and it is fair to say that all the magazines, except the Bunnings catalogue with was suspiciously bereft of actual articles, promote products to some extent, like the AXT Turbo article in 4x4 or the Ironman one last month.

As such I considered this to be a constant and disregarded the actual article content for the purposes of the experiment.

FollowupID: 391828

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 07:12

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 07:12
Good work young fella. I am going to cancel my subscription to Bunnings Magazine straight away - it's outrageous.

Can you also do the same please for The Australian, The Age and The Herald-Sun on Saturdays so I know which one to buy.

AnswerID: 138166

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:22

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:22
Could you please refer this very sick individual to a good psychiatrist (actually anyone will do), or just have him committed for the 'duration' to ensure the continuing sanity of the this forum.
FollowupID: 391823

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:20

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:20
It's at times like this that I wish Bonz owned a Toyota, rather than a Nissan!!!!! It's a shame to admist that he is a colleague in vehicle ownership choice......boo-hoo; boo-hoo....:-((
FollowupID: 391878

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:35

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:35
I own a Corolla...does that count? In defence of my position, it was arduous and delicate and I coped admirably, such are the benefits of owning a Nissan.

FollowupID: 391883

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 07:16

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 07:16
WOW, what an informative and comprehensive study, I'm surprised about Bunnings, and slightly disturbed that country craft were mainly advertising threads and fabrics, it would have been interesting had you a copy of epicure or the like now that would have been a real cross section...all I can say is, keep up the good work, you've gone above and beyond the call of duty...

LGG
AnswerID: 138167

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:24

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:24
Your pair are just as mad as he is.
FollowupID: 391824

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:49

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:49
YOU have a pair? of Bonz's? I do declare!

FollowupID: 391867

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:02

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:02
I have a pair, but alas not a pair of Bonzs'
FollowupID: 391871

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 07:58

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 07:58
This is just soooo much in the vein of Mythbusters!

First, set up the control ( Bunnings).

Second, scout around all the cool second hand shops as Jamie & Adam do (Country Craft, Wheels...).

Thirdly, set up some scientific method of recording data (Spreadsheet).

So, is like the myth Busted, Confirmed, or Plausible?

You certainly are a funny bugger!!!!

Wolfie
AnswerID: 138171

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:19

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:19
Wolfie, I actually started out to also analyse which ads I would read and which were simply there taking up space, but thats too subjective and individual. I wish I could have got the spreadsheet to work in the post but alas I could not.

The final decision... MYTH BUSTED

FollowupID: 391816

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:23

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:23
All of us ,with even the slightest leaning towards being "green" (not with envy),will,no doubt,appreciate that,while we were out there,burning up the earths ever dwindling fossel fuel resources,you were slaving over a hot keyboard,making little,if any contribution to the green-house effect,which will,no doubt,eventually lead to the demise of the human race as we know it.No doubt,you have long ago,after doing your in depth research,incliuding a spread-sheet of the percieved benifits to man-kind,ditched your CRT screen and written your analysis of magazine content whilst viewing the unfolding revealations on a fossil fuel friendly LCD screen..Thanks to your dedication to the information cause,I can at last now understand why I am developing a severe case of R.S.I. from my habit of looking at,or reading these heavy-weight publications.Do not be suprised if you are contacted in the run up to Christmas,by those involved with the "New Year Honour List".. We can now,one would expect,see some news-a-torial articles creeping into Bunnings free contributions to the "information highway".Interesting information you have supplied,which will have little effect on the publishers,except that,they may take pity on me and print on much lighter rice paper,which,when the magazine is no longer required,can added to our next stew,if we can come up with a way to remove the inks...Have fun..RockyOne!MPG:6!
AnswerID: 138179

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:55

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:55
I bait with waited breath for such recognition., glad you liked it

FollowupID: 391870

Reply By: Member - Rick A (QLD) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:35

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:35
For those that like 4wd Monthly I have a stack of about 60 magazines to give away to anyone who wants them they range from issue 3 right through to current. I'm in Brisbane. Email me at rick"at"ama4wdclub.com if you are interested.

Rick.
AnswerID: 138185

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:45

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:45
Well! let me congratulate you on the fact that you have not wasted one iota of knowledge, research skill, bull s h i t and bluster that you acquired in that Honours Degree you obtained in Media research & Analysis at the Terang College of Anything & Everything.

READERS: I can only boast LAB(sohk's) after my name - that is Little Aussie Battler(School of Hard Knocks) however knowing the writer of this piece of diatribe - excellent diatribe I might add - I do believe I can shed some light on what really took place in the Western District last week to cause such a literary outpouring of 'inner soul' (i.e. screaming out for help).

The previous weekend BONZ witnessed the absolute beauty, power and necessity of ARB air lockers in action. It affected him, visably ( to rude to describe), verbally (again to rude to describe) and mentally.

Afterwards he just kept muttering 'B a s t a r d Troopy, I have got to get them '

Anyway I have no doubt now that he did get 'them' without SWMBO prior knowledge and approval.

Thats why he is not sleeping in the 'big bed' and has been relegated/confined to the downstairs room (with the computers) till he redeems himself.

Yep! no doubt about. Naughty boy locked in the computer room with ALL 'those' magazines for company.

Oh! BONZ you have excelled yourself this time. ROFLMAO
AnswerID: 138186

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:45

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:45
hahahahah and you reckon I waffle hahahahaha

I live to excel

FollowupID: 391885

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 10:07

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 10:07
I'm just surprised that 4wdM has fewer ads than a Bunnings catalogue :-)
AnswerID: 138189

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:48

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:48
Yes me too, and their content is so enticing, they have a habit of placing prices against almost every item, intriguing

FollowupID: 391866

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:25

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:25
You were really bored werent u...
AnswerID: 138233

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 13:00

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 13:00
Actually mate I was fired with enthusiasm, the mind plays trix with you at times

FollowupID: 391887

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 13:02

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 13:02
wish I ahd that enthusiasm
FollowupID: 391888

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 14:05

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 14:05
Its a gift

FollowupID: 391907

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 18:46

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 18:46
goodday bonz
i gave away reading the mags becuase of all that advertising bs but i do still read bunnings as there may still be room in the garage or shed to fit something (what you ask i dont know another grinder or something ) any to the point i believe that after all that hard work you need a nice holiday

you watch some bugger spoil this now and suggest a nice rubbery room or somewhere

rotflmao lolololol
AnswerID: 138289

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 23:59

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 23:59
Bonz, I think you should give us a cost vs. % advertising content so that we can make a truly informed decision ;-)

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 138370