VKS 737

Submitted: Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 18:27
ThreadID: 27906 Views:4444 Replies:12 FollowUps:14
Received a letter from VKS 737 today with my membership details.
I have installed the HF radio in the Troopie, aerial mounted on the rear wheel carrier, so that I am legal to go interstate. The main unit is mounted on the cargo barrier out of harms way and the remote head sits nicely on the transmission tunnel.

In the past I have not been a big fan of the radios but after the Canning this year, where a customer had one, I could see first hand how useful they can be.
I will still take the Sat phone on all the trips but will use the HF for not only weather and track reports, but to keep in touch with other travellers.

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 18:38

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 18:38
I will be joining you soon Wayne, Just awaiting for my new NGT.

AnswerID: 138285

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:01

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:01
John (Vic),

In spite of the the thread being deleted, I got the message by email. The references to my wife are deeply offensive.

I'm surprised you're not banned.

Bilbo

Message from John (Vic) read - Quote:

"I think you missed the point of Mike's post.
I don't think anybody is disputing the punishment, Only the behavior of the Australian Press in the two cases.

Oh and the best Missus??? is the one I had last week?? or was it the one the week before. Can yours cook?
(Now I'm gunna get kicked)"
FollowupID: 391942

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:18

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:18
Bilbo I apologise if my comments have caused offensive.

It was not directed at your partner or yourself, just a comment regarding the cooking ability of others I know.

Re reading the post I can see that you may misconstrue the comment and again I can only apologise.

FollowupID: 391951

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:37

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:37
John,

Apology accepted. Thanks.

And yes, my wife is a brilliant cook.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 391952

Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 18:53

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 18:53
Welcome aboard Wayne - I'm a volunteer base operator, but that aside, I wouldn't be without my HF - I could easily have a Satphone, but the HF would still be there too - the big advantage for me is "tapping into the network / community". If you get into strife at any stage, its easy to get a base station up on air - and then members on the side will usually chime in with offers of assistance if nearby. Works for me as communications tool and a potential lifeline ! ........and, by the way, we VKS737 staff don't bag Satphones ..... its the travellers choice, and rightly so.
AnswerID: 138292

Follow Up By: Tony J - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 19:11

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 19:11
Hi Banjo,

As you're a base operator, you may be able to help me. My HF (Barrett 950 / 910) is picking up interference from my Trailblaza fridge when the compressor runs - makes it impossible to use. Iv'e tried an earth lead from the fridge casing to no avail. Any clues?

Tony
(Romeo 6423)
FollowupID: 391937

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 21:22

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 21:22
Hello Banjo,
For me, I've always heard the VKS 737 network volunteers singing the praises of both HF and Sat Phones. The article on vks737.net is very well balanced on the subject of HF v's Sat.
Please don't apologise for contributing to travellers all over this country. Your network and its volunteers are appreciated by all.

Geoff.

FollowupID: 391959

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 22:35

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 22:35
Tony.

This has been discussed a long time ago here. You may find an answer in the archives with a search.
FollowupID: 391976

Follow Up By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:19

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:19
Tony - re interference on the HF (I have the same rig) - its a perennial burden to HF users - I'm no technician - you might get better advice elsewhere, but the facts far as I know them are:
1. The 950 is very sensitive and will pick up all sorts of local noise. This noise is often stronger than any incoming signals that you want to work with. With variable HF conditions though, in similar circumstances and locations at other times, the HF signal might come in quite strong and you won't have any problems conversing.
2. Local noise now often includes engine circuits (chronic on some cars).
3. Little effective work rounds can be done it seems.
4. Many owners have given up on remedies - they turn the fridge off - even stop the car, when they need to converse.
5. The above issues can also play havoc with car radios, HF-CB etc in remote areas.
In my case, I just "wear it" as part of the game, although, at times I can use the HF happily while mobile, with all appliances on - depends a lot prevailing HF conditions - I recently commed with Perth base from the Finke Gorge, while restling with the wheel over those rocks and sand - bit of a lottery. Most members do their comms with bases, when camped in the AM or PM (with a coldie in hand :-).
FollowupID: 392017

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 14:02

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 14:02
Tony,

We also have the Barrett 950 which is a great unit. Unfortunately as Banjo has said it, many users (including us) find it almost impossible to get a good signal with the engine on although ABC radio and some other channels can be ok. When transmitting we have the car turned off and check the evening skeds - with coldie in hand!

:o) Melissa
FollowupID: 392048

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 02:55

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 02:55
Tony j that is normal personally I rarely used the HF while driving and would turn the fridge off when schedding
FollowupID: 392267

Reply By: hoyks - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 19:45

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 19:45
I have played with them before when I played soldiers, but I was impressed when we went out west to meet up with some guys, around the same time as the Explore mob were heading for Birdsville.
Anyway, we got caught in rain and no one was going anywhere. One of the guys that we got stuck with had a HF set, so he got on the radio and through the base station, found out that guys in out group were all over central Aus, all going about as far as we wern't.
Sat phones are great provided you know who you are calling, HF you can potentially reach 100's of listeners at one time which can be a huge saving on phone bills.
AnswerID: 138299

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:27

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:27
Wayne,

I'd feel a bit naked without the HF. As well as VKS, its nice to occasionally tune into ABC news/weather or listen to the football. I also subscribe to a radio telephone network, negating the need for a satphone. For me, its the best of both worlds.

I also have a SuperRod antenna, (9 metre extendable pole) which pretty much allows me an excellent transmission no matter what the conditions. It also doubles as an emergency antenna, should I wipe out the autotune in a rollover or whatever.

AnswerID: 138313

Reply By: Member- Rox (WA) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 21:09

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 21:09
I have just spent 12 months going round OZ, got a HF + vks for the trip, called in every day + the Kids beat me to it most times. A big benefit was to here of great spots somewhere else then tryed to locate them on the map & go there my self. I was planninfg to sell mine when I got home but not now, even thinking of being a VKS base station Operator.
AnswerID: 138326

Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 22:45

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 22:45
Probably the best move one could make is to join VKS737 whilst travelling our great country,and converse with fellow travellers,so good luck with it Wayne, hope to talk to you one day.
AnswerID: 138349

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 23:30

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 23:30
Good on you Wayne. We've got both a HF and satphone and love the flexibility that both systems give us. Our 8 week trip up north year was the first test for both systems for us and both worked well.. We particularly liked tuning into the VKS737 skeds and catching up on ABC news, weather etc. Very handy.

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 138361

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 23:59

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 23:59
Hi Wayne,

I carry both.

I've had a HF for a couple of years - I've had a few actually. I was a comms tech in a former life and I've played and horse traded a bit over the past few years. I've just upgraded to an NGT from a 9323 and wouldn't be without the HF.

I also have a Satphone but it rarely comes out - it got a bit of use on the Canning Trip for general phone calls to keep in touch with families back home (7 guys who all left their families at home for a month) and I did use it on my trip last month but not much. I use VKS737 regularly - daily - when on trips and use Radtel for phone calls rather than the satphone if the call's going to be longer as it's half the price.

Toward the end of the trip on the homeward leg last week, I was coming through Beverford near Swan Hill on Monday. I could hear a coversation - the Newcastle base half anyway - and it was clear a member was in the High Country in Vic with a 14 year old girl with a broken leg after a motorcycle accident.

A few bases had been tried on Ch. 2 as it turns out but the member wasn't having much luck.

I popped up on air, explained to Newcastle & Alice Springs (who were mid sched) that I was an Ambo, knew the area where the caller was and got them to get him to drop down to Ch. 1.

Once down on Ch. 1 I had a clear copy. Got some details re: injuries, speed of accident, conscious state etc. Made sure appropriate first aid had been given then rang our Morwell comms centre and while on the phone to them and on the radio to the member I coordinated a rendezvous with a road ambulance out of Bairnsdale at Dargo.

It was all over in a matter of a few or ten minutes.

It turns out the member was in at Talbotville on a 4wd club trip (twas cup weekend so it would have been a bit busy in there) & when the girl came off the bike and broke her leg someone came to the club group hoping someone in the club had a satphone or HF.

I stayed in regular communication over the next few hours with our Operations Centre and then left a message on the message system via Newcastle base for the member to let him know his patient had successfully rendezvoused with the ambulance and had been conveyed to hospital.

I've talked to him on the phone since we both got home and made acquaintences which was really good.

The good thing about the HF is you never know who's out there to help, but someone usually is - be it a base operator or a fellow member or six.

And then you can also use it to listen to the cricket or the footy or just for a bit of company when you need it for that too. A satphone won't do that.

Can't be beat in my book. I'll also carry the satphone but I won' t be without the HF or VKS737.

Dave (Victor 632)

AnswerID: 138371

Follow Up By: Member- Rox (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 01:07

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 01:07
Dave (Victor 632), you should put that story in the next news VKS news letter. Kevin, Wiskey 4279
FollowupID: 391998

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 07:38

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 07:38
Geez Dave...an NGT!! I'm afraid I'll have to throw my hand in mate with the 9323. Luck boy with an understanding partner or what?? Catch you soon buddy.

Leigh
FollowupID: 392005

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 08:51

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 08:51
Hi Rox,

Don't hold the press - it's already in.

Also highlights the need to know a little about frequencies, time of day and distance.

The member had tried selcalling his closer bases but only on Ch.2. If you find yourself in that situation and you are trying to selcal a base and you fail on Ch. 2 try either Ch. 1 or Ch. 3 before you move on to the next base.

Rules of thumb
1. The higher the sun the higher the frequency (ie. middle of the day requires higher frequencies to cover the same distance than the middle of the night.)
2. The farther the distance the higher the frequency.
The Ch. 2 frequency is a good all round medium to long distance channel, being around 8 MHz. For contacting a closer base late in the afternoon the 5MHz frequency might have been a better bet, it certainly got into Swan Hill to me quite well. Yet selcalling the Swan Hill base on the 8 Meg frequency had been unsuccessful.

FollowupID: 392011

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 08:53

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 08:53
As for you Mr. Luxoluk,

I'll see your new (ish) 9323 and raise you a used NGT!

Looks like I might have a buyer already for the 9323 too if I play my cards right.

I'll be in on the weekend now too. I've told work I won't be playing.

FollowupID: 392012

Reply By: Member - Landie - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:04

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:04
Hi Wayne

We'll be listening out for you......

Also, I'm confident that providing your antenna is mounted correctly (VEB Nbr 5)and your vehicle is registered in NSW you would not have any problem interstate.

You only need to meet the registration requirements for the State in which it is registered.

B,J,&T
AnswerID: 138404

Reply By: VK3CAT - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:23

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:23
Hi Wayne. In another reply, Phil mentioned a 9 metre super rod antenna as a back up. With any of the "short" mobile antennas, radiation efficiency is quite poor, thus the longer the better. I have found with both amateur & VKS operations that extending the antenna length with a length of copper wire makes a huge improvement on both transmitting & receiving. My setup uses a Codan 8528 and a 9350 auto tune antenna. As long as the length of wire is less than a quarter wave length long, then the 9350 will tune it. To hold the extra wire up, I use a Giant Squid Pole (fiberglass light weight telescopic rod - available in sizes 6 - 9 metres). The wire can just clip onto the wire whip or be held by the antenna spring. The wire does not have to be straight, or vertical. There will be a slight directionality in the direction of the end of the wire. Further improvement may be achieved with a quarter wave ground radial or counterpoise - simply lying on the ground.
Care should always be taken with persons around the antenna whilst transmitting due to electromagnetic radiation (EMR). To comply with ACMA regulations, any "additional" antenna should be completely portable.

Channel 1 - 5455KHz, 56 metre band, 1/4 wave = 14 metres
Channel 2 - 8022KHz, 37 metre band, 1/4 wave = 9.4 metres
Channel 3 - 11612KHz, 25 metre band, 1/4 wave = 6.45 metres
Channel 4 - 14977KHz, 20 meter band, 1/4 wave = 5 metres
Channel 5 - 3995KHz, 75 metre band, 1/4 wave = 18.7 metres
These calculations can be made by dividing 300 by the frequency in MHz - 3995KHz = 3.995MHz. These are free space measurements, for our purposes, easier tuning will be obtained by shortenning them by about 5%. The height of the end of the wire above the ground will also effect tuning - can make things harder if you are trying to make a resonnant antenna system rather than using a tuner.

On the question of Tony's fridge. If it is causing wide band interference, then is some part of the fridge is generating the interference and then it is possibly being radiated by external sources acting as an antenna. Try earthing the fridge & decoupling the power cable using a ferrite rod. Also make sure that the radio is well earthed & try further decoupling of the radio power, antenna (control & coax cables), speaker & microphone cables. It is possible that the interference is being picked up directy by the radio & not comming in from the antenna! Other things to try is to power the fridge by a completely independant power source.

Hope that this information is of some help. I have found that doing a beacon selcal is handy to judge the best channel of operation at a particular time / place etc.
Cheers, Tony, VKS737 Victor 5715, VZU494
AnswerID: 138473

Reply By: Bev - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 16:41

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 16:41
Phil Where did you get the superrod antenna We have had so much trouble with our autotune (nonTune) that a spare would be handy Ours doesn,t tune on any vks freq now and been repaired twice in 5years

bev
AnswerID: 138482

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 17:55

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 17:55
Hi Bev,

Electric Bug in Adelaide sell them. Give them a phone call.

FollowupID: 392115

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 17:38

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 17:38
Hopefully i will have mine (Barrett 250) by next break - What sort of vehicle do you have? As I amlloking for places to put stuff. I drove a 100 with the box under the passeger sear but i am unsureif there is room in my 80
AnswerID: 138494