Patrol smoking in the morning
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 04:14
Jambobwana
I posted a week or so ago about how my 2.8 creates a blue/white smoke screen every morning when I start it up.
The replies pointed to several possible causes:
Worn valve seals - the vehicle has only done 90,000 Kms so I don't think this is it
Air filter - Just changed today so will see if any difference tomorrow
Fuel Filter - Due to change this weekend
Oil level - was up to the high limit so removed a bit - still have problem
Glow Plugs - One tested as a dud and I will change this weekend
Might a dud glow plug on cylinder 5 cause this problem on its own? It looks like I am spending money and getting nowhere at the moment...
Thanks, Jim
Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 07:46
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 07:46
Check out this post, 27848, not sure if it's relevent to you!
Reply By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 08:05
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 08:05
A dead glowplug certainly will as that cylinder will be cold and the fuel will not ignite/burn until it warms up.
Try starting the engine without any glowplugs! heaps of smoke/unburnt fuel when and if it does start.
Some engines will quite happily start without glowing others need it/then as soon as the engine cools below operating temps or low ambient temps.
If you can get really warm/hot air into the engine if glowplugs are kaput they will usually start.
I've been away on weekend trips with others whose vehicle is usually garaged, starts fine at home with a couple of dead plugs, a cold winters morning after spending the night outside in the bush is another matter altogether.
Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 11:43
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 11:43
G'Day Jim,
Have you tried waiting for 5 seconds AFTER the glow plug light has gone out to see if it makes a difference, (fuel pressure)?
I have just spent $$$$$ on
mine and it still blows a puff of smoke at first start up, but it goes away after this.
Do you have the fix for the fuel pump installed??
Rolande
Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 12:11
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 12:11
White-ish smoke is often unburnt diesel. See what happens when you fix the dud glowplug. If the smoking persists, I'd suggest getting the injection pump timing checked and, if necessary, reset to factory specs. Retarded timing can cause white-ish smoke - worse when the engine is cold.
Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 12:12
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 12:12
My 98 2.8tdi gu does the same - I've learned to ignore it, much cheaper than chasing shadows.
Mine has done this since new and it hasn't gotten any worse over time. Have a mate who has a 99 2.8tdi gu and the same thing happen. Once you have excluded anything serious - learn to love it or ignore it.
Pete
Follow Up By: Jambobwana - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 19:57
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 19:57
Pete this might be the best advice of all. I have had the vehicle for 2 weeks and bought it from the origional owner. The clock says 100,000Kms and my fear has been that the truck is clocked. If you have had a puff of smoke from new then my fears about the high milegae may be wrong.
I started it this morning with the new air filter and still there is a puff of smoke. ....
Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 20:09
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 20:09
Jambobwana
I should have mentioned that
mine now has almost 180,000 kms on the clock and "touch wood" I haven't had to spend a cent on mechanical repairs. I have religiously had it serviced at 10,000kms intervals, not at a Nissan dealer but rather at our local 4x4 centre (Monaro Off Road) and I have change the oil and filter at the intervening 5K intervals myself. I do have a vibration at about 1400 rpm which I suspect is related to the dual mass flywheel but I do not intend changing this unless I have to. Just did another long distance trip to the Flinders, Big and Little Deserts and the GOR without incidence.
I am, however, thinking about buy a new vehicle in the next 6-12 months, possibly one of the new Navaras with the 2.5td engine.
Pete
Follow Up By: JustyWhyalla - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 23:57
Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 23:57
Considering taking the family in our Disco Tdi over the SA/VIC border and cutting through the
Big Desert on our way. Have seen two articles on this track. One says use extreme caution, soft sand and washaways the other says soft sand not recommended for 2 wheel drives.
Have experience in soft sand so not concerned if that is all. I'd apreciate your input as to how you found it. My only hesitation is we are looking at doing the trip in mid January so if very soft sand and hot weather might be better to take it on another trip. Any other trip suggestions would be appreciated.
Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 08:15
Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 08:15
Hi Justy
Unfortunately we didn't get to do the
Border Track due to the fact that I injured my back and the possibility of having to effect some difficult recovery work just didn't make this part of the trip viable. We did however do the
Murrayville Track (between Murraville and Nhill) and a number of other tracks in both Big and Little Deserts (
Milmed Rock Track, Hermoines Garden etc). These tracks are relatively easy with some spots with deep sand, but I had no difficulty and was towing my KangaCamper (1000kg approx). We were there in early Oct and it was still quite cool, especially at night. There were lots of
wildflowers and some (but not a lot) of wildlife. Can thoroughly recommend the trip - just don't know about in mid-summer though. Some great campsites eg Big Billy
Bore and Broken Bucket in the
Big Desert and
Horseshoe Bend at
the entrance to Little Desert about 7km out of Dimboola. Lots of bush sites you will come upon once you get off the beaten track. Take plenty of
water and there is not a lot available in the parks.
Pete
Reply By: Wombat - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 14:11
Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 14:11
I've just tried to cut back. You know what I mean - one less Patrol each morning and before you know it you're waking up refreshed and you don't have that feeling of needing to light up. Maybe you try to use some of those new fan-dangled Patrol patches, as
well. Of course if I go out to the pub and have an ale or two I still have the odd one but when I wake up next morning I no longer have that desire to smoke a Patrol. GOOD LUCK JIM. . . and remember "It's life, but not as we know it!"