V6 into a Rodeo 2x2
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 22:10
mowing
Hello All, This is not a 4x4 question but with the wealth of experience on the site I am sure someone will know the answer. Is it possible to to transplant a V6 (either 3.2 or 3.8 into a 2x2 Rodeo '91. It is a good ute with the body being in great condition but with the 2.6 pulling a heavy trailer, it is sucking the juice like there is no tommorrow. Plus the fact that the 2.6 has done 205K.
Thanks in advance.
Reply By: arthurking83 - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 00:09
Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 00:09
I can almost guarrantee that a 3.2 will cost you more money than a half reasonable V6 2wd ute will!
I don't reckon you will see any improvement in fuel consumption, towing a heavy trailer, because the V6 is very 'revvy' you don't get much torque down low!
Great motor, will last forever, great power, etc....but is it worth it?
Don't think it will be!
3.8V6!.........now you're talking!!
I reckon you couldn't go wrong with this as a tow vehicle!
But you will need to change the gearing(higher ratios/lower engine revs) to get any advantage.......but it will pull like a V8. Probably cost a similar amount to a 3.2, cosidering the conversion gear needed, etc.......
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 00:18
Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 00:18
It could be done, ANYTHING can be done if you have enough $ to waste. Most engine conversion done by shops on most cars are round $7k-9k inc engineers.
my 1990 Rodeo 2wd had over 300k klms on it when sold, was still running strong. its owned by a bacon from cronulla now.. Them klms were done towing race bikes on the tray and in a trailer. Never had an issue, but if your doing the Jims mowing gig, then
yea ex neighbour does it in a VN commodore, and is also lookin at the dual cab ute.
I agree with the other comment, would be better off going with a later model with low klms
Reply By: vitara - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 11:29
Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 11:29
My mate here at work has the old 2.6 dual cab even in auto has got 417,00 klms and still going has had the head done about 2 years ago.Wont get rid of it his wife wants a new one but said will keep driving it till it shi@s its self then will get another one in V6. It not worth anything any way with the klms on it any way.As said do your self a favour and either keep it or sell and get the model you want with the V6 save a lot of head aches. Regards Vitara
Reply By: Member - Marquis - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 12:30
Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 12:30
2x2
2 wheel rodeo... I would like to see a photo of that! ;)
Follow Up By: keny - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 13:55
Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 13:55
I have a 88 navara fitted with v6 ecotec and auto no need for gearing changes as its only 500rpms down on the commodore in fourth with convertor lockup its still 4x4 does 13kls to litre on e10 and the anwer to performance is acceleration is better than my sons 5litre i did the installation myself it fixed every thing i didnt like about this truck including lack of power steer hope this helps
Follow Up By: keny - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 13:58
Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 13:58
forgot to mention never fails to start done 50,000kls