Legal Loads for larger 4WDs

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 12:02
ThreadID: 27978 Views:4427 Replies:15 FollowUps:17
Just doing some research on a new vehicle to tow a CT around the big block and came across these figures for legal load carrying capacity. I have restricted the list to the large semi lux 4WDs around $60k

Toyota LC100 GXL 4.2TD auto - 645kg
Toyota Prado GXL 3.0TD auto - 647kg
Nissan Patrol ST-L 3.0TD auto - 570kg
Nissan Pathfinder ST-L 3.0TD auto - 670kg
Land Rover Discovery3 S 2.7TD auto - 812kg

I have chosen these auto TD models as they are all at roughly similar price levels and should tow a 1.6t fully loaded CT

There is no doubt about which is the load king in that lot.

By the time you add to these the following items (my weights for these are estimates and you might like to give me more accurate figures if you can).

Bullbar and driving lights - 60kg
Alloy roof rack - 50kg
2nd battery - 30kg
In some cases moving the underslung spare up to a swing away Kaymar style bracket - 50kg - although you could carry it on the roofrack
Fridge full of food/drink - 60kg
2 adults and 1 adult size child - 240kg (variations here)
Winch - 60kg

Now by my estimates, that lot adds up to 550kg for the vehicles with underslung spares. That does not include a 2nd spare either, which I would take on the roofrack - about 35kg.

If you are towing a camper trailer, add a realistic figure for a loaded CT of 160kg tow ball weight.

Now, can you load all your trip and camping equipment into it and keep it legal?

Obviously vehicles like the Troopcarrier 5 seater RV with about 988kg and some of the h/d 4WD utes could do it, but I really don't want to purchase one of these and have to sell it at the end of the trip.

Why don't manufacutures put a bit more GVM into their large 4WD wagons. I would think that every one of them travelling the outback is illegal as it is over the GVM.

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 12:49

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 12:49
Well Sky Pilot I guess I for most it would be illegal to be carrying the loads they carry. But what is the solution and I guess that most either don't know or have decided to run the gauntlet - should they have a prang will the insurance company blame them/wipe their cover etc.

I feel the same way about the manufacturers not being in touch with what the aussy 4wd traveller gets up too. And wiping their warranty when they make vehicle alterations to make their vehicle more capable. Most would accomodate the extra weight with stronger springs and air bags. Does this change their legal status (no way) and does this make the whole proposition safer (most likely).

One can always make sure to stay legal and make do on their hols - doesn't sound like the people I know.

AnswerID: 138789

Reply By: flappa - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 12:56

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 12:56
Mines legal , just. (GU Patrol Ti)

But , I dont have a winch, Steel BB , Dual Batteries , or a 2nd Spare wheel.

I do however have a roof rack , and often carry 2 Adults and 4 teenage kids.

My CT is on the lighter side , and I take great care in trying to keep the Tow ball weight as light as possible (within reason).

Mine would be borderline , I know plenty that wouldn't be though , but, yes, generally is a ridiculious situation.
AnswerID: 138790

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 12:57

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 12:57
> Why don't manufacutures put a bit more GVM into their large 4WD wagons.

It seems to me they are all pursuing the idea of making the vehicles more carlike to drive ... at the expense of their original design intention.
Especially here in Oz where ppls, or at least some, intend using them for their original design purpose.

AnswerID: 138791

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 13:06

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 13:06
Now the manufacturers have all established SUVs as a new class of vehicles for wannabe 4WDers, they should concentrate on making them as car like as they like.

You have got to have some real 4WDs that can actually carry big loads and do the things as you say were in their original design brief. I wonder what parts of the structure of say a LC-100 or GU patrol stop it having a higher GVM - say 900kg? If it was only the tyres, springs and shockies, I'm sure we could all get engineering certificates. It must relate to the design of the suspension and brakes and maybe strength of diffs, etc. Even crash testing which might need to be done at the higer loads. Does anyone know what it takes to get a vehicle re-rated for GVM?
FollowupID: 392557

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 13:07

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 13:07
I could be wrong but I thought the design rules place a maximum axle load restriction on vehicles. This being the case, there is little a manufacturer could do to increase the load capacity as there is a legal limit to what each axle set can carry.
AnswerID: 138793

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 13:16

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 13:16
That being so, how do the light trucks carry 4.5 tonnes, etc? It may have to do with the maximum load on the axles of a particular class of vehicle?
FollowupID: 392559

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 20:14

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 20:14
I do believe it comes down to the class of vehicle... Look under a Isuzu 2.5t truck and you'll see that the chassis, springs, diff housing are substantially beefier than leaf sprung cruiser/patrol vehicles. That's just my take on it and I'd be more than happy to stand corrected if I'm wrong.
FollowupID: 392620

Reply By: Browser - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 13:42

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 13:42
Hi Sky Pilot,

AnswerID: 138799

Follow Up By: Browser - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 13:46

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 13:46
Hi Sky Pilot,

First time user so you will have to excuse me!!!!

Sorry for being ignorant, but how did you arrive at the legal towing weights for each of the vehicles? My understanding was that as long as the tow weight did not exceed the tow vehicle manufacturers recommended maximums than it was legal??

Many of the manufacturers publish towing capacity of 750kgs without brakes and anywhere up to 3,000kgs with brakes fitted??
FollowupID: 392561

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 14:01

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 14:01
Hi Browser - welcome.

They were not tow weights, but load limits on how much extra weight can be carried by each 4WD. They come out of the 4X4 Buyers Guide in the back of 4X4 Australia. This load must also include the tow ball weight exerted down on the towbar by any towed trailer or caravan.
FollowupID: 392563

Reply By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 14:16

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 14:16
Whatever it takes to upgrade the GVM, Land Rover have sure discovered (no pun intended) it. The previous Discovery had a GVM of 2750kg. The new Disco 3 has a GVM of 3230kg - a massive 480kg increase in GVM. Of course a lot of that was probably used up by the extra weight of the vehicle.
AnswerID: 138802

Reply By: Blinky - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 14:43

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 14:43
the rules state
4WDs and light commercials should not exceed the Gross Combined Mass of the vehicle when towing. The GCM is the vehicles weight plus its load, including a trailer. If you have your 4wd loaded up with 2 adults & 4 kids plus luggage and camping gear you can reduced the trailer load to keep everything legal & under the GCM.
The most you can tow is the amount specified by the vehicle manufacturer or the capacity of the towbar, which ever is least.

AnswerID: 138812

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 15:01

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 15:01
Yes, this is a real problem. People talk about fitting large tyres putting insurance at risk. Carrying illegal loads may have the same effect.
This is one of the reasons I got a Hilux dual cab. Carrying capacity is 915KG and between modifications, load and tow ball weight, I get to within 50KG of that with just two adults! We carry a fair bit of stuff, but not more than most people I suspect.

I'd be surprised if there are many vehicles out there (other than utes) which are towing and on a trip for more than a week that are not overloaded. Most drivers are just not aware of it.
AnswerID: 138813

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 15:05

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 15:05
You also need to add the weight of fuel and oils. Rather than guestimate, its more accurate to take it to a weighbridge, but I know your point. Thats one reason why I own a 79series with a 1250kg payload, and its possible to do an upgrade that adds 400kg to that.
AnswerID: 138815

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 15:42

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 15:42
you sure they have a genuine 1250kg payload phil? Just this morning I took a 79 ute to the tip. There was little rubish mostly bulky garden stuff and waste oil say 100kg max. The vehicle is pretty standart with just a steel bullbar scrub bars and sidesteps and with me in it it weighed over 2600 which without the rubish that would give it a payload of 700kg. A previos job had the gvm uprade on the suspenson and brakes but even then we could not fill up the front tank as it put the front axle weight above allowable limits
FollowupID: 392573

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 15:58

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 15:58
Davoe,

The payload figure is never "genuine", but you can use it to compare one vehicle with another. Its always a surprise when you weigh it.

Toyotas figures for HZJ79R are GVM of 3200, kerb weight 2030.
For the HDJ79R, its 3300 GVM and 2027 Kerb Weight.

Any resemblance to real life would be purely coincidental :-) because you need to add lots of stuff like fuel, oils, driver, air in the tyres etc etc

Mine was 2800 on a weighbridge with me, fulltanks, all its extras and half my camping gear in the back, so it was about what I'd expect. But at least I know I could add another 500kg and still be under GVM.

FollowupID: 392582

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 21:17

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 21:17
2800 sounds pretty light with your set up it is actually less than my 80. The kerb weight quoted I suspect would be for the basic cab chasis without tray or air con as the aircon is an option and the trays are aftermarket
FollowupID: 392634

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 21:45

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 21:45
The 79series are a bit lighter than the 75's were presumably the coil front end is a bit lighter than leaf. Yeah, kerb weight is minus everything.

I've baulked at putting on heavy stuff that I don't need - so no winch, scrub bars etc and the stuff I've added has been mostly aluminium or plastic.
FollowupID: 392640

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 08:25

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 08:25
When I was jumping through hoops to lease a commercial vehicle as a private car, I debated the "dry weight" v "kerb weight" with Mitsubishi... Mitsu claimed(in writing to the lease company) the kerb weight to be the vehicle weight including any and all accesories fitted prior to taking delivery plus any non-consumable fluids(engine/gearbox oils, etc). It did not include the driver or fuel, these were deemed to be load... they provided a weigh bridge cert to the lease company after the bar, canopy, rear bar, aircon etc had been fitted. this was to establish an accurate "kerb weight"
FollowupID: 392729

Reply By: traveller2 - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 15:18

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 15:18
A lot of people have been saying the same thing for a few years now, most wagon style 4wd's travelling outback would be illegal when the family and all the gear is added. The limiting factor in upgrading GVM is the actual axle weight capacities as stated by the manufacturer. As long as the tyres and suspension are upgraded to carry the additional weight you can get the vehicle re engineered to the total of the two axles, just that then the insurance companies don't want to know you because you now have a modified vehicle!
As a few vehicles are now experiencing increased drive train failures I'd say the workable limit has been already reached.
To further complicate the whole situation ask your vehicles manufacturer what the "cross country" or "off road' towing capacity is, you'll get the big backstep etc etc. Most of the big wagons would only be rated to tow around 750kgs off road and then only for a relatively short duty cycle.
AnswerID: 138818

Reply By: cabbageoz - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 16:48

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 16:48
With all this talk about GVM's & GCM's one other thing that you will need to factor
into this lot is the fact that all of the motoring associations have a limit of two tonnes
on recovery. Although they mostly have 8 or 9 tonne tilt trays if you are over 2 T
it becomes very expensive.
120 Klms east of Broken Hill into town = $975.00
If you have a C/T or Van it costs more to tow that as well.NRMA 15Klm's =$37.50 for the van.
Ring your mob and ask them about it and see what they say about it.
Cabbage
AnswerID: 138832

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 17:16

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 17:16
Sky Polit,

How many 2wd vehicles have you seen that are overloaded.
I would rather drive a 4wd that needs to go to weight watchers than drive or stop a 2wd when it is loaded up for it's one and only trip for the year.

AnswerID: 138836

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 17:29

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 17:29
Good point Wayne. I doubt they even change their tyre pressures before they go on road with the kids, pooches and kitchen sink.
FollowupID: 392593

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 17:31

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 17:31
The list of things I know are "illegal" on my GU is quite extensive:
It weighs over 3000kg sitting in the driveway before i load it up
I have removed both anti-sway bars
I have removed the interior mirror
I have a rear view camera that is on all the time whilst I'm driving
The screen for camera sits in full view (where the old mirror used to be)
My back number plate is usually obscured by the tow bar & Treg coupling
My Lightforce 240s protrude beyond the front of the bullbar
The sunraysia wheels have an extra 20mm off-set over standard
I have raised it 4" above standard
I have very loud air horns (illegal in some states), but I can isolate them
I have a bank of gauges on top of the dash board (could be said to impede vision)
I have 240 volts wired through the chassis rails (could be in breach of some code)
I reckon my tyre size is okay; only gone up one size

If I'm gunna go down....it may as well be for heaps of reasons......hehehehe

AnswerID: 138841

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 17:39

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 17:39
Just need the fluffy dice and you'll be complete :-)))
FollowupID: 392594

Follow Up By: Boo - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 20:13

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 20:13
Evening Roachie,
A bit off topic here, but you mentioned that your rim offset is 20mm over standard. I bought a new set of Sunraiser rims with a new set of BFG's about 7 months ago and have receintly been told when I had some work done at a reputable 4x4 centre that the rims were the wrong offset. Mine are 15"x 8" rims. Question is... exactly how do you measure the offset and what sort of effect does it have, also from what I have measured it has a wheel width about 50mm wider than the camper now, will this make much difference when traveling through sand etc.

Any advice greatly appreciated as I intend to take it back to the tyre supplier and confront them about putting the correct rims on it if its likely to make much difference since it was their error in the first place.

Thanks,Boo.
FollowupID: 392619

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:31

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:31
G'day Boo,
The offset is measured by placing a straight edge across the rim....like a 15" long steel ruler on it' side. Then measure the distance from the edge of the ruler to one of the wheel-stud holes. In my case, the distance is 20mm more on the sunraysias than it was on the standard Nissan rims. These are ROH sunraysias, 16" diameter.
The effect/advantage it has is (obviously) to widen the vehicle's track width which can assist with stability when cornering (at speed), as well as 'sort-of' raising the centre of gravity. What I mean by that is that it can have the effect of slightly lessening any risk of rolling over when you are driving on side-slopes........ (imagine how much more stable your vehicle would be if the wheels were 20 feet apart...to be totally ridiculous!!!)

It is also a potential problem as the outer edge of the tyres now sits just a few mm proud of the outer profile of the mudguard profile. You could get 'pinged' for that, but in my case it is barely noticeable.

As for the trailer being a different width track, I don't think the 50mm difference would make much difference......much of the time you are not driving in a straight line anyway, so the trailer wheels are not following religously behind/in the vehicle's wheel track/s anyway. I believe it is of far more importance to reduce tyre pressures in all 6 wheels when driving in sand (ie: not just the truck!!!).

Hope this helps a bit

FollowupID: 392685

Follow Up By: Boo - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:11

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:11
Thanks Roachie,
I did think that the trailer wouldnt be following all that exact on most tracks anyway, so you put my mind at ease a bit.As for the 20' wide wheelbase, ...I wanta see that one parked at Woolies.
FollowupID: 392808

Follow Up By: pjchris - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:21

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:21
The main issue with changing te offset on wheels has to do with the steering geometry. Most vehicles run a negative offset. This is where the axis of rotation from a steerin point of view is between the midline of the tyre and the outer edge. The effect of this is that when a tyre goes flat on the front of the vehicle the extra drag on that side will cause the steering wheel to pull towards the opposite side of the vehicle. helping to prevent loss of control.

If the offset is changed too much (vehicle track increased too much) the offset may become positive in which case the steering will pull towards the same side as the flat tyre dramatically increasing the likelihood of losing control.

FollowupID: 392809

Reply By: blown4by - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:03

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:03
You can get a GVM upgrade. You need to contact an Engineer approved by your State licensing authority (not sure what State you are in-no pun intended). The ones I have seen done usually involve an upgrade of the suspension and if necessary the tyres/rims. Mining Companies in WA get quite a few done as do Contractors who do work for the likes of Testra and have the need to carry a lot of heavy equipment into difficult to access rough terrain areas. The Engineer will put a modification plate on the vehicle under the Vehicle Standards Regulations number VSB 6 (see DOTARS website for more info) and give you the appropriate supporting paperwork. You then go to your State licensing authority Vehicle Examination centre and pay for an Inspection to have the vehicle re-assessed and to get the registration papers endorsed with the upgraded GVM. Their Technical Section will be able to advise you. You then go to your insurance company and advise them of the specification changes and modifications and the fact the lic authority has approved it all and you should then be covered as long as you operate the vehicle within the upgraded GVM. Obviously as others have already mentioned the upgrade will have to be within the engineering capacity of the vehicle manufacturers axles and other critical components such as body attachment points, etc and the available power will have to be able accelerate the loaded vehicle at an acceptable rate in traffic etc. That is what you are paying the smart Engineer for (with lots of letters after his name to prove he is smart). The best advice I can give you is discuss whatever you have in mind with your licensing authority BEFORE you do anything. Many of those guys will have 4WD's of their own and are only too happy to help you get what you want to remain legal as long as you operate within the boundaries of what is generally accepted as being safe limits. Sure discuss it with others to but the lic authority is just that, the licensing authority, and they have the final say regards approving your proposed mods.In this way you will avoid spending big bucks up front and then suffer disappointment, aggro and grief when you find out what you have just done cannot gey approval.
AnswerID: 138879

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:32

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:32
You can get a GVM upgrade.

search for a thread by Lucy, he did his Troopy few weeks ago.
FollowupID: 392686

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:17

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:17
Just wondered why you would have to sell an RV Troopy? My father in law in a moment of weakness put every extra available from ARB on a 4.2TD GXL 100 Cruiser and while it is heavy he towes a jayco off road camper, the whole rig when loaded would weigh in well over any legal limit for that 4wd. However the crusier in generall does not carry that much gear when towing the van, all camping gear is packed into the van, the engel sits in the back and thats about it. I told my father in law that he had to much gear and that he should give some to me however that still has yet to be seen. By the way go the troopy its a lot lighter than a 100 series.
AnswerID: 139012