Fridge

Submitted: Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 15:50
ThreadID: 28016 Views:4182 Replies:10 FollowUps:5
Hello to all,

I know there are a lot of threads re. fridges/ice boxes etc. Can someone tell me if they have any experience (good or bad) with a Bushman brand 12V fridge. It's a 35L that can convert to a 42L with a lid change. I was thinking about getting a large ice box, but saw the Bushman advertised. I'm getting a dual battery system to run lights etc. I know the fridge is smaller than the ice box, but long term, are you better off with the fridge or an ice box. We aren't planning any big overland trips etc, just camping with the kids between 3 to 10 days at a time. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 16:04

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 16:04
How about ..........
If you want to keep things cold only, and you are near ice supplies, the esky is fine.
If you want to keep things cold but ice could be a long way off, you need the fridge (a 3 way fridge even, on gas would be fine).
If freezing is a requirement, compressor fridges are the go (or a 3 way fridge/freezer on gas, but only in moderate climates - the 3 way is ok on cold when in hot zones, but will struggle to get anywhere near freezing in hot zones).Once you go the compressor fridge route, you get the performance on tap, but of course have the 12V supply issues to address !
AnswerID: 138996

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 16:11

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 16:11
Agree with Banjo, but would add that once you've owned/used a fridge, you'd NEVER want to go back to a messy ice-box/esky etc.

Friends of mine (Pud and Barb) have 2 Bushmans that they use in their GU Patrol. They use one as a fridge and the other as a freezer.....both of them have the high lid.

They are very happy with them and run them off the one extra battery (N70ZZ) plus use their Honda gennie in the evenings when required. Let's not start THAT s h i t fight again...hahaha
AnswerID: 138999

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 14:22

Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 14:22
aaaw why not!..its makes for light reading hahaha
FollowupID: 393021

Reply By: flappa - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 16:15

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 16:15
Fridge is always good.

Haven't heard anything bad about Bushman fridges.

Here's a few good reports

http://www.offroader.com.au/products/fridges/bushman-35litre-fridge-freezer.cfm

A search of the archives shows quite a few threads
AnswerID: 139001

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 16:54

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 16:54
Mick-s

Just thought i would tell you about our last camping weekend away at moreton island with some mates, basically myself with a 39L Engel and the rest of them with ice boxes eskies etc. By the end of the trip all of them wanted a fridge, but before we went there was the usuall comments about cost of an Engel Fridge and the Honda Generator I took, however that has all changed. We only go away for 10 days max at a time and the engel is a must. Ideally dual batteries are go plus a generator for all your electrical needs. I used two light truck batteries for my 80 series cruiser when i had it, both cranked the motor over but only one ran the fidge in the car while travelling, when camping the generator comes out, day trips rely on your batteries. Plus the engel is great when your having BBQ great for cold cold beers.
AnswerID: 139002

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 16:59

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 16:59
Have a look at the latest 4wd monthly mag the one with lux on the front at coffs harbour, there is a fidge comparison in between all the fridges on the market.
FollowupID: 392806

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 03:07

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 03:07
Mick-S
the Bushman appears to be only 12 & 24 volt and without 240v power input according to the 4Wd Monthly test report.

The 'new' Repco catalog has a 12v fridge in it that I looked at last week, for the money it looked ok also.

The 40 Lt Waeco is more power efficient and uses the same Danfoss BD-35F compressor, and has 240v input, maybe it would have better insulation ... but it's less expencive.

The 4wd Monthly test unfortunately didn't test all the fridge's available but the majority were represented in their results.

Reefer also have a 50Lt fridge with far thicker, 55mm insulation for a similar price as you have mentioned, it was not tested so I will not tell you what I can't prove as far as performance is concerned, but common 'logic' tells me because it has far thicker insulation than the Waeco and the exact same compressor, it would have to be a tad better in cooling performance, and at about the same price.
These units use the latest Danfoss BD compressors with the 240v AC power built directly into the compressor, unlike some of the other AC units on the market where the AC power still goes through an internal rectifier.
They have dual compartments and a FULL HEIGHT Stainless Steel evaporator, which gives them complete top to bottom efficient cooling, with the power for normal cooling and also freezing, whereby most other fridges use much smaller evaporator unit that is built into the actual fridge cabinet.
Best bet is to get the fridge performance results from some one using one rather than rely on what appears to be logical.

FollowupID: 392846

Reply By: Jim C (VIC) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 16:55

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 16:55
I have had a Bushman fridge for 4 yrs have not had any trouble as yet. It got a good workout last Xmas when we spent Xmas/New Years in the Birdsville/Innamincka area. We run the fridge at -5C, and keep the frozen stuff on the bottom and the perishables on top. Put the stubbies in at lunch and are nice and cold by the the time we get to camp:)) I run a dual battery system in the Troopy, and a small (20a/h) deep-cycle in the CT and have had no problems.
"NIL ILLIGITIMO DESPERANDO CARBERUNDUM."
The Engineers motto...
"Dont let the Bastards grind you down"

AnswerID: 139003

Reply By: mick-s - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:07

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:07
Thanks to everyone, I appreciate your advice.

Mick S
AnswerID: 139009

Follow Up By: Boo - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:22

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:22
Gooda mick-s,
We have a three way Chescold 50l and have found it fantastic. We use on 12v when traveling and swap it over to gas when we set up camp. The main reason we went for the three way was so we could run for weeks at a time without having to worry about draining batteries etc, or generators. We find it freezes great and we actualy have to rotate contents to prevent freezing. It doesnt freeze very well on 12v but will with no problem on gas or 240v, which isnt a problem since we only use the 12v when traveling from point to point.

cya, Boo
FollowupID: 392810

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:27

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:27
We bought our Chescold 50 litre in Darwin 12 years ago and haven't looked back. Esky is in the shed full of welding gear and reckon the money we saved on buying ice has paid for he fridge 3 times over.

Pete
FollowupID: 392811

Reply By: Member - Zach S (SA) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:29

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 17:29
Mick,

the latest issue of 4WD monthly has done an excellent write up, and comparison of many current model fridges.

from memory the bushman rated very well, particulary for the price of around $900 I think it was.

If you can get your hands on copy of the mag it may be quite usefull to you.

Zach
AnswerID: 139014

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 19:45

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 19:45
Mick you have also stated; We aren't planning any big overland trips etc, just camping with the kids between "3 to 10 DAYS" at a time. Any advice would be appreciated.

How large a "fridge " or "esky" do you think you may need, have you been camping with kids for 10 days previously ??
They can go through some food when away and some has to come from that cold box referred to as a fridge.
Camping for 10 days is at least 2 or 3 trips to 'somewhere' for ice so you have to be near a servo or town when you don't have a fridge.
A good fridge is an investment, a cheap fridge is ..... well it's cheap.
AnswerID: 139024

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 12:41

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 12:41
Mick-s,
I had a Bushman and ended up changing it for an Engle. I drove to Mt Augustus, I had it in the back of my "as dust proof as I could get it" Triton. the fridge had a rough trip and died on the second day. I got a warranty claim on the fridge it was only a month old, excellent service no problem there. Second fridge lost it's digital read out after a couple more trips that was it for me.
When the fridge was working it was excellent, low power usage, temp was very consistent etc etc, just wasn't reliable enough.
My opinions and experiences as usual
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 139086

Reply By: andy1 - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 19:31

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 19:31
I bought a ZERO 70/l .only new to the country.
have used it about 10 times.
have no complaints.
works both as fridge or freezer.
have popped the lids off a few beers when i first got it.
they are three way.
suposed to get 27 days out of a 9/kg bottle,we went close.
regards andy
AnswerID: 139114