Member - rengatt (VIC)
thanks for all the advice,
Truckster "Nyck Nyuck Nyuck" for your legal firm Dewy Cheatem and Howe
I have decided to go down the softer road and entered into negotiations with them. They have agreed to accept an independent analysis from a third party to determine the nature of the problem.
The best advice I received was to determine the outcome of the solution I wanted. Thanks Tim HJ61
Once I was able to explain to them that I did not want the auto replaced and only wanted to have the car running in the same condition prior to the service they suddenly became receptive.
So at this point I get to choose a specialist to inspect the tranny and to report on the condition of it and present a report on whether the damage was caused due to the fluid level issues. UT have agreed to abide by the findings of the specialist and pay for any repairs on the tranny that have been deemed caused by their oversight.
I found that the Head Office approach was the best and being able to substantiate the issue with a diary of events assisted greatly. Funny thing was that they had to call me back at work where every call is recorded for security and they repeated the claims that it was my responsibility to check the fluids. When I reminded them they the call was recorded and that they did not take the option of not having the call recorded they had actually given me the right to allow to use this recording in a court.
So off to the specialist I go tomorrow and will keep all updated.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 18:30
Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 18:30
Sounds Positive, Good Luck
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 20:26
Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 20:26
Good luck, but IMHO, they wont do a good job if they reco it. They will do BARE minimum..
I would want it replaced or reconditioned by Wholesale Automatics in Bayswater.
Call Rodney there, and use him as your independant person. Tell him Bruce with the Black GQ said to call. THere is nobody smarter with Autos than Rod.
Good luck.
Follow Up By: Member - rengatt (VIC) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 20:44
Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 20:44
Thanks Truckster will give him a call,
you don't have a number for him do you?
Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 21:14
Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 21:14
The owner of Wholesale Automatics is Rodney Hudson-Davies and I'm another satisfied customer of his along with a number of people from Truckster's and my 4x4 club (Nissan 4x4 club Vic).
Wholesale Automatic Transmissions - info@automatictransmission.com.au
1/58 Barry St, Bayswater, Victoria, AUSTRALIA 3153
Ph : (03) 9762 8004 - Fax : (03) 9762 8108
Regards Andrew.
Reply By: ShnogDog - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 23:16
Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 23:16
If that all falls in a screaming heap... there's another firm of solicitors you could try... Robbem Cheatem & Moore
Reply By: scottyd - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 11:52
Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 11:52
Hi Everyone,
I find this thread very interesting as I am in the process of persuing Holden for costs associated with the repair of my Frontera's auto-transmission system which suffered a severe mechanical failure at 78,000km. Basically the overdrive unit died and some other parts broke in the process. It's a 2000 model and is out of warranty BUT I reckon there has to be some weight to my arguement that a transmission should not fail at 78,000kms.
The vehicle has been serviced regularly etc..
I have tried to get some sort of compo out of them at least three times, but so far have been unsuccessful. The amount of rubbish you have to go through to speak to people and then the conflicting stories you get told is highly un-professional IMO. They are worse that some of the Government agencies that I deal with.
I am in the process of drafting a letter to Holden Australia and if they still flog me off after that I'm going to Consumer Affairs Victoria. I may also look at the VCAT option as
well.
So, it makes you wonder.. Is this just more than a co-incidence that two transmission systems failed at around the same km's???
Reply By: Stuie - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 16:21
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 16:21
G'day all,
just thought I'd read through this one and its an interesting read at that. It twigged my memory to the fact that the owners manual acutally states that the fluid level should be checked by a Holden Dealer. I quote
"The automatic transmission fluid level will be checked by your holden dealer when the behicle is serviced." "The transmission fluid level should be inspected and fluid replaced at intervals shown in the Maintenance Schedual, Listed in Chaper 12" (UES Series Owner's Handbook. Fronter. Holden, p 7-7).
It doesn't anywhere in the manual tell you how to check the fluid. I know because I read the thing front to back to try and learn how before I went on holidays last year. In fact its not easy to do. See this link if your interested.
http://
forum.australia4wd.com/index.php?showtopic=625
You will see in that
forum that I've had minor trouble with my trany as it decided to blow and oil seal at about 45000km if i remember correctly and I only noticed because of the oil slick behind me.
Unfortunately Holden aren't always as knowledgable as they should be. My TOD clunks a bit. I was pretty worried about it when I purchased it and took it to HOLDEN to get them to look at it. They decided that it wasn't quite right either. They pulled the transfer case out, inspected it, couldn't find anything wrong but replaced it anyway, checked diffs, transmission etc, and put it all back together with the new transfer case and wouldn't u know it, its exactly the same. So they rang Isuzu in America and they inform them that thats they way they are from new!
The up side was I got a brand new transfer case for no reason as the holden dealership couldn't be bothered pulling it out again, - they'd already had my car for no reason for 4 days!
you win some u loose some
good luck
Follow Up By: Member - rengatt (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 16:23
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 16:23
Hey Stuie,
The TOD got me to, first time I used it on sand the clunking scared the sh1t out of me.
I found it tends to clunk in the soft stuff (sand and mush)
apart from the issues with the auto how are you finding the Fronnie.
Ren