Aux diesel tank

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 05, 2003 at 01:00
ThreadID: 2804 Views:1926 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
G'day, I'm looking at getting an aux. tank for my diesel gq wagon. I've got ARB's price list and they are asking for something like 12 to 14 hundred. Who else does them? Has anyone had one installed cheaply on their 2.8td gq? thanks in advance. Andrew...

Reply By: Allyn - Sunday, Jan 05, 2003 at 01:00

Sunday, Jan 05, 2003 at 01:00
try www.4wdsystems.com.au.
I paid $700 for mine to fit 80 Series
AnswerID: 10595

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Jan 05, 2003 at 01:00

Andrew, try LRA in Lilydale? I think. Advertise in 4wd magazines, the tank in their ad is GQ one. Got one from them for my GQ, about $400-450 from memory, that is with out the pump which I already had and with out the changeover switches for fuel gauge. In my opinion you don't need the bells and whistles for this set up, K.I.S.S. Manually activate pump and turn off when aux tank is MT. Very good, easy to fit. Having had Brown Davis tanks before and knowing others that have also, I would steer away from them. All have split and needed repairs. LRA the way to go and very friendly and helpful. Hope this helps
AnswerID: 10609

Reply By: kezza - Sunday, Jan 05, 2003 at 01:00

Thought it was dear too - until I found out that they install 2 fillers into your filler space, switches and all the plumbing and pump I guess its worth it in the long run if its done properly - have you already got a 147 litre main tank installed? if not that may be an adequate compromise that is not so expensive (approx $900 installed) . There are a few options now for the gq right up to over 210 lit with both main and sub tanks - a bit heavy on the springs(I use 21 mm GU trayback 4" lift springs and carry anything I like)
happy hunting
kezza
AnswerID: 10638

Follow Up By: Andrew - Monday, Jan 06, 2003 at 01:00

Monday, Jan 06, 2003 at 01:00
Hey Kezza, Is that 147 ltr the long ranger or whatever they call it? Did that price that you said include diesel to fill it. They say they have to fill it on site to check for leaks, I can just imagine how much ARB charge for 147 ltrs of diesel! This tank would certainly satisfy my needs. I dont mind paying for quality, I think that you'll be better off in the long run with a reliable job and equipment. It just seemed a bit steep for me, but thats 4x4 accesories for ya isn't it! Thanks mate. Andrew...
FollowupID: 5662

Reply By: Truckster - Monday, Jan 06, 2003 at 01:00

That price from ARB has to be wrong!!!!

If your down this way, give Alan at Outback Accessories Seaford a call.. His price was very VERY cheap, compared to everyone else I went to.. He acutally has had a GQ tank in the showroom for 12 months! ya might get it cheap! Say Bruce with the Black Lifted GQ sent ya. Hes VERY good.

Outback Accessories
2/ 12 Hartnett Drv
Seaford
(03) 9773 5573
AnswerID: 10651

Reply By: Andrew - Monday, Jan 06, 2003 at 01:00

Thanks guys, I live in Brisbane and none of those places sound familiar, I've currently only got the stock 95 litre job and i cant see a need for any more than 150 ltrs. Would the ideal be to replace my 95 L with a single larger tank, or do you have to get two seperate ones? Andrew..
AnswerID: 10679

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Monday, Jan 06, 2003 at 01:00

Andrew, we put a Longranger replacement tank under the back of an 80 series turbo. Gives us 256 litres, which means we can go from Winton Q to Brisbane without refuelling, Only need to stop for meals, sleep etc. Doesn't "weigh" the vehicle down with H/D springs. Catch you...
FollowupID: 5668

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Monday, Jan 06, 2003 at 01:00

Forgot to say the 166L tank cost us $1100 at ARB Rockhampton, about 3 years ago. Never had a leak or other problems with it.
FollowupID: 5669

Reply By: kezza - Wednesday, Jan 08, 2003 at 00:29

Wednesday, Jan 08, 2003 at 00:29
Andrew - usually they get you to bring your truck in with almost m/t tank then recover the fuel from the old tank and then drive to nearest servo to top it up to test guage and for leaks. and just charge for the actual cost of the fuel. Im on sunshine coast and have some excellent contacts - and yes its a long ranger-
all the best
Kes
AnswerID: 10794