Getting an image to 50 kb

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:29
ThreadID: 28045 Views:2532 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
Forumites,
I've searched but I can't find how to resize an image so it will fit on "My Rig" page. I've tried cropping but I can only get a wheel for 50 kb, what's the secret?
Keep the shiny side up

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:40

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:40
Martyn,

You've done it for your rig pick - looks okay to me.

If you had a Mac, you could use a free programme like Graphic Convertor, then do a save as. One of the options when saving a jpeg is to set the output image size.

When I'm faced with a PC playing dumb and not letting me do something really simple like this, I use the principles the Mac uses and try to follow a similar line, with 18 different left and right turns, on the PC and sometimes it works.

Can you find a programme that works with photos - image maker or something like that - and see if that can do it.

MM me if you can't work it out and I'll do it for you.

Tim
AnswerID: 139141

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:45

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:45
Tim,
They're old ones I wanted to update, I've been buggering around for awhile now can't get the damn thing to 50 I'll try and send you the image see what you can do.
Keep the shiny side up

FollowupID: 392892

Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 10:47

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 10:47
Hi Martyn and thanks for that tip to use "Graphic Converter" to re-sixe..Dummy! I should have known..Even though I use the latest vers of Photoshop on my Macs (we have 12 or so PC's in the biz but use them only for Attache etc thru the server) I still always fall back on Graphic Converter to have a quick look at results of pix etc..Great for ultra quick zooms also..I used Corel Draw for years on a PC..That was ok until I discovered Photoshop on the Mac..I can't believe how ezy software is these daysand how crashes just don't seem to exist any more..Funny how some DOS things stick in your mind ,like the old dir/w/p to see all your files on a full page (I think)..Drifting! Just loaded latest up-grade of Final Cut Pro onto my Mac G-5 dual 2x250gb hdd's,twin LCD's as I need all the help I can get to re-re-re-edit our 1989 adventure with Guides To Adventure to tip of Cape York with two of the greatest leaders ever,Scotty and Mary-Anne..We had to build that raft of 44-gallon drums (28),fence wire and saplings to get the rigs over the Wenlock River after a 8 month "wet"..Will put it ont double-sided DVD with heaps of chapters so viewers don't have to suffer the lot in one go if they do not fancy a marathon..

Was eleven years after the trip before I got the first "VCR to VCR That's how it was in those days"edit done,as,every time I would start to edit,I would get the 4B blues and just want to go again..Have four of three hour VHV taped to aggressivly trim down..Need the "workshop" features of F.C.P. to enhance those portion of the tapes that are showing elements of deterioration..As recorder/camera combos chewed batteries then and there were no elect-tris-a trees up there to "plug into" I carried two motor-cycle batteries in leather pouches on my belt for power.Heavy!.The Panasonic AG-6400 recorder alone weighed as much as ten of todays cameras..Had a solar panel on the roof to re-charge..Bet it will take me 'till about June 2006 to get it finishd,by the time I dig up audio effx,music,photos etc.But,that,in it-self,will be an adventure...Whew! Heve fun.RockyOne!MPG:8!
FollowupID: 392907

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 12:56

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 12:56
Rocky One,
Much as I would like to take credit for suggesting the idea it wasn't me it was Tim HJ61 who gave you the answer. So your thanks need to go to him.
Keep the shiny side up

FollowupID: 392912

Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 13:12

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 13:12
Thanks HJ-61..Hope I got it rite this time.. :-) RockyOne
FollowupID: 392914

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 13:21

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 13:21
Hi RockyOne,

No worries. Although I think you need to give up at least one of your screens, and probably the G5 as well as penance, cos I'm really really put out. Ummm, give them up to me that is. :-)

I'm trying to do the same as you but with iMovie, iDVD and an eMac. It's working fine, but of course with a setup like yours would be a whole lot more snappy.

I've had some old old 8mm standard 8 film converted to DV tape and have imported it all onto Mordor - my firewire drive. Now I'm busy compiling it, adding bits of soundtrack and labels to identify us all when we were young. It's old family home movies, and my haven't we all changed over 40 years.

To avoid crashes I moved to OSX, and to avoid them even more I run Disk Warrior now and again, as well as the little utils like Onyx to keep everything in order after so much I/O with the video. Geez I hate going to work and coping with Win 98.

All the best with your playing.

Tim
FollowupID: 392915

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:48

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:48
Any sort of photo programme should offer you the options to reduce the pixels; the easiest is part of Microsoft windows if you have it. To make sure the photo opens in the programme you want (if you have a few like i do), locate the photo in your windows explorer (my computer), and right click, then select edit. It will open in the Microsoft office picture manager. Find "re-size" from the menus or edit pane, then click down the pixels or the %age of size. Around 300 x 200 odd pixels should do it. "Save as" a new name so you don't overwrite your good photo. As a double check, if you list your files showing "detail" in windows explorer, you will see the size in KBs - if it is 50 or slightly less, you are OK to post in rig pics. Look forward to seeing a few more of your pictures. Motherhen

AnswerID: 139142

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:57

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:57
Motherhen,
That worked thanks, looks a bit ugly but it'll do.
Keep the shiny side up

FollowupID: 392894

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 13:03

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 13:03
Good Martyn - done it yourself.

The thumbnail I agree isn't the greatest, but I dunno how to get them better. If you click on the thumbnail it comes up as a much clearer photo. Looks fine to me.

Tim
FollowupID: 392913

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 13:57

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 13:57
Thanks to above I can now resize myself. tryed it before when questions asked
but it would not work for me Tried it this time BINGO.
cheers brian
AnswerID: 139173

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 15:29

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 15:29
G'day Martyn,

You will find the easiest way with the best result by going to post 23918 and following 'hoyks's' instructions.
By trying 30% the first time it should get pretty close.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 139179

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 09:02

Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 09:02
"ThumbsUp" vers 4.2 could be your answer..Quick search on Google will find it,if not I'll track down the www..Free!..Dead simple to use !.....Nottin ventured! Nottin gained ! Have fun..RockyOne
AnswerID: 139264

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 09:48

Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 09:48
Download "Microsoft powertoys". It's free and has lots of goodies for windows, includung the ability to resize images by right clicking in Explorer and selecting "Resize Pictures" from the context menu.

Microsoft Powertoys
AnswerID: 139282

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 12:40

Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 12:40
I've found the easiest piece of kit to use is Picasa 2 - you can download this free from Google at this address http://picasa.google.com/download/
AnswerID: 139317