Buffer
Am planning a trip from
Perth to the
birdsville races next 2006, have heard both good and bads things about the races. If anyone has been recently I would be interested in what how you found the weekend.
Reply By: Bev - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 16:53
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 16:53
We went this year had a good time WE camped out along the way into town if you don,t need power this is the best as the
park was crowded .
Water available in the town The races were fun and we met some nice travellers there
Follow Up By: Buffer - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 20:28
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 20:28
Thanks Bev, what do they have in the way of
toilets out of town. Pete
Follow Up By: Member - Steve P (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 19:43
Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 19:43
I went this year and had a great time. Be prepared for flies, dust, hot winds from the north or cool winds from the south and they can be quite strong. I would plan to arrive early as the caravan
park does fill up quick. A lot of people do
camp out side of town so it is up to you and how self reliable you are. Here is a link to my web site of the trip. At the moment I am doing the retrun trip web page .
http://members.optusnet.com.au/stevepile/birdsvilleracesbash2005.htm
Reply By: andrewr - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 17:26
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 17:26
I went last year and passed through during the beginning of race week this year as
well.
Whether it's good or bad depends on what you're into - It was probably a bit tamer than I had expected - I gather that there was a fatality a year or two back and now it is policed fairly heavily. Main crowd when I was there this year seemed to be
grey nomads, but that might have been because it was early in the week.
The race itself is
well set up with a large galvanised iron roof providing plenty of shade with good ventilation.
As far as facilities go, it is
well set up with a
camping ground in the town (bookings req'd) and food supplies,
bakery, cafe etc. There is unlimited
camping available along the river, which is a short walk to town.
I would go again, but with hindsight would not drive any substantial distance just for the races - the trip itself would have to be worthwhile.
Reply By: Marilyn Monroe - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 18:47
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 18:47
Hi There We went in 2002 and had a ball. We are non-drinkers but still had a great time. We flew in, and slept in a swag under the wing of the plane it was great. Got there 2 days before the races, stayed 2 nights and flew out and home.
Camping by the
creek just out of town would be great but Ruth's hospitality at the caravan
park cant be passed by, mind you she will be busy. The races are fun but the boxing tent is THE BEST $20 I ever spent, and wathcing two guys emerge from their swags under the Pub verandah Sunday morn a treat. As awas the guy "swimming" down the gutter full of empties. I am going back driving this time, and reckon it'll be great then too.
MM
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 20:39
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 20:39
Yuppy!
Hard decision for Norma Jean (what the?). The Patrol or the Gulfstream??
Follow Up By: Marilyn Monroe - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 22:07
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 22:07
It was a Partenavia
Reply By: arofs1 - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:17
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:17
We went this year and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, we have been around many parts of Australia and
Birdsville really surprised us, it was just not what we had pictured in our minds. The lush green sports oval in the centre of town, the large
bakery, museum and
information centre were top shelf. The road from the East is 300km of rough , stony track, but if driving to the conditions can be done safely and with no damage, even towing an on-road caravan. If you intend towing a caravan you need to install a comprehensive stone guard, as the stones thrown up by the towing vehicle can make a mess of the caravan. I made my own with shadecloth and where it fitted (above the A-frame we didn't get a dent, but there was a little damage below the shadecloth. I have a plan for an additional protecvtor for next time. You also need to look under the van and see if anything is susceptible to stone damage, eg. hoses from
water tank etc.
There are heaps of
camping areas along the river, but the dust or mud and PRICKLES are a real problem. We intended staying along the river, but our friends opted to stay at the caravan
park with Ruth, as we also eventually did and do not regret it. The only problem at the caravan
park is that there are only a small number of powered sites and they go a week before the main event. If you need a generator, it can only be used between 9am and 2pm. The amenities and the closeness to the town and attractions was
well worth it. The race day was also a good experience, partly because we actually won $5. We could see most raced through the dust.
Although we did not travel the
Birdsville track to the South, I believe it is much better than the road to the East through
Windorah. This event is a must do for an Aussie traveller.
Brian DJ
Reply By: Matilda - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 14:53
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 14:53
We went this year and really enjoyed it all. We travelled up the track from south early in the week before the races. Plan to stop at Mungerannie and enjoy the pub and
camping. At
Birdsville we camped out of town on the river and it was fantastic. Expect heat, wind, dust etc but great cool nights. The town has sort of carnival atmoshphere and is worth a trip each night even just to get more
water. I suggest collecting firewood before arriving as it is scarce and even though it is sold in the town it is expensive. Races are fairly tame compared to stories I had heard. Still one of the best experiences we have had overall and the people we met
camping will remain friends. Police breath tested me every day it seemed so expect to become on first name terms with them. On the upside of the police presence they regularly patrolled the
camp areas and this was a comfort. We will return at some point.
Reply By: Bev - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 11:30
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 11:30
there are
public toilets and showers in the town One set of loos where you get
water Servo has a shower as
well Bakery has a loo and a great
quandong pie
You can always get the campers friend a porta loo very handy.
If you put down shadecloth the prickles sweep off easily get a piece of cleared dust ground and hardly any at all