Jurgens Xpedition Camper/Caravan
Submitted: Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 18:26
TassieDave
I've done a search, found that one person on here has one of these campers, just wanting any more information I can get. I think they have been out in Australia for about 12 months now, there must be a few in use. The dealer here in Tassie has never seen one for himself, I'm going to
melbourne next month and will check them out myself. Are they as tuff as say a Kimballey Kamper. I was going to buy a 17ft outback jayco and tent it when the going got tuff. Now thinking that this camper could go just about anywhere I likely to go. Any help greatly appriated
Reply By: JW - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:19
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:19
Dave,
If this is the one with twin high set jerrycan holders on the rear, how do think you will go lifting a full jerrycan into or out of those holders? For a lot of people they would be chest high at least.
Jon W
Follow Up By: TassieDave - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:29
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:29
Thats right, it would keep me fit. Be about the same as lifting that spare wheel I reckon. Should be no worries. If it is the mrs can do it, she will be the one wanting the
water, the beer will be in the fridge.
dave
Reply By: wheeler - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:48
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:48
Totally un confirmed, but I have heard they might be having problems with chassis cracking. Apparently there have been a few cases of this, but as I said I got this info 2nd hand, so I would take this with a grain of salt.
Follow Up By: TassieDave - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:53
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:53
well at least they would be still under warranty
Follow Up By: wheeler - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 20:00
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 20:00
Yes absolutely and I should point out that in the story I heard, the importer went above the call of duty to fix the problem and the customer was very impressed with the service.
Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 21:20
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 21:20
Friend just back from 3 months up north had theirs fall apart at the seams letting dust in. Distributer put them in a motel for 3 nights while he personaly delivered a new replacment van to
Darwin then fitted a replacement solar system etc. Had the wrong screws used to hold it together from South Africa. A one off apparently. They are very good with all Warrenty work but then a really good van wouldn't need any. Are a good solid unit with some excellent features but the 2 single beds amoung other quirky ideas will make them appear to a select few.
If you want an offroad van I'd go with a Track Caravan & if you want a camper trailer get a TVan.
Cheers Craig..........
Reply By: Member - John (QLD) - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:57
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:57
Considered these and they look the goods and are proven in SAfrica but inside is pretty sad. Very very dated fitout. Wouldn't trust the dust sealing on the slide out kitchen, looked quite suss, shame because they have good dust seals on the doors. Also operating the front window to try and open it, forget it, too much hassle. They retro fit the HWS and plumbing etc in Oz to comply.
Would be a tough product I think but it needs some re-invention, there's a lot of fiddling with some things like the full awning and getting to storage under bed is a real pain.
Agree they would go most
places a camper trailer would and certainly more than a std caravan.
Maybe wait for KK's offroad van or the one coming from Odyssey campers. Have you seen the Highrise camper.
Follow Up By: TassieDave - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 20:18
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 20:18
Spoke to dealer about KK van today, $50k, and only room for two, ensuite inside. He had a picture of it. It's too much for me.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 16:05
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 16:05
The Highrise looks pretty good. Wonder what the price is.
Follow Up By: Member - John (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 20:22
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 20:22
Heard it was around 47k
Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 09:23
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 09:23
I guess initially it sounds expensive but when you look at the name brand top line hard floor campers being only a tad under that, it's probably reasonable value.
Reply By: Kumunara (SA) - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 22:37
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 22:37
Take a look at the Adventurer camper trailer. Lots of storage space and with their set up the bed is low to the floor.
A friend of
mine has one and I am impressed by it. Did the
Mitchell Plateau and
Gibb River Road and they had no problems with it.
Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 23:39
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 23:39
Is this the soft floor camper from Adventure Campers. I was interested in it until I realised it was a soft floor camper. I have been
camping in wet weather with a soft floor before.
Reply By: Kumunara (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 06:06
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 06:06
It is a soft floor camper.
I have a SAR MAJOR camper with a soft floor and there is no problem in wet weather with soft floor campers.
You can buy tarps made out of shade clothe. You put them down under the camper and it keeps the bottom of the camper clean. If you use normal tarps the
water pools between the bottom of the camper and the tarp. Shade clothe tarps the
water drains through.
Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 12:17
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 12:17
I guess that's the next big debate - soft floor Vs hard floor.......can be now winners as per the diesel Vs petrol, the patrol Vs cruiser, the gay Vs straight....... all depends on your own preference but like you Dave I have a soft floor Kanga and would take it anywhere in any weather conditions - heavy rain just ain't a problem.