2000 watt, 4 stroke gennie, $299
Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 08:01
Jimbo
On sale this Thursday 17/11 at Aldi. No idea what they're like and I don't happen to need one myself.
If you're interested I'd get there at opening time. Apparently most of their big specials sell out fast.
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 08:23
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 08:23
G'day Jimbo,
that is a hot price. Think I saw these a couple of months ago in an Aldi catalogue, for a bit more. Reckon they looked like a simple colour variation on the generic design going around. The normal price is $599 everywhere and that's what my GMC cost, which is a good unit, purchased for home use.
have a good day mate.
Reply By: Member - Drew T (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 14:28
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 14:28
so does anyone know what these genies are like? anyone know how noisy they are?
Follow Up By: vitara - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 15:09
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 15:09
hace been told these things are only about 5db more than a honda, dont know how true this is. Can't imagine it being that quit compared to a $2000 geni. I have noticed none of these cheaper brands advertise the db level. Regards Vitara
Follow Up By: Member - Drew T (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 15:33
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 15:33
can't seem to find a website anywhere that has the detailed specs for these generators! any ideas anyone?
Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 15:39
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 15:39
No detailed specs but from brochure:
Powercraft
240v
Four stroke OHV single cylinder
13 hour continuous operation
5.5hp/2000w output
15l fuel
tank
5db increase is a lot more than you would think
Follow Up By: Tony - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 16:20
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 16:20
Sounds a bit bigger than the Honda 20i, and a lot heavier.
Follow Up By: myfourby - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 16:29
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 16:29
you get what you pay for - don't compare it to a honda. Both of these units have different applications.
-myfourby
Follow Up By: joc45 - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 18:49
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 18:49
Only 5db louder than a Honda?
This translates to 3 times as loud as a Honda.
But don't get too carried away with the figures; the ear works logarithmically, that's why we use decibels for measuring sound level.
I'd still buy one tho! Can't go wrong at the price. Just spend a bit extra on a longer extension lead.
Gerry
Follow Up By: pjchris - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 12:41
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 12:41
5 db is NOT three times as loud.
From Glossary of Terms
DECIBEL (dB)
A term representing the ratio of two quantities, one being the sound level that is measured and the other being a reference sound level corresponding approximately to the faintest sounds detectable by the human ear. The greater the sound level measured in dB, the louder is the sound. Generally, a change of 2dB is just perceptible, 5dB is clearly audible, and 10dB appears twice as loud.
It takes 10 times as much power in an audio sense to make something seem twice as loud to our ears.
Other Info:
What is a ecibel
Loudness Info
Follow Up By: joc45 - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:23
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:23
pjchris
Yeh, I studied all this over 40 years ago, and the maths hasn't changed.
decibels = 10 log (p1/p2)
three times the sound power translates to 5db.
Your quoted reference appears to relate to dBA, not just dB.
I'm inclined to go with the UNSW reference which states that a 1db increase is barely perceptible.
My concession to the argument will be that I meant sound power, rather than loudness.
Gerry
Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 15:26
Reply By: Member - Dashmir E (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 17:14
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 17:14
The Great thing about buying at aldi is that you can buy a product, use it and if you dont like it you have 12 months to return it as long as you have your receipt.No one else that i know of offers a 12 month satisfaction gaurantee.But if you want one of these generators be there before they open on thursday cause they wont last.
Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 17:23
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 17:23
There's a queue at our local outlet every Thursday for these specials. Make sure you're close to the door when they open. It's usually a mad rush.
Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 17:55
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 17:55
hmmmm......read about these on another thread.
I was actually feeling pretty smug with meself cos my mobile contract is up for renewal bearing in mind the phasing out of cdma. Then they dump this on us, just after I've bought the $98 GMC 850w Gennie from Bunnings. Mind you, it's still in the box, unused, so I could take it back. Dunno, think this one will do me, though. The Aldi one will be quite a bit bigger and heavier, and 3 x the price.
Reply By: Pilbara Wayne - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 00:02
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 00:02
Who really gives... as long as it delivers the power and you are happy then who really gives a sh#$(t as to how mucch power is procuced.