Steep learning curve on parts and trailers

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 23:06
ThreadID: 28130 Views:3749 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
So we went to Melbourne to get some bits for the truck and to look for an off road trailer(not CT).

Carparts from the wreckers were VERY expensive but slightly cheaper than genuine.

Trailers were on the average $1000 dearer than similar in Adelaide and so we bought one in Adelaide on the return trip

Went to a host of camping shops looking for an Oztent Screen tent and drew a blank at each one. Found one in stock at Discount Camping on Main North Road, Adelaide.

Moral of story must be to shop locally.

On the good side we caught up with old friends and forumates and had a good time and also managed a camping trip with some of them to the Pyrenees Ranges near Avoca.

The trip leader took us on a few steep forest tracks but the old GQ took it in her stride.

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 23:11

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 23:11
Was good to see you also mate , Dean and natalie were extatic . Dean is looking forward to fill in the map , but was upset that he forgot to give you his photos , expect them by mail soon
AnswerID: 139587

Reply By: Michael B - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 08:24

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 08:24
Willem,

I will be looking to purchase an off-road trailer in the near future, you could save me some leg work. ( As a neighbor of yours, Jamestown, I would have the 2 hour plus drive prior to looking and checking them out )

Where did you purchase yours from, and what set them apart from the others?

Michael B (SA)
AnswerID: 139612

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 18:16

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 18:16
Michael

I bought mine from Modern Trailers, Main North Road. They have a website www.moderntrailers.com.au.

The trailer is just as well built as a similar one in Melbourne but it is $1000 cheaper. That speaks for itself.
FollowupID: 393354

Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 11:43

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 11:43
Hi Willem,

Great to catch up with Jude, Grandma and yourself again. I am working on the 4 wdadventureoz DVD this week, so as soon as it is complete, and I am happy with it, I will mail you a copy. The GU coped with the tracks with ease my friend, the proof is in the viewing.

Glenn
AnswerID: 139638

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 12:10

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 12:10
Glad to see you back in the Sunshine State. Yes you have to be careful of some of those Mexicans. They will try to get you any way they can. $1,000 cheaper must be because we're the poor relations.
I hope they didn't want to see your Visa. I seem to recall putting it over one of them that they needed one for Robe. LOL
AnswerID: 139640

Reply By: Wombat - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 12:53

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 12:53
Truth be known we actually subsidise the South Australian traders comfortable in the knowledge that if you are happy over there you'll stay over there. That's the reason we enlarged our Aussie Rules competition, then let the Crows win a couple of flags (even helping them to get to the Grand Final by calling a Tony Liberatore goal, a point) and laterly allowed those funny people from Port have one too.

It really is a much nicer place to live than Victoria . . . trust us, we wouldn't lie.
AnswerID: 139645

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 15:47

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 15:47
How can you believe someone who has a funny gait!!!
You will be very embarassed to get into a discussion on the AFL.
Wombie, haven't you heard the story of how god created the earth with good and bad spread evenly across it. When he got around to creating Australia, he created South Australia to be paradise and to offset the perfection, he placed Victoria alongside it.
In spite of all your faults, your really not a bad bloke, just stay on your side of the fence. LOL
FollowupID: 393341

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 16:30

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 16:30
Of course, I agree with you totally Mr Lexic. What you say is the truth and don't ever let anyone try to convince you, or your fellow pseudo-poms that SA is not the paradise you believe it to be.

. . . and I'll definitely take your advice and stay on this side of the fence!!!
FollowupID: 393349

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:02

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:02
Just looked at that website Willem. Am I reading it right or can these off road trailers only take a 300 KG Load?
AnswerID: 139704

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:15

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:15

Now you got me. I am not sure.

The weight of the trailer unladen is 453kg. It is purported to be a 750kg trailer. According to my rego papers there are no GVM numbers.

I have an old 6x4 garden trailer and used to load 1.5ton GVM regularly to it and it still does the job.

I am expecting to have a GVM on the trailer around 900kgs give and take. I am running 265/75/16's. If when fully laden, the tyres do not have enough clearance, I will fit Polyairs
FollowupID: 393375

Follow Up By: Ingenious - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:36

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:36
If the trailer has no brakes on it then its GVM is 750kg so you minus the tare weight of 453kg gives you a load capacity of 297kg.
If you want to carry more weight then you have to fit brakes or lighten up the tare weight. Going over the GVM limits voids your insurance, rego & as the driver you can be charged by the transport dept but also by the police if your vehicle is involved in an accident regardless of whos fault it is. This also applies to 4x4's overloaded past there GVM limits.

Sorry to burst your bubble, but I thought this might help.
Chhers
FollowupID: 393379

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 09:29

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 09:29
While you are talking of GVMs etc.
I was looking at my trailer ans it is rated at 750kg GTM, which I assume is gross trailer mass.
The alko web site talks of GTM and ATM, ATM being aggregate trailer mass.
http://www.alko.com.au/vehicle/springs/adr_spring.html

Now it seems that GTM is load plus trailer mass on the axle, while ATM is the total mass, i.e. trailer mass plus load plus hitch load/mass.

Assuming hitch load is 10% of ATM, that roughly means that a trailer of 750kg GTM, and trailer mass of say 500kg, can actually carry a load of 250kg plus a further 10% of 250 kg as hitch load, or 275kg total load?
I would assume the ATM would be 750+10% = 825kg?

Splitting hairs I know, but interesting if it is true.

The alko web site also quotes the ADRs as 750kg GTM unbraked, not 750kg ATM.
http://www.alko.com.au/vehicle/drum_brakes/adr.html.

What do you reckon?
FollowupID: 393412

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:06

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:06
Ingenious

Yes You are right. I have 749kg GTM stamped on the compliance plate.

Most of the time the trailer will be well under the GTM mark and only on very long trips where I will be carrying extra fuel loads, it may go over the limit.

Insurance? Do not have insurance except 3rd party. Accidents? Have to be careful, hey?

Cops or Transport authorities...I couldn't care less. The chances of being weighed is neglegible. We live in an over governed society which tries to instill fear in to persons straying from the selected path. I am not afraid and I stray every now and then.

My bubble is still intact!
FollowupID: 393529

Follow Up By: Ingenious - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 23:44

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 23:44
Willems bubble gets busted, LOL

The Insurance I was refering to, is your compulsary third party person on your registration, you can & will be personaly sued by the injured parties even by the passengers in your vehicle if your insurance is voided, even if it doesn't get voided the insurance company can still come after you for recovering payout cost & legal expenses. The police can charge you with manslauter if someone is killed as a direct result of a failure attributed to the overloading. eg. wheel comes off & kills a pedestrian or into an oncoming vehicles windscreen etc.
I know you think this might be a little extreme, but peoples lives are changed forever every single day due to slight oversights or bending the rules a little too far, the courts don't allow for pleas of ignorance any more. As far as the law is concerned the rules are available to all, if we choose not to know them or don't follow them then it's our problem not theirs.

With regards to ATM & GTM & TARE weights you are only allowed to use what is stamped on your plate. eg. If your plate only has a TARE & GTM stamped then GTM is the maximum total weight of everything including the hitch load. ATM takes it one step further, it specifies the hitch load max weight as well.

Just remember I'm not giving you guys a hard time, I'm simply trying to help all those that get to read this!!!
Cheers & Happy Travels
FollowupID: 393566

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 09:01

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 09:01
Ingenious

IF....IF.....IF You an undertaker or something?

What a misery guts! lol

I am well aware of all the crap that may befall one if the wheels should fall off, but I do not let it interfere with my life.

DID YOU KNOW? That under the Northern Territory Parks and Wildlife Act the interpretation is that you are liable to prosecution if you should break a blade of grass on the roadside verge in a National Park. All things to the extreme!

If I had to live my life to the protocols that exist as you have suggested then I might as well stay in bed.

FollowupID: 393601

Reply By: cuffs - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 12:10

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 12:10
Try All Type Trailers Gepps Cross next to Hungry Jacks, just had a custom built 7x5 off road box trailer built, same track line as my X-Trail, Treg coupling, 450 sides two jerry can holders, I supplied Alloy wheels and tyres same as tow vehicle and they where a lot cheaper than Modern Trailers quoted, down the road.
AnswerID: 139773