Aluminium Bullbars
Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 23:17
Kazza055
How do you keep them clean and shinny. I currently use a product called Mothers that is for Mag
wheels and aluminium but it is hard work especially if you leave it for a few months or so. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
I also have a deep scratch in one section so any ideas on this one????
Bob Cheers
Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 23:34
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 23:34
G'day Kazza055,
Have a look at post ID 22040... A variety of suggestions there, take your pick...
For the deep scratch, I'd suggest wet'n'dry sandpaper (wet) in progressively finer grits, down to (at least) 1200g, then apply your choice of clean/polish....
Ed. C.
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 23:43
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 23:43
I polished my bullbar - once! Looked great for about a month.
Too much hard work. Now it just has a dull look about it. Is there for function not looks. Not being lazy - just have better things to do than polish aluminium. If it ever needs replacing I will go for a powdercoated steel one.
For the record I used "Reflections Metal Polish". Worked good at time with lots of elbow grease but soon dulls after hitting muddy
water.
Muddy
Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 00:21
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 00:21
Me too. My previous forby had the big ally bull bar, side rails and steps and yep, I polished it once!
I didn't even consider polishing it while it was for sale, I left that for the new owner.
Reply By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 00:29
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 00:29
a softish brillo pad for corrosion then a wet thinners rag to shine.
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 06:24
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 06:24
Yep not woth the effort. I did it ONCE too.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 07:38
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 07:38
i did it twice....duh.....takes a bit longer for me to learn
Reply By: 3.0turbob - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 07:05
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 07:05
I used Brasso on my 4 runner bullbar, came up a treat... but hard work!
Follow Up By: PandJ - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 14:23
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 14:23
Brasso is the only way to go. Tis used on chrome and ally on restored motor bikes as
well as the Ally roobars.
Rub it into bar, polish of with cloth, and then give another polish with soft clean cloth. Don't forget to have a six pack with you.
Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 07:53
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 07:53
Depends on the texture of clothing that the target pedestrians are wearing at the time....
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 08:41
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 08:41
Are aluminium bull bars meant to be shiny?
I know they did a factory polish when I got it, because I was working there at the time.
They used a buffer and polish.
I would have remove the mesh and lights to do it again.
That's a lot of work.
So why did I get aluminium in the first place?
I remember, for the low maintenance!
Reply By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 12:28
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 12:28
Why bother?
One thing I stopped doing when a accepted it, was that you stop getting anal about the asthethics of my 4WD as that was part having tbat tyep of vehicle and going off road.
Once you get a few thousand locust stuck to it you stop worrying.
I clean the bug splats off, but I consider the red NT mud stains a right of passage.
Reply By: blown4by - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 16:45
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 16:45
I reckon all the replies are pretty
well "on the money". I saw some ali bars at the WA Truck Show earlier this year that looked so shiny I thought they had been chrome plated. When I asked how they get them so shiny I was told about a product called Metal-Quip and given a number of the bar fabricator. When I rang them they said they use a whole lot of different grade pastes to get to the final finish including using sheep skin buffs etc and that it was a very time consuming and dirty job. Black stuff everywhere. They said all the bar parts are polished before it is assembled then the welds are just polished afterwards. The guy the suggested any good ali polish will do the job but stressed it must contain an anti-oxident. He said brands such as Wenol, Reflections, Purple and Autosol are all the same stuff and are OK to use. I went to my local TJM store and they have their "own" brand (read own label) and the bottle does not state if it contains an anti-oxident. It gives a good finish but I think once it has rained a few times it will still oxidise and won't stay shiny for long. I think the only answer is to give up or keep polishing regularly.
Reply By: Member - Bill F (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 17:47
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 17:47
Hi Kazza055
If the deep scratch was a spoil on a bush track use a permanent marker and write on the bull bar what track it was.
BULLBARS are for use not SHOW
Take it off, if it's for the blacktop, and you won't have to clean it
Mag wheels arn't much better in the bush
Bill F
Reply By: warthog - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 18:52
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 18:52
Autosol works
well and if you do it every 6 mths or so, it doesn't take long.
Reply By: Ingenious - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:16
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:16
Oh! Oh! Oh! I know the answer to this one, when I bought my new GU, Nissan had the free bullbar towbar etc etc. so instead of letting them fit it all I made them just supply all the extras loose, knowing how much a pain in the #ss alloy bullbars are to keep looking nice, I decided to get it all powder coated (bullbar,towbar, hitch, tow loop) in a hammer tone black & silver finish. that was over two years ago & it never gets cleaned, still looks great & it's even hard to see the bugs #sses all over it. Best $200 odd bucks I ever spent, towbar still hasn't got any rust marks or stone chips on it yet either!!! So get a qoute for the bullbar only might be around $100 odd or polish it up nice & shiney then get a clear powder coated finish over the top.
Reply By: Kazza055 - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 22:36
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 22:36
Thanks folks for the replies - some good advice there but most of them mean hard yakka. I guess it is my fault for not touching it for about a year. Me thinks the trick is to get it clean for a start and then a little spit and polish every few weeks to keep it that way. Like the idea of Mr Sheen - put a little wax on to keep the oxidation away.
Actually, just had a thought (gee that one hurt a bit). I remember back at high school all those years ago, making things in metal work from brass and copper and using a bench grinder with a cloth wheel to buff them up - off to Bumming on the weekend and see if I can get one for the drill.
Bob Cheers