Monkey, Geraldton,Kal

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 12:53
ThreadID: 28138 Views:2143 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
G'day from WA,
I am currently in the process of planing our Xmas get away... The plan is a few days in Monkey Mia, Geraldton & Kalbarri. I know it the wrong time of year and will be hot, to this end the Officer In Charge of my happiness has deemed it necessary to stay in caravan parks (with pools)... Not my seen but she has spoken and I shell obey..
My question is can anyone recommend any good parks and which ones to steer clear of. We are currently booked into the Monkey Mia dolphin resort; any reviews or suggestions would be great.
Also any places of interest would be good. Its Mum & Dad with 2 boys (4&7) in a Territory pulling a C/T. The territory AWD has surprised me with it ability, its no Cruiser (usual work car) but does OK for what it is..
Cheers & Beers,
Brad..

Reply By: Goons - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 14:52

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 14:52
Gday Brad
Can only comment on monkey mia, i was their in january of this year. Hot HOT & HOTTER 40'+. Park is good but the pool was out of action (green).
Take some decent metal pegs & a metal mallet as the ground is crushed shell grit.
Also bypass the park ablution blocks and use the resort facilities - there much cleaner and newer. Heaps to do and see if you like fishing/4wdriving but it will be windy. Beware of the killer nor west blowies. I had one chase me all the way to shore. It actually beached itself trying to chomp my toes, have you seen there teeth!!!!!!
Having just returned from Exmouth/Ningaloo I can definately recomend going there if time permits..
AnswerID: 139651

Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 19:00

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 19:00
It's been 10 years since we've been to Monkey Mia - but I reckon the best place to stay in the Shark Bay area is anywhere but Monkey Mia. Too commercialised. Denham is much better.
AnswerID: 139680

Reply By: Exploder - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 19:14

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 19:14
And don’t drive across the resort beach they don’t like it!! LOL

I’m sure they dislike busted gates more, but that another story.
AnswerID: 139682

Reply By: Buffer - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 09:51

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 09:51
Brad, I have stayed at the Kalbarri Anchorage caravan park a couple of times, it is walking distance to town, the owners are very friendly and the showers etc are always clean. There are several day trips that can be done with some great site seeing. On the way up consider stopping in at Cervantes for a couple of nights as there is the Pinacles to see as well as some spectacular coastal drives. Pete
AnswerID: 139759