Definitely not 4WD related, but....
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 14:55
chump_boy
We are looking at buying an old FB Holden.
I was wondering if anyone here had one (or still has one), and could spare any knowledge they have.
The one we are looking at seems in good nick, and has had one owner for the past 15 years. They are being very picky about who buys it, asking all sorts of questions about what our plans for the car are. He has apparantly knocked back a few sales as the buyers were going to turn it into a hot rod, or chop it into parts.
Was just wondering how it might go as a daily driver, just for picking up kids, mabey a bit of shopping, that sort of thing. I understand it is almost 50 years old, and will need to be treated as such.
Anyway, what are your thoughts?
Thanks in advance,
Chump
Reply By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 15:51
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 15:51
Have a cousin in
Mossman (Qld) with an FJ - they were using it as a daily driver for a couple of years until a few months ago. I think they let the rego lapse because of a baby, but with a bit of TLC it was fine for everyday use.
Can understand the current owner wanting to suss out the car's future!
Follow Up By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 15:54
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 15:54
Thanks for that.
Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 17:55
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 17:55
as far as i am concerned the future of the car is none of the current owners business.....this being the case, that he has knocked previous offers as to the future was not to his liking has now put that car in a bracket of having restricted salebilty...eg. limited customers...this should surley lower the price if a sale is not quick coming....
but I do understand his sentiment.
but .....on the other hand...if it were I would want the most i can get for it..it could be written off in an accident toomorrow
Reply By: Pterosaur - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 18:06
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 18:06
I have had a couple of FC's (next model) quite a while ago, but basically the same vehicle. I reckon that you would find it ideal for the uses you have stated - don't know about the fuel requirements though, with LRP being phased out.
When I had
mine though, the Holden "
grey motor" was widely available, and it was easy to get spares etc., not that many were required, and it was a pretty straight forward motor to work on if required.
Terry
Follow Up By: Neil & Lynne - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:26
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:26
The FC was actually the model before the FB, which was a major body change from the FC.
GMH had a strange way back then of allocating model codes, eg the next one after the FB was the EK, then EJ then EH etc, go figure.
These really were very good runabouts but parts now are getting harder to get . The major worry however is rust. Have a good look at the sub frame & all hard to get to spots which may NOT have been repaired.
On the upside, they are simplicity itself. I remember pulling the g/box from one of my FCs on the roadside, two
wheels on the kerb to give clearance, opening it up & replacing a bearing & been mobile again that day. Ahhh them were the days....
Neil & Lynne
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 18:33
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 18:33
I have a book by Tony Davis....LEMON! 60 heroic failures of motoring
The FB Holden is the one amongst them
Some of the comments are " Although pudgy and not overly [powerful(it had just 56kW from a dated 2.26L engine) the FB was a surprisingly agile performer and did its stated job-- carrying the family from A to B in sometrhing approaching comfort."
I think the Lemon staement came from the styling of the FB and not its performance. As with all older cars they have things that break due to old age and you have to have your mechanical skills upgraded to maintain them lol
Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:00
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:00
Rare Spares would make a fair bit of reproduction panels & trim for these I'd say. Google 'Rare Spares'.
Ring up an old Holden club and ask someone there.
The old
Grey motors 138ci & 149ci (?) were OK. Not fast, but went
well. A lot had red motors transplanted into them. No synchro on first too. 13"
wheels, drum brakes. Best quality chrome I've ever seen.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:41
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:41
Grey motor was actually 132.5 ci originally, went to 138 ci in the FC (I think, could have been FB).
149 was the first of the Red Motors in the EH. It also apperared as a 138 ci (called the 2250) in the LC Torana. The Red saw duty as various sizes, 138, 149, 161, 173, 179, 186, and 202. There was also the 192 which was never actually produced by Holden, it was a 186 bored out by hoon boys, whereas the 202 was a stroked 186.
There were also various "hot" versions by Holden. The 179 and 186 apperared as the X2 in the HD and HR respectively, there was the 186 S HK to HG, the 186 in the LC GTR Torana was modified and the best of all were the GTR XU1's (186 in the LC Torana and 202 in the LJ).
Holden's first effort at a performance car was the S4 EH. It was a standard 179 with a three speed manual, better brakes and I think, some
suspension modifications.
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 22:39
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 22:39
Jimbo, I'm getting rusty! You're bringing it all back to me now.
You could do a bargain basement red motor hot up using a 202 (with the standard burnt exhaust valves) and fitting a 179 head on it which gave it higher compression (and good valves).
Didn't the X2 have twin Stromberg's from the factory?
Don't forget the abortion that was the Holden 'Starfire' 4 cyl - a red motor with two cylinders cut off. This briefly saw action in the Torana Sunbird and the VB Dunnydoor. And also the dreaded Opel 4 speed gearbox (as distinct from the 'All Ausssie' M20 & M21) which somehow found its way behind a few Holden 6's.
Ahh yes...the 'rat trap' clutch, the 'Banjo' diff, Saginaw, Muncie 'Rock Crusher', Salisbury, Chevy 10 bolt, Powerglide, Tri-matic (aka traumatic), Hydramatic, TH350, TH400, 253, 308, 305 V8's....memory slowly returning!:-))))