Landrover Discovery 3

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 19:21
ThreadID: 28144 Views:6930 Replies:25 FollowUps:63
Just had a drive of the new Disco HSE and all I can say is what an awesome vehicle. My question is a simple one: Why shouldn't I buy one?

Reply By: Exploder - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 19:32

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 19:32
I will give you 1
$80,000, Bog standard unlicensed without stamp duty. How’s that.

But hay if you have the spear 80 and don’t mind the odd scratch or dent in the $80,000 4by why not?
AnswerID: 139684

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 14:43

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 14:43
Really!!! They're that expensive? I was expecting to pay $13,999 tops for a state of the art, go anywhere, four wheel drive with an upgraded Jaguar motor and every bell and whistle imaginable! Thanks for alerting me to the price tag, I hadn't thought to check how much they were.
FollowupID: 393443

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 19:12

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 19:12
A 100 series turbo deisel is the best part of $80k new on the road. And the Toyota reliability is a thing of the past. i know I have one. I have also driven the Disco 3 turbo deisel and was hugely impressed. My Cruiser has 3 years to go on lease and I will be watching the reliability of the Disco 3 closely during that time. As it stands for me as a tour guide it is the only genuine comfortable 7 seater on the market. Unless the new Cruiser is a real improvement on the current one, and the Disco proves its reliability I am very interested. Cheers Rob
FollowupID: 393492

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 19:40

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 19:40
Gee I could fry an egg on that response.

How’s this rear end looks like a ford Transit Van and it’s not built in Japan, and I know how that a dirty word around hear.

Yes they are that expensive and It’s good to see you checked, you must be smarter then the photo indicates, it was a shock to me as well to find out that they were not indeed $13,999. As I was having a chat to Alf Barbagello just the other day and he was saying, what a surprise it was too that he would not be selling them for $14,000.

Are we all done with the sarcasm now or should we continue.

FollowupID: 393498

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:05

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:05
Apologies for the overt sarcasm in my reply Exploder, but being the first response I wrote you probably bore the brunt of my frustration at the childish (and totally expected) missive which followed yours. I don't profess to being a smart man but preaching to someone that a state of the art automobile is going to be expensive is akin to stating that George W Bush is a psychopathological meglamaniac. Everyone knows that both statements are obvious and therefore my hackles were raised.

As Rob has suggested reliability of the Discovery 3 will be the defining factor in whether this vehicle sets a new benchmark. Whether to bite the bullet or sit back and bide my time is the million dollar question.
FollowupID: 393504

Follow Up By: Marilyn Monroe - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:55

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:55
ya dag Wombie, leave him alone, you led with your chin, and he took the invitation hahahahaha

You Disco drivers are all the same, nice smile tho xxx

FollowupID: 393523

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:04

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:04
Also sorry fairly obvious statement I posted, and i probably should of given it some more thought.

I think what I was trying to say was would you really want to take a $80,000 4WD with that nice leather interior out bush. But like I said if you don’t mind the odd dent or scratch then why not buy it, look’s to be a good capable 4WD.

FollowupID: 393528

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:11

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:11
" I don't profess to being a smart man "

No, but you come close to being a smart arse hahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 393531

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:28

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:28
It's only steel, plastic and paint that may be getting damaged Exploder - it's not like it's anything important - and isn't that what 4WDs are built for. And I've grown accustomed to leather under my ample derrière or smart arse whichever you prefer.
FollowupID: 393535

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:40

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:40
Then if the reliability look’s Ok, then there is no problem look’s to be a good State of the art 4WD.
FollowupID: 393539

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 22:42

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 22:42
HAHA... look at all the big words come out !!!
FollowupID: 393555

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:13

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:13
A fool and his money are easily parted...as the saying goes.

But if your ego is big enough for it...then go for it.!! :o)
AnswerID: 139689

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 14:50

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 14:50
Your concern for both my mental state and financial situation overwhelms me, Willem. In fact, it's hard to sit here and type with tears of gratitude in my eyes and my hand on my over-inflated ego.
FollowupID: 393445

Reply By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:20

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:20
Ya gotta be nuts !! 80 grand to spare.....Id be investing it in my kids future and get me an old GQ i can thrash about knowing my chances of comming back home are good.

Hi Dad :-)
Ange
AnswerID: 139692

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:46

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:46
Hi Son :o)

Going to be in your neck of the woods for a week over the chrissie period. Might try to catch up?
FollowupID: 393372

Follow Up By: Penguin (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 09:06

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 09:06
Hey Willem

That's my neck of the woods too. Any chance of a getogether?

FollowupID: 393411

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 14:56

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 14:56
I've checked with my kid/s Ange and she/he/they offered to help me fund my totally irresponsible decision to put my choice of vehicle ahead of their "future" by selling their bodies on street corners. So, that should be okay then - as long as its alright by you?
FollowupID: 393446

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:29

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:29
Wombat,
never let it be said that i attempted to stop progress when it came to cleaning up our streets ok....U have my blessing mate :-)

Willem, let me know where you will be and id love to meet y'all. If I am free.....it would be fantastic.

Hello Mike, hope all is well with you guys. Things are looking up for me Mike......got me a job now..so look out weekend trips.
Take care mate.
Ange
FollowupID: 393457

Follow Up By: greydemon - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 17:15

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 17:15
Hi Wombat,

My wife also offered to sell her body on street corners so that I could get a 4X4. Anytime you are in WA call in for a test drive of my 1991 Lada Niva. (I hope to have fully paid it off in another year or two if she sticks with the job).

Greydemon
FollowupID: 393476

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:16

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:16
Hi Greydemon,

I would look you up next time I'm in WA simply to try to help your wife out with her worthy project but I fear, from what I've been told, money is going to be a bit tight if I have the audacity to by this car.
FollowupID: 393509

Follow Up By: Marilyn Monroe - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:01

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:01
I used to sell myself on st cprners, after thirty hours STRAIGHT I had $14.05....who gave me 5 cents???? EVERYONE!

FollowupID: 393526

Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 03:12

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 03:12
Obviously included a fair size tip as well :)))))
FollowupID: 393587

Reply By: Member - John (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:26

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:26
Wombat,

Reliability for LR should be fine know with Ford involved. Very technical vehicle now but just more computers like everything else from here on in.

Bog std they remind me of a mates bog std Prado - follows a well set up 80 most places. This thing trounces on a 100 or GU.

You'll save mod $$'s - no need to fit all the aftermkt crap so it will keep up with the big boys.

Big rims will be a problem with remote-ish travel. 85ltr tank sucks. Any afttermkt stuff like long range tanks will be a while coming if at all.

Would probably try and wait and save $15,000 on a low k's resale. I have promised myself I will never buy new again.

We came close to buying one but I have already put too much into the D2.

Would love to own one - just need to win the lotto this Sat.

AnswerID: 139693

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:02

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:02
Thanks for the common sense feedback John. I thought I could get over the hurdle of the oversized wheels by fitting 17" wheels for remote travel, if necessary. The reliance on computer circuitry is a bit of a worry but in comparison to holes in pistons, collapsing front ends or exploding gearboxes the consequences are relatively minor.
FollowupID: 393448

Reply By: drivesafe - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:30

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:30
Hi Wombat, if you want the best 4x4 in it’s class then there is no reason not to buy one.

I have now seen a couple of them in action, off road and they are unbelievable to watch and dead simple to drive.

I’ve been looking at getting one for the wife. We had a test drive and she says the D3 is easier to get into and to drive than the RR but we still fight to see who drives the RR.

One thing to look at is the differences in prices between the different motor types.

I don’t know what you like but I normally prefer diesels but with an $8,000 difference between the V6 and the diesel, the V6 is by far more economical on a long term use basis. You have to do a hell of a lot of miles before you use $8,000 of additional fuel plus the fact that diesel fuel is more expensive and diesel engines require more services.

Now the flip side is that the diesel will have a higher resale value down the line.

Go for it mate, you won’t look back ( except to see all the other 4x4s you’ve just passed ).

One more point, they are far better value, dollar for dollar, than the new RRS

AnswerID: 139711

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:05

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:05
Thanks for your insight Drivesafe. I think in the end I will opt for the diesel but that Jag motor gets up and boogies!
FollowupID: 393450

Follow Up By: Andrew (Whyalla SA) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 18:45

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 18:45
Why better value than the RR Sport?
Other than more seating I would have thought the RRS was far beter value.
Same underneath with a much nicer looking body on top.
RRS warranty is also MUCH better.
FollowupID: 393488

Reply By: PCH - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:54

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:54
Wombat,

I speak from experience. I have owned a D3 TDV6 since April 05 and have done many 4WD trips in it.

Only modification is a set of aftermarket 17" wheels with Cooper ST tyres for safer off-road adventures. The 18" road tyres still are capable in dry conditions but are prone to easy damage from rocks and staking.

It is a most capable off-roader and has only let me down once where I needed a Defender with front & rear lockers and Simex's to snatch me past some very deep ruts on a slope where the Coopers filled with clay and turned into slicks.

Tips if you purchase: option the rear diff lock, air suspension which will give you the terrain response (if buying an S) and get the TDV6. Just remember the diff lock is factory fitted and isn't dealer fitted.

You won't regret the $$ spent or the decision. I never owned a Land Rover before and was expecting big things from the D3 and it has lived up to those expectations plus many more even with the small fuel tank and 18" wheels.

PCH
AnswerID: 139715

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:09

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:09
Thanks PCH! It sounds like you are totally satisfied with your purchase. May I ask what sort of mileage are you getting from the TD and what was THE deciding factor for not getting the petrol motor?
FollowupID: 393451

Follow Up By: SKP - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 15:10

Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 15:10
As Chris hasn't replied to your questions, I will give you my D3TDV6 figures:- 10L/100kms country
12-14 around town (short trips)
13-14 towing
11.8 over 627kms last week-end to Vic high country
(110kms. city, 300 hwy 200 hilly dirt including 60+kms low range)
On a trip to Errinundra Cup w.e. Chris used slighty more fuel than I did to Bairnsdale on the Friday. I have standard 18" Wranglers and was towing a 'Tvan' , he has the 17" ST's with a roof top tent.
Why would you buy the petrol? (They can't give the V8's away at the moment) SKP
FollowupID: 393744

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 12:53

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 12:53
I wonder if anyone who reads this has the 4.4 V8? If so it would be interesting to get the comparative consumption figures.
FollowupID: 393914

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 22:08

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 22:08
Just buy one and don't tell anyone ....NEVER TAKE IT OFF THE BITUMEN...and when ..as it will...give you a pain in the arse...don't let us know by way of this site, now go away and keep quiet !!
AnswerID: 139716

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:15

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:15
"NEVER TAKE IT OFF THE BITUMEN" Would you care to extrapolate that statement Steve? You have alluded that you know something about this vehicle which makes it less than desirable. Please, share your greater knowledge with me - that's why I asked the question!
FollowupID: 393452

Follow Up By: Marilyn Monroe - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:09

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:09
He means don't drive it off the MacAdam Wombie. Now that could mean you cant drive in to the SafewAY CARPARK, but I doubt it. He probably is referring to its dust exclusin prospects, I just use a pair of mylons around the doors and my knickers in the fuel cap filler

FollowupID: 393530

Reply By: garrycol - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 22:49

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 22:49
Peole carry on about the price but they are no more expensive than the equivalent Toyota product and only marginally more than the Patrols - if it what you want it - then go for it
AnswerID: 139726

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:17

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:17
You're right Garry. I didn't realise there were so many people concerned about the state of my finances.
FollowupID: 393453

Reply By: ShnogDog - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 00:02

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 00:02
I find it strangely funny that people get so worried about the price of it. Sure its not cheap, but if the bloke buys one, he'll do so with his money, not anyone elses. So stop worrying about how he may chose to spend his own hard aernt $$$ and maybe also accept the fact that these vehicles just may be better than what most of us are driving.

There sem to be plenty of TD 100 series getting around. Damn good vehicle, but also not cheap. Yet again, no one is forcing anyone to buy ine. They did it usually by choice. Not a great deal of difference in $$$ between a TD GXL 100 series and an S or SE disco. If you check the specs, then it shapes up fairly well.

Buy what you like and dont worry about what someone else chooses to buy.
AnswerID: 139733

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:25

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:25
I think there may be a few green eyed monsters amongst us Shnog. I asked the question in the hope that I could ratify my impression with considered evaluations of the Discovery 3's capabilities from the so called experts. Unfortunately the same antagonists continually spout the same boring hyperbole.
FollowupID: 393454

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 00:37

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 00:37
Cause for one the back end looks like an afterthought, OH bleep WE NEED AN ARSE END.. Lets put a box on it. Suprisingly same as the pathfinder...
Price, lack of tires available, lack of accessories, bleep small fuel tank, poor resale, expensive to repair.. perfect for a 4wd.

Willem said it best..

but if it impresses the new woman, go for it.
AnswerID: 139736

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 08:54

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 08:54
has wombie got a new woman!!!!????

Now THAT would be surprising.....

FollowupID: 393408

Follow Up By: Marilyn Monroe - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 11:22

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 11:22
woohoo dont tell Helen, methinx Trucko is getting confoosed, unless he's read dads report from ast years HC trip ahhahahahahah

FollowupID: 393428

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:39

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:39
Truckster, I have to say I'm not surprised you saw fit to add your tuppence worth! I've noticed lately you seem to have a hang up about how things look - have you spoken to your therapist about this because coupled with your insularity it's got the potential to really exacerbate your feelings of inadequacy. I'd mention it to him at next week's session. I'm also not surprised that you and Willem agree that any thoughts of a $90,000 motor car are ostentatious and therefore worthy of nothing but scorn.

As for the new woman, nothing could be further from the truth. Lynda summed it up perfectly when she said "Now THAT would be surprising.....". When you've got the best Bruce there is no higher pinnacle.
FollowupID: 393458

Follow Up By: garrycol - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 16:14

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 16:14
The old Truckster is off his meds again or is it a full moon!!
FollowupID: 393466

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:10

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:10
Anyone thinking about spending $90k on a car, shouldnt be throwing stones about therapists.
FollowupID: 393506

Reply By: kesh - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 08:17

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 08:17
Its an odd phenomenom Wombat, but from my observations the guys (on this forum) who knock L/R's, R/R's are mostly the ones who own Patrols.
They cant knock Cruisers, cos they know they are a superior vehicle all round, so its a simple matter to take it out on one which, out of its box goes further off road than any other, does 10. l./100 km. fuel consumption (whats wrong with 850km. out of a tank?) etc.
Ok, there have been some issues, but not many since about '94/5 and these were mainly fit/finish related. I have never heard of pistons/turbo's blowing, 5th. gear carking it, engine overheating, front wishbones/chassis cracking, front diffs. expiring etc. etc.
L/R owners are a pretty happy lot but tend to keep quiet about it. I have a tdi Disco which does every thing I ask of it, 100% reliable in 200k., also have a hzj 75 Cruiser which has been no less reliable. Suffice to say each vehicle has a different purpose, and both fit their requirements perfectly.
Go for it Wombat, I for one know you wont regret it!
kesh
AnswerID: 139741

Follow Up By: TASPAJ - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 12:52

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 12:52
Have to agree with you there kesh. i think some of these guys are just jealous. If he has the money then why not. Just because it's not a toyo or a patrol it doesnt' mean it's rubbish.
FollowupID: 393432

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:42

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:42
It is an interesting phenomenom, and one that students of marketing would have a ball trying to rationalise.
FollowupID: 393459

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 08:57

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 08:57
Hey Wombie

here's a completely untechnical answer, go for it, :) if it's what you want, and you're impressed, and it'll serve your purposes and needs then, hell, you don't have to justify it to anyone, knowing you as I do, I'm sure you'll have or will do your homework very closely on this vehicle.

Lyn
AnswerID: 139746

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 10:16

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 10:16
Well said, we did this and haven't regretted a single moment with our Disco, it has preformed faultlessly and the more we drive it the more we like it.

Poo poo to the drips that bag this vehicle.

FollowupID: 393421

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:51

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:51
G'day Lurch. As you know it's not about searching for a justification to myself or anyone else for spending the money, it's about sourcing considered opinions on the capabilities and pitfalls of the said vehicle. I'm trying to do my homework here and in other places on the www but for probably the first time I have to say I'm disappointed in the overall response from the ExplorOz forum. It seems to me that insecurities and feelings of inadequacy have clouded some peoples' judgement.

Thanks Baz - I knew you were happy with your D2. As I've stated previously the reliance on computers for all components of the D3 is what's worrying me.
FollowupID: 393462

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 16:08

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 16:08
Hi Paul

I'm not at all surprised by the response you got, anyway, good luck with it, if that's the way you decide to go.

Lynda
FollowupID: 393465

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 17:42

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 17:42
Mate i like the way you think, good luck with the research and whatever vehicle you decide on.

Oh we will be in the High Country over Xmas if anyone wants to meet up, leaving Tom Groggan for Omeo on the 24th.

FollowupID: 393480

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 17:48

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 17:48
I forgot, i know what you mean about the electrics, it worried us too with the D2, but it seems OK so far, it's the way all vehicles are going now, it's really only base model vehicles that are not so electronicly controlled (eg) 79 series cruisers and the 4.2 Patrol and such vehicles, but they will soon change i think.

FollowupID: 393482

Reply By: Marilyn Monroe - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 11:24

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 11:24
Wombo, If Helen says OK then do it. I would like to have one, as long as I didnt worry about panel scratches etc, I think they'll define the world of 4x4-ing like the Rangie did 30 years ago.

AnswerID: 139766

Follow Up By: Marilyn Monroe - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 11:28

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 11:28
Hey YOU! whats with the pic of me???? Tneres only ONE Marilyn, hang on thats Jeep....hang on thats Kirralee, Oh My I need a Bex and a lie down.....hahahaha

FollowupID: 393429

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 16:04

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 16:04
Hi Bonz,

You can have a drive of mine if I get it. I have to say I've only ever been more impressed on a first drive once before, and that was the MX5. If you get a chance go and have a test drive but make sure it's a HSE with the reworked Jaguar 4.4 litre engine and air suspension. As I said - It's awesome!

Kiralee has only one 'r'.

I can't believe the amount of vitriol one simple question has generated.
FollowupID: 393463

Follow Up By: Marilyn Monroe - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:16

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:16
Mate judging by the hornets nest of support you have stirred up I would check the spelling of Kiralee too hahahah

FollowupID: 393533

Reply By: garrycol - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 16:22

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 16:22
If we are looking at the HSE version, than why not look at the RR Sport - different vehicle, slightly smaller inside and out, just as capable and in TDv6 form about the same price - depends what you want. If it is load and extra seats then the Disco is the way to go. If it is class and good offroad capability but not so much space then I would be in the RR Sport (in my opinion, the gem of the LR lineup).

Garry
AnswerID: 139792

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 19:05

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 19:05
Hi garrycol, do NOT take this the wrong way, this is not meant as a sling at any other make of 4x4.

For those who already a MkIII RR, the RRS is a step backwards but if you drive any other make of 4x4, it’s a big jump up from what you are use to.

The RRS is a very different type of vehicle and if you want a genuine sports type 4x4, this is definitely the one, 0 to 100 in around 6 seconds.

But if you decide to have a look at one, make sure you also have a look at a fully tricked up D3. Over all, the D3 is heaps cheaper but is by far the better vehicle.

The most obvious difference between the RRS and the D3 is the room. The D3 is far more family oriented with tons more room.

I visit a few overseas LR sites and have read of number of times where MkIII RR owners traded in their RR and bought a RRS, had it for a few months and then have taken it back and replaced it with a new MkIII RR.
One guy had the RRS less than two week, lost a fortune but still preferred to go back to the RR.

If you want to have the drive of your life, take a new MkIII RR for a test drive. There few CARS that are as fantastic to drive and there is NO other 4x4 like it.

And before all the LR knockers come crawling out of the woodwork, test drive the vehicle first.

FollowupID: 393490

Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 14:16

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 14:16
Drivesafe - you have actually picked up on some of my points - both good vehicles depends on what you want. D3 and RRS basically the same vehicle - RRs uses D3 running gear etc on a shorter wheelbase but RRS does not have offroad focus and doesn't have the room - but with offroad wheels and tyres should be as capable as a D3 offroad - (same running gear)

Cost - the original post was talking about a D3 HSE - a D3 HSE TDv6 is about the same price as a RRS TDv6. The D3 HSE is not far cheaper.

Remember the RRS is not a RR hybrid - it is a D3 hybrid. So comparisons with the RR may not hold up.

Gazz
FollowupID: 393629

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 15:24

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 15:24
Hi garrycol, I have the MkIII RR and I know there is no comparison between it and an RRS.

You are right about the price but what I was saying is that the top of the line D3 is heaps cheaper than, and I should have made this clearer, the top of the line RRS.

There’s about $30,000 to $40,000 difference yet the D3 is still the better vehicle.

FollowupID: 393656

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 18:02

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 18:02
> Why shouldn't I buy one?

They look friggin orrible

AnswerID: 139807

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:11

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:11
Look out Ray, he'll come back with some dribble about seeing a therapist.
FollowupID: 393507

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:40

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:40
I'd call that character ;>)
FollowupID: 393516

Reply By: Tuff-Trol - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 18:28

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 18:28
Landrovers are a great 4x4 , no doubt about it . We went the Patrol 4.2 over a Defender simply because of creature comforts and the ability to stop in nearly anywhere or spares and accessories off the shelf .Also the 4.2 has a great history with reliability .
Having said that , my boss has the D3 as his daily driver and weekend warrior .... and he loves it , but hates the fact he can't accessorize it the way he wants .
He also got hung up and ripped a nice hole into the side wall of the spare when playing up in Mundaring Sat just gone .
It would be a great idea to look into a rear wheel carrier set up , he has rung just about everyone and no luck .
4X4's are a personal choice , don't let people bag you out or turn you off your choice that's really imature on their behalf and should go back to bullying kids for their lunch money .....if it's what you want ....and it suits YOUR needs ....and your happy enuff .....go for it mate !!!!

Your bank account should have no bearing on their happiness .

peaceout
AnswerID: 139814

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 19:13

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 19:13
Hi Tuff-Trol, I have seen an article on a rear wheel carrier for the D3.

If I can find it again, I’ll post info on it back here for your boss.

FollowupID: 393493

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 19:03

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 19:03
Wombat,
Your posts are great, crack me up!!
If I had the cash I'd swap my Tojo for a new TD D3 today. " Why shouldn't I buy one?" Because driving any other 4by off the shelf will be hugely dissapointing? Because you may offend some tojo, nissan drivers by embarissing them on and off road. Agreee this vehicle will set new bench mark as long as the reliablity is there.
Matt
AnswerID: 139824

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:12

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:12
Aaawwww shucks Matt - I'm blushing.

Unfortunately the predecessors of the D3 have had reliability issues and the big question is whether Ford's involvement is going to be the catalyst for a more dependable marque.
FollowupID: 393508

Follow Up By: Marilyn Monroe - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:20

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:20
That would be my only worry, a gremlin like the others have endured, maybe too you should get field glasses so you can sit at the top of the hill and watch the others trying to get up.

FollowupID: 393534

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:34

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:34
I have no doubts about the capabilities Norma Jean, but I'm yet to be convinced about the ability of so much technology operating at 100% efficiency every day. What I need is a time machine - anyone got a spare flux capacitator lying around that they're not using?
FollowupID: 393537

Reply By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:53

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:53
I'm giving the D3 some serious consideration. I've owned two Range Rovers over the years and been bitten on reliability and poor quality control, but I firmly believe that this new model Discovery will be reliable. LR have spent some years with input from BMW, now Ford and I believe they have got it sorted. I'm going for the TDV6 SE 6 speed auto model, as I think it has most of what I want. I don't want leather in a vehicle that will go off road. For $73,650 (roughly) it compares well with a GXL LC100 TD4.2 auto $73,390 and is so much better it is not really in the same class.
I was also a bit worried about the small fuel tank and rang up Long Ranger about an auxilliary tank or larger standard tank. There is none and they couldn't tell me if there would be. The spare is underslung and that obviously cramps the space down there. I would be prepared to add a swingaway tyre holder if someone makes a tank to go where the spare goes, but that probably won't happen. However, I figure they'll do about 700 on a tank, which is actually not that bad.

My advice - buy it. You won't be disappointed.
AnswerID: 139844

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 07:43

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 07:43
Hi Sky Pilot, any specific reason for not wanting leather.

FollowupID: 393594

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 07:52

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 07:52
Just that I intend using the vehicle on dirt/mud roads and I think the leather upholstery would be easily ruined by that abuse. Years ago, I had vehicles that I had to hose out when I got into the mud - can't hose out a D3 ;>)
FollowupID: 393597

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 08:38

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 08:38
Must admit, I hope not to get to the point of having to hose out the RR but so far the leather has been much easier to keep clean in the first and a lot easier to look after than something like the cloth inserted vinyl seat in my previous 4x4s.

I think you will find that there is a bit of myth surrounding leather seats but again, I have not had hose it out YET.

Over the last 6 months I’ve put the RR through tougher off road conditions than I have ever done with any vehicle before, including mud and the likes and had plenty of mud traipsed through it and it’s been heaps easier to clean than the others were.

With over 140,000km on the clock, it’s had plenty of use and with the off road trips of late, it’s had plenty of abuse and I personally think the leather is standing up to the punishment far better than the old seats did.

Cheers and I would be interested in the views of anyone else with leather interiors and how the fair.
FollowupID: 393600

Reply By: Member - John (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:49

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:49
Wombat,
Nothin changes, the same predictable reaction from the old guard, doesn't it get boring. Threaten them with the loss of their enternal reign and look out, you will be fed to the lions.

It's like in business, you know you're up your competitors nose when they start slagging you, they feel threatened, that's when you know to keep going ,you're on the right track. LR will, if they haven't already, soon realise their on a winner.

The times they are a'chang'in.

.....bugger it, I'm going for another test drive.

AnswerID: 139854

Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 14:27

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 14:27
The recognition will come when Toyota copies Landrover features into the Landcruiser - just like they finally changed suspension and drivetrain for the introduction of the 80 series to coils and constant 4wd - just like RR had been doing for nearly 20 years and the disco (overseas) had been doing for about 2 years.

I suspect the the next major new model for the Lancruiser will have a Disco 3 style suspension/drivetrain system - and it will have all the elctronics to support it.

This will be the ultimate recognition.

Gazzz

FollowupID: 393633

Reply By: Member - John (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:49

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:49
Wombat,
Nothin changes, the same predictable reaction from the old guard, doesn't it get boring. Threaten them with the loss of their enternal reign and look out, you will be fed to the lions.

It's like in business, you know you're up your competitors nose when they start slagging you, they feel threatened, that's when you know to keep going ,you're on the right track. LR will, if they haven't already, soon realise they're on a winner.

The times they are a'chang'in.

.....bugger it, I'm going for another test drive.

AnswerID: 139855

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 22:23

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 22:23
Wombat,

The looks of the disco have always impressed me but the reliability has always bugged me, I thought I had the reliability sorted with both my 100 cruiser and my current patrol, how wrong I was. Had I went with my eyes I may have had no probs out of the disco, I think that is the nature of the beast.
The bottom line is there won't be too many people that have worked the guts out of these (relatively new) vehicles for hundreds of thousands of K's to tell you how reliable they really are, appart from LR officials and who would believe them when talking about there own vehicle.
The accessory market won't take long to catch up with things like long range tanks and swing away tyre carriers if they are not already out there, so to me this is not the issue, if LR have a good warranty setup (sounds like you have prior dealings with LR) and you love the look and feel of the car then I would say go for it.
I don't know how long you keep your cars for but if it's not long then warranty should see you through even if it is not so good reliably. On paper it is a sensational motor car, if you do go for it then the worst case scenario is you use the car till it is out of warranty and flog it to the first car yard who'll give you good money for it (I sleep better if I do this when selling a dud) and look for something more reliable then.
Enjoy if you go down the Disco road (it's the one where others can't go), post load and strong here so others interested understand how good these things are.

Cheers Trevor.
AnswerID: 139863

Reply By: ShnogDog - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 22:56

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 22:56
HAHAHA... Wombat, what a S H I T fight you have stirred up with such a simple question!!! but it was always going to go that way. I think that you should buy one so that people who dont like the rear end of one can take another look as you either pass them, or snatch them out of a boghole... These same people are likely to give you some good advice on how you should have spent your money.

I have one saying that I apply to various situations in life, and right now it is relevant to the opinion (one you may have heard from some) that your money would be better spent modifying and older second hand something... and those words of wisdom simply are that "You cant polish a turd !!! "

Go the disco..
AnswerID: 139869

Reply By: gramps - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 03:36

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 03:36
Wombat,

Triton Dual Cab to Disco HSE. Woo hoo - quantum leap !!!!

Your question - "Why shouldn't I buy one?"
My answer - Because I bloody well can't, that's why.

If you've done your homework, it suits your requirements and you're happy with it - do it! Yes, I'm bloody green-eyed envious.

Looking forward to you slagging off at the rest of us poor plebs in the future.
AnswerID: 139888

Reply By: Fusion - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 10:06

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 10:06
Hey Wombat,

I'm a 2005 Patrol driver, but I think the Disco's 3's are pretty awesome.

What I would want to see to make it a car I could buy would be:

1) Steel Bullbar (ARB now have this)
2) Rear bar with tyre(s)
3) Long Range tank where tyre was underneath.
4) Airbag height doesn't drop when over 40km/h

That's it. I think these things will all come in time.

I read in an overlander reveiw that the height adjustment automatically drops down (no matter what your setting) once you go over 40km/h. That's bad, they should have manual control over the height at all times. I imagine it's just a software update to do it. In the article they said when zooming around the outback they kept bottoming out on stuff in the Disco, 'cause it dropped its height over 40km/h. Obviously set up for the english countryside, not outback Australia.

Aaron.
AnswerID: 139911

Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 14:34

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 14:34
Now that is the informative reply that they all should have been - to the point - without the emotion - adding value.

But it has been fun reading all the posts and watching the usual loonies come out.
FollowupID: 393635

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 14:55

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 14:55
Hi Fusion, on this car, I'd happily put up with an alloy bar just to keep the weight down at the front. I'd only want to hang some good driving lights and an aerial or two on it. I do agree with the rear swingaway tyre carrier however and then a Long Range tank to replace where the tyre came from. I can't really understand why LR went with a drop down tyre as all previous versions had one on the back and they are an absolute pain when you are changing a tyre in the wet or mud.

As for the dropping down above 40 km/h, I am usure how far it drops. If you are doing more than 40, you are most likely not in the type of terrain the extra height was designed for anyway. Perhaps a manual override for between 40 and 60 km/h, then it drops automatically anyway for safety at higher speeds.
FollowupID: 393647

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 15:33

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 15:33
On my RR it doesn’t drop automatically, just keeps binging you and telling you not to go over 50kph in the raised position.

To be honest, the RR sways a hell of a lot at speeds of 50 or more when fully raised and maybe thats why they have made the D3 lower automatically, for safety reasons. From my experience, it does seem like a good idea.

FollowupID: 393659

Follow Up By: Fusion - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 15:48

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 15:48
Good point about the safety 'Drivesafe' ;)

I know in the x-trail I used to own before the Patrol, its 4x4 system overheated (and therefore ceased to work) at constant speeds above about 30km/h. When I bought it I thought that wouldn't be a problem, 'cause in the rough stuff you won't go over 30km/h. Then I got onto some soft beach sand and blew my theory :)

Last time I was outback we were often travelling at fairly high speed over reasonably rough terrain. 80 - 100km/h over 2 tyre tracks. I could see situations where you can maintain a high speed (over 40km/h) but you might be in deep sand or with a big hump in the middle of the track. In these situations you'd want to keep the airbags up.

It's one of those things that is hard to quantify, until you've had some experience with the gear in many situations which it seems you've had, so I'll have to defer to your hands on knowledge :)

Aaron.
FollowupID: 393664

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:02

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:02
Thanks for your great response Aaron (garrycol summed it up perfectly). I suppose the automatic height adjustment for speeds over 40kph could be seen as both a positive and a negative.
FollowupID: 393916

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:40

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:40
Hi Wombie

As a financial decision I am sure that you don't need any advice.

As a vehicle, they are obviously great or they wouldn't have won fourby of the year. I guess that we will know more about them in time but all of the current vehicles have their weaknesses and strengths. I would think that if you buy the car of the year which was tested by all those blokes who are drivng cars every day, then you could do worse than listening to them ( worse is probably listening to us -hahahaha).

AnswerID: 140175

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:07

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:07
I think it all comes down to one word Andrew - R E L I A B I L I T Y . If the Discovery has finally found the missing ingredient this vehicle will be a benchmark and if it doesn't we will have to throw it into the pile of automobiles that had unrealised potential. At least the Tucker will have company. It was good to get some real life feedback from people who own them though.
FollowupID: 393920