Another one bites the dust.
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 19:24
AJB
Well it has finally happened. My gu 3-0 litre has suffered major engine failure today. Took off from an
intersection, changed to 2'nd and rattle rattle rattle, heaps of smoke and major loss of power. Pull over lift the bonnet, oil throughout the engine bay and running on 3 cylinders (the other one is destroyed). Am I annoyed? Not really as I had been awaiting it and at least I wasn't out in the middle of no where. So Mr Nissan, add it to your list and other potential buyers go to another brand. .
Reply By: Ken - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:03
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:03
Hi AJB, sorry to hear of your misfortune. What year is it please ?
Ken
Follow Up By: AJB - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:21
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:21
Reply By: muzzimbidgie - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:03
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:03
Glad to hear you were on the black top and not 10 KLM up a beach somewhere.
This is my fear, I realise that
mine may go BANG at some stage but I don't want it to happen while out there in the big yonder...
P.S. how many K's you done ?
Follow Up By: AJB - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:20
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:20
The drearded 2000 model (we didn't know this back then) and it's done 190k so it's had a bit of use. It has been serviced religiously and Ihave had other problems with it. 5th gear, air flow sensors (2), engine shut down/lag on gear change down at times, broken injector lines (2) and a bit more. We all get lemons some time in life and now it is my time!
Reply By: muzzimbidgie - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:27
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 20:27
Problem is there are a lot of lemons out there with a Patrol badge, some have gone bang, some are yet to go bang.
Contact Nissan HO and see what they say, otherwise it might a good time to fit one of those chevy V8 jobbies.
Follow Up By: Dave ....Adelaide - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 22:52
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 22:52
"Problem is there are a lot of lemons out there with a Patrol badge"
I own a NISSAN , it has a 4.2 turbo diesel , not the poxy 3litre french job, and i dont any probs with it ........Cheers ...DAVE
Follow Up By: muzzgit (WA) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 01:12
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 01:12
That's good Dave, I'm happy for you.
But like I said...........
"Problem is there are a lot of lemons out there with a Patrol badge"
Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 18:08
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 18:08
Dave,
I can't believe you would be so insensitive regarding AJ's plight.
"I own a NISSAN , it has a 4.2 turbo diesel , not the poxy 3litre french job, and i dont any probs with it ........Cheers ...DAVE "
If you didn't FRENCH FOOT around with your 4.2 you would realise it too has shortcummings, but this is not about you and your wonderful Nissan this is about AJ's misfortune.
My 2 bobs worth.
Muzz,
I reckon your on the right track with the Chevvy comment. I also think you are right about the Nissan Lemons comment.
Cheers Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:40
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:40
Daves right but, the TD42 is a proven donk. The 3L has a long way to go before it has the same reputation.
However, do agree that all car companies put out lemons once in a while. Would never buy series 1.
Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 22:55
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 22:55
Chris,
The only proven thing in my books about the 4.2 turbo GU (around 2000 yr model anyway) is that the 5th gear problems are real and the overheating problems are real and my point was to Dave not to rub in someones (in hindsight) bad luck in car choice when his vehicle will show it's shortcummings if he used it to the potential it is sold for. That is: try towing a 3.5t trailer into a headwind across the Nullabor while the vehicle is also loaded and see how far you get before you are slowing your driving experience to suit the temp gauge, which in my opinion is what the manufacturers should be made do before they put outlandish towing specs on such an incapable vehicle. I had/have? on tape a Nissan head honcho (who I will not name) tell me "the 4.2 turbo GU is not designed for towing all day, only on weekends to pony club ect" but if you ask the sales people who sell them, there is no better tow vehicle.
Anyway I'm rambling off the subject as usual, nice talking with you again Chris.
Cheers Trevor.
Follow Up By: Dave ....Adelaide - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 01:16
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 01:16
Trevor
I wasnt aware that i was being insensitive to AJs plight
"I can't believe you would be so insensitive regarding AJ's plight."
but you obviously know me better than i do myself, as for frenchfooting around , your welcome to come frenchfooting with me any time you like , and for your info , i regularly tow a caravan around the country and have never had probs with overheating......so dont mistake the way i drive my vehicle for the way you obviously drive yur own. My comment was based on Muzzumbidgies comment NOT AJs........
My 2 bobs worth ...cheers Dave
Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:16
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:16
It's not to late to try Nissan AJ ! Just be nice - after the initial rebuff (expected I suggest), go back again and point out that such motors are expected to give a lot more than 5 years before they go bang (if ever) - and you have fussed over yours -the market place expects that you would get a lot more than those 5 years and 190k - its why you bought it - for the long haul (you could say). Anyway - in suppprt of the aforementioned, keep in mind that my 91 Mazda Bravo was 8 years old when the paint starting falling off a number of panels (UV damage) - a car painter I saw suggested that he'd seen others similarly affected - I got onto them and they had the panels stripped back and re-done in pro quality paint - I paid half. Should have been none for
mine, but an acceptable deal - it was dodgy paint and they knew it - not even they would suggest that the paint might just peel off after 8 years - I know that the $ levels are vastly different, but you should have a case of some sort there. While "asking nicely" it would be a huge assett to have some first hand evidence re the numbers of owners they have already assisted, re the lemon motor. BOL.
Follow Up By: angler - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 22:49
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 22:49
It does happen, and with other as
well. My disco started to rust badly due to paint failure after two years and Mr L/R didn't want to know about it. Standard answer, "out of warranty" I investigated and found paint was covered for five years in almost every other country bar Australia.
I ended up doing the repair job myself and it worked out very
well.
You would think with all the oil leaks there would be no rust in a disco.
Sorry about the Nissan, I have an auto 2003 model and I certainly hope all the stories are true about there being no problems with the series three. Same as those who purchased the series four, and there are many.
One thing to remember is the price difference between nissan and the other one is close to 20 grand and that will sure pay for a couple of engines anyway. Add to that the economy and you are still way on front.
If Mr Nissan brings out a TD42 with an auto I will be in there for one. Until then I wil enjoy my 3 litre.
Follow Up By: Scoey - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 09:55
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 09:55
2000 Patrol 5sp 3.0TD New $42,990
2000 Landcruiser 5sp 4.2D 100 Series New $49,850
How many engines do you reckon you'd get for $6860?
Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 13:57
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 13:57
Not saying I agree with the point of the argument but a more valid comparison would be:
2000 Patrol ST 3.0 TD Manual $46,990
2000 Cruiser GXL 4.2 TD Manual $64,990 (not sure if A/C is in this)
Delta of $18,000
Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 17:25
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 17:25
$18 difference, big deal. If owner has to pay, I believe a new 3l is in the order of $20k, assuming motor is totaled. I don't know how anyone who owns one of these first series 3lts can go bush with it. It's a disaster waiting to happen, forget 10ks up
the beach, what about 800ks up the Canning? Wonder what would happen if their was a serious incident due to dodgy motor? Ford Exploder on smaller scale?
Matt
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:21
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:21
Troopy. The difference of $18k is nothing, they are usually crying over a few grand between the 4.2 GU and the 3.0!
Poor people cant afford cheap things.
Follow Up By: Scoey - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 07:09
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 07:09
I based my comparison on power/torque figures. The 3.0L TD is more comparable to the 4.2D as opposed to the 4.2TD. Not the standard/optional accessories. I'd buy a fourby that goes
well not one that has nice trim. ;-) Sorry, being smart now! Fair cop!
But really it's like comparing apples to oranges or apples to mandarins. Or as someone previously said - lemons! ;-) I guess I just like my apples!
Scoey!
Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 12:33
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 12:33
TroopyTracker posted this followup
$18 difference, big deal. If owner has to pay, I believe a new 3l is in the order of $20k, assuming motor is totaled. I don't know how anyone who owns one of these first series 3lts can go bush with it.
G'day TroopyTracker, let me introduce myself. My name is Dave O. There now you know someone who has a 3L and goes bush with it.
Maybe I should introduce my mate Bryan who took his to the Kimberly across the Tanami with me. There now you know two!
Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 17:02
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 17:02
David O,
As a EO reader you would notice threads almost identical to this popping up evey month or so, you own one of the affected vehicles (?) and you still go to out of the way
places with it? Maybe if you had no idea about the problems I could understand. Honestly if I had a early 3l and found out their history it'd be 4 sale in a second.
Matt
Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 17:16
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 17:16
TroopyTracker
I do not know oe to answer your quaestion because the information is that "affected vehicles" may be anything but GUIII. I own a GUII.
I was merely pointing out your rash generalisation attempt. You don't know anyone who has one of these and goes bush, therefore there must be some truth in the rumour that they are so unreliable that people won't go bush in them.
well I know plenty that go bush.
When I owned a Rangie, everyone told me it would be hoplessly unrelaible and no good for serious outback travel, what a load of $%#@! It did more outback travel than any vehicle I know of, and reliably. I'd like a dollar for every Toyota that has broken down on trips I've been on, but I don;t call them unreliable.
There is a problem with the GUI, but it must be possible to solve, since no Renaults in europe suffer the same fate. Also how many GUI have sold, versus how many have broken? Yes I agree there is a problem. Would I go bush with one- YEP Absolutely!!!
Dave O
Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 19:07
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 19:07
Read my first post , then read it again. I said- " I don't know HOW anyone who owns one of these FIRST SERIES 3lts can go bush with it."
Not I don't know anyone, and not all 3l patrols. So, wrong, and not your model so chill.
Didn't they recall this motor in some Euro countries?-read it here once I'm sure. If they haven't, they should there and here. To be fair I think Toyota should recal all IFS 100 series and fix the problem-they can't even admit it though let alone fix it. Nissan same attitude though according to some ie. "what problem with the 3l motor?"!!!! How many sold vs how many broken? Who can know, not every owner is a member here and Nissan arn't about to publish figures.
No doubt you would see more broken down Toyotas than RR's. Don't suppose that could have something to do with the fact there's probably 1000 times more Toyotas out there? I'm honestly not in love with any make really, I think the old Rangies have lots of character and set bench marks for all others so long ago. Hope you enjoy your "non explosive" 3l for many k's to come.
Matt
Reply By: ats11279 - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:37
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 21:37
Just in the process of buying a Navara with the 3.0l, spoke to a mate who's a service manager at a Nissan dealership, she said there were some problems with the Patrol and something to do with an oil feed and the intercooler?! Apparently they melt a hole in number 2 or 3 piston! Nissan do a rebuild kit now. Anthony.
Follow Up By: muzzgit (WA) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 00:37
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 00:37
The thing we would like to know Anthony, if you don't mind asking your mate for us, is, who pays for the kit and who pays for the labor and what kind of waranty? Lots of us with this motor are concerned that because we are one or two years out of waranty, if things go wrong Nissan are gonna leave us in the lurch.
5 years life expentancy is pathetic, and personally I think every early model 3.0 patrol should have a warning notice under the bonnet........"WARNING. ENGINE MAY FAIL WITHOUT NOTICE"
Maybe this is why lots of car yards have heaps of early model 3.0 patrols??????
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 03:13
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 03:13
From reading this and other forums It seems nissan HAD been pretty good at sorting out blown donks but some of the posts coming through suggests that now alot of them are 5+ years old they are either refusing or only partly warrantying the failures on the older 3l
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 09:55
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 09:55
she said there were some problems with the Patrol and something to do with an oil feed and the intercooler?!
that would be reason #19480382309842039482039203948-iv
Follow Up By: ats11279 - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 09:06
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 09:06
muzzgit, if the vehicle is out of warranty, it's out of warranty! Nissan would not pay for anything they don't have to, and in my opinion they do not care who owns what after their warranty expires as that is the life expectancy they put on their product (as do every other manufacturer). The warning sticker is probably a good idea, but it should be placed under the bonnet of every vehicle as they all may die at any time. I am in the trade, used to work at dealerships and see this regularly. I understand concerns over this motor, that's why i got an extended warranty when i purchased the vehicle and will trade the vehicle in when that expires, so i'll just wait and see what problems come along, and let Nissan pay for them! Anthony.
Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 09:22
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 09:22
AJB..Mate,so sorry to hear of this..We had Patrol for seven yrs towed tons with it..Gasoline donk..Never saw a spanner..Great,solid rig..One of the 4x4 mags features a Toy swb that was for real offroad use (read radical) so they put all Patrol drive train under it..Gives you and idea of the respect Nissan has gained in this area..Back to your problems,I have noticed several posts here over recent months,re turbo problems (not really a part of the motor,like the radiator?) mostly originating,apparently,in the seals area,then causing bearing failure.Blowing blue smoke and running on after switch-off are some of the obvious symptoms..Could oil from a failed turbo have caused "hydraulicing" of that pot? Is it possible shrapnel from a failure in the turbo has entered the problem combustion chamber/cylinder?..Unless the piston top has seperated at the piston ring groove (always a potential problem area if no radius is incorporated in the engineering of the groove/shoulder),there will be a simple cause for this failure:Some could be:Govenor failure=over-revving:Lubrication failure:Over-heating at some earlier time in the life of the motor:Loaned the rig to some-one who is a "donk killer"( I've been down that road):Fuel not suitable for that vehicle/motor combination..Hope you don't buy a "Kindy Kar" with the spare wheel tucked down under,limiting your use for any real bush tracks..Kaymar will be your friend after you
fork out the many extra hundreds dollars..!MPG:4!
Follow Up By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 17:34
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 17:34
Caterpillar designed / supplied the injection system in the current 3.0L Isuzu diesel in the Jackaroo - the salesman may have been confused re the make - when they are NOT confused, but still don't know anything about the subject at hand - they just keep talking of course - :-)
Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:25
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:25
A couple of years ago I was looking at buying a Patrol and I raised the question of engine failures with the sale man. He told me that the engine had been redesigned by Catepiller (spelling?) to overcome the problem. Doesn't help you but I would be interested to hear if anyone else has heard this as
well.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 13:48
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 13:48
Sounds like "Typical" Salesman's crap to me.
First I have ever heard that one.