rules for camping in northwest

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 10:36
ThreadID: 28156 Views:3244 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
First timers to Oz, will be treking northwest from Perth June, July, August, 2006. We plan to buy a 4WD SUV and rent an off road camper-trailer. So what are the rules on camping in the Northwest? We usually spend time in Baja, you can pretty much camp anywhere you want there. No, we are not into "caravan parks". Prefer to stay on the beach, isolated...

Reply By: myfourby - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 11:01

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 11:01
WA do not like you to stay out of caravan parks where possible.

In general, if you are within 100kms of a caravan park - you will most likely be asked to move on.

AnswerID: 139765

Follow Up By: joc45 - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 14:05

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 14:05
I recall it's within 16km (10 miles) from a town/caravan park where camping is not allowed.

Gerry
FollowupID: 393439

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 14:24

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 14:24
Myforby,
You sound like you are associated with the c/park industry, they tried this trick in Qld and then found they didnt have enough park spaces for 1/2 the people they conned, so if you can find a quiet road side or somewhere else to camp Dagoboy go for it, and dont forget if some big mouth comes along and orders you to move, ask him for his authority as caravan park owners have been known to do this for there own benefit.
Your defence for this is to have a bad migrain headache and dont feel capable of driving safely, no one can force you back onto the road to drive if you have pulled over because you didnt feel well, even if you will be there all night to get over it !

FollowupID: 393440

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 01:34

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 01:34
I spent a month camping in the W and NW in a campervan and yes in popular areas fines are threatened by sighns for camping anything up to 1000 bucks around shark bay. I just ignored them all and tried to park in quite spots - didnt spend a cent. Only time I had it mentioned was when I camped at some place near exmouth when a ranger was going round collecting fees. He asked me if i had camped I said yes, He had a bit of a chat about the weather then left.
Someone really needs to shake this rule up because IF THERE IS NO VICTIM THERE IS NO CRIME
FollowupID: 393580

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 01:37

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 01:37
Oh I did once get Busted in the Porongerup NP (no camping) I got up early just in case but not early enough, there was 2 notes on the windscreen one suggesting I use the caravan park in future then another telling me I better pay on the way out (for entering the NP) I dont reckon I sleep heavily but he had come to my van 2wice without me hearing
FollowupID: 393581

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 07:43

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 07:43
Look for "station stays" - i.e. Barn Hill - south of Broome - Cape Keduren(?) north of Port Hedland (Port H is not the prettiest place - and the caravan parks are pricey and full especially at that time of the year) - though I reckon 80 Mile Beach caravan park is well worth a stopover- with cappucino and fresh baked cakes and bread rolls in the little shop -
if you plan to go inland at all - head for Karrijini National Park - absolutely gorgeous - the campgounds are run by camp hosts - Dales Gorge is the most easily accessible - and the camping is in a bush setting - no power, water etc - pit toilets and a gas bbq and gas ring setup in the middle of each camp circle - the other camp Savannah - is on a corrugated gravel road - though they have bush showers (solar I think) - which don't worry us as we have our own set up to shower.
Another terrific place is Murchison Gorge National Park - outside Kalbarri - do the gorge loop walk - only about 8k - but fantastic - and pretty easy as well - just a little bit of scrambling - a guy who was camped near us in Kalbarri only had one leg and he did it with his family and his crutch - took twice as long as us but he did it.
Don't just stick to the coast - do some of the inland - it is what that part of the world is all about - the best colours you will ever see.
jules
FollowupID: 393595

Reply By: Browser - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 11:40

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 11:40
Hi Dagoboy,

This link should take you to the West Australian Department of Conservation and Land Management (CALM) site. It has some useful information on camping in WA National Parks. WA Camping (hopefully the link will work, if not try http://www.naturebase.net/tourism/camping.html ).
AnswerID: 139767

Reply By: Well 55 - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 12:06

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 12:06
There are a lot of areas where you can prop free for a few days. Get a book called free camping.
AnswerID: 139771

Follow Up By: Dagoboy - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:02

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 15:02
Thanks well55 I just happened to find that book in the Explor Oz shop. What agreat website.
FollowupID: 393449

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 13:43

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 13:43
If Indonesians can come into our waters and rape our fish stocks and a Naval Vessel cannot even touch them,,,,,, well it's pretty sad if an "AUSSIE" cant even sleep a night in the bush without being hassled for $6 or so...
What a joke.....
AnswerID: 139781

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 01:12

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 01:12
Hey Vox,

You are so right there, Yah gotta remember that the Indo cops are very thorough though, they keep finding drugs as small as two pills but aren't able to spot a couple of clowns with backpacks full of bang gear, makes you laugh (not that I'm condoning drugs etc)

I heard that if you tell the authorities your tired and can't drive any further, they can't move you. If you had a bingle after being moved their liable, (just not sure how many days "weeks" you can be tired for) LOL
FollowupID: 393574

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 08:10

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 08:10
If George B was out there on the boat,,, i am sure they wouldnt just be firing a warning shot across the bow...
I will use the "tired" excuse,,, so long as it isnt 8am.. lol...
FollowupID: 393598

Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 17:11

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 17:11
Mate, for some reason WA is a horrendously over-governed nanny state now. I've reached the point where I ignore the silly rules and live by a simple 'do unto others' credo eg: don't be an idiot, don't make a mess, don't irritate other folks, don't wash in rivers, don't wreck the bush etc. Much better. Let the wowsers and bum shiners tut tut to themsleves and camp wherever you'll be out of the way IMHO.

The Gt Northern Hwy has some great areas to check out from Cue onwards. Lots of old mining areas, spectacular ranges etc. Maybe have a look on a map and ring a few station owners to ask if you can camp on their lease. Some will tell you to get stuffed, some will say OK. Just ask around. This site is a great source of info as are the numerous 4x4 clubs.

If you're worried, budget a bit in for a fine or two to keep the Nazi's happy, leave wherever you stay cleaner than it was when you got there, and have fun. It's a great place, enjoy it!
AnswerID: 139796

Reply By: OLDMAGPIE - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:17

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:17
rule 1; make sure esky is always full of beer & wine
rule two; make sure esky is always on & just above freezing
rule 3; do not use caravan parks except coral bay, you have no choice there.
rule 4; go swimming every day
rule 5; sleep under the stars for one night a week not in the camper
rule 6;make sure esky is always full of beer & wine, hang on i allready said that
rule 7; make sure esky is full

AnswerID: 139833

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 01:40

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 01:40
camped at coral bay for 2 nights in my camper - just parked down at the beach - Needed a key for the showers though:( (only caravan park that you did all over the NW)
FollowupID: 393582

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:58

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 20:58
We haven't got as far as the Kimberley yet, nor been to the inland desert areas, so can't speak for those. but throughout the south west, wheat belt and Pilbara have found it so easy to find a nice secluded spots to camp. In the South, watch for things like old gravel pits, or tracks into unfenced bush. Rivers are "public" property to high water mark. In the North near rivers there is usually tracks off the road and good opportunities. We've done it with from tent, to back of Ute, small fold up camper van to full sized caravan. I know you are meant to ask the pastoralists before camping on stations, but you never know who they are or where to find them, and being unfenced land, pulling off the road is easy. We do no harm and leave no trace other than tyre prints.

Once we had gone down a track to a beach somewhere North of Quobba, fished at the beach to no avail, and were sitting at our table having tea with the generator running, and our gear around us as we would put it on the ground to roll out the swag on the back of the Ute. We heard a vehicle coming, and thought maybe a station proprietor was after us - but the holidaying people coming to fish that evening said "You'll bloody freeze - we bloody froze when we camped here last year". We didn't - it was a glorious camp spot overlooking the ocean and the bright star in a clear NW sky.

The only time we were ever remotely challenged, was not far North of Cape Le Grande NP in January. The CALM run beach side spots were full so we moved inland and pulled off into a bit of bush near a fenced blue gum plantation. Next morning a wildlife ranger came and told us we were in a nature reserve (it was not signed at all), and it was illegal to camp in a nature reserve. He asked were we staying long and we said no, we were leaving that morning (we were just about ready to leave). He then more or less said - just don't stop where you can be seen from the road.

On another forum, i read of someone being actually moved on and stopped from camping in the Augusta shire - that is the only case i have heard of in WA.

We have long distacnes to travel in WA, and unless you are camped right on the edge of a town with facilites, you can always plead tiredness, and that you will be leaving first thing next morning. It is also unsafe to travel at night in much of WA due to kanagaroos and other livestock. Wide open state with plenty of room to camp. Enjoy it.

AnswerID: 139845

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:38

Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:38
Be very careful where you camp out in spots where the local idiots get out and drink till they are too stupid to know the difference and wake you up and cause mayhem in th e middle of the night...no not the indigenous people ..they don't hassle you ..just the local hoons and bleep pots that go out of their way to upset travellers and wake them up for booze...yep it happens out there and is no fun when you least expect it !!! been there, done that and won't be back again for a long time ...probably never !! And some day my missus will let you know what she has to say about them all !!...
AnswerID: 139850

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 01:44

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 01:44
Yep when i was young and dumb any travellers found camping along a dirt road or in the nearby parking bays round town would be treated to a donut or 8
FollowupID: 393584

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 07:30

Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 07:30
Yes I agree with this - hasn't happened to us luckily, but heard of a couple being harassed by "local yokels" to the point where they barricaded themselves into their van - the yokels proceeded to steal their equipment - stove, fridge, chainsaw etc. Onwe of the best ideas is to ask fellow travellers for their recommendations whilst on the road - the knowledge is usually current and you can find some treasures of spots, and even though we all want that bit of solitude - try and camp where others are camped - even if it is only one other camped. Most of all enjoy this beautiful country, wish I was still on the road.......oh well maybe soon again.
jules
FollowupID: 393593

Reply By: Member - Ray - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:00

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:00
Supprised no-one has mentioned it yet, but the best investment you can make is to but a couple of books.
1. A guide to Priceless campsites in the North of Western Australia by Jan Holland.
2. Camps Australia Wide Version 3
AnswerID: 140170