I have a turbo diesel pajero with no
snorkel. i am going to put a
snorkel on it for when i do
water crossings. my question is, does putting a
snorkel on a turbo diesel make any difference to power or fuel economy? my thoughts are no as i figure the turbo is forcing the air in anyway far greater than a
snorkel. that said i assume some benefit would be seen at low revs before the
snorkel has kicked in. any constructive answers would eb greatly appreciated.
thanks
peter
Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:43
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 21:43
My fuel consumption increased, albeit only marginally, after installing a
snorkel.
Reply By: Billowaggi - Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 23:17
Thursday, Nov 17, 2005 at 23:17
Apart from performance , snorkels can increase induction noise in the cab, especially with a diesel.
Regards Ken.
Reply By: RobEG - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 00:18
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 00:18
No experience myself but a chippie mate with a 3l patrol ute says his fuel consumption improved 10% - mostly highway running
Reply By: kev.h - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 10:37
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 10:37
depends on the way you fit up the snorkle
1. if you leave all the baffles and air dam boxes of the original induction systes and feed the snorkle into them you increase the suction on the turbo-Result may increase fuel usage at low speed marginally but will not increase the cabin noise by much
2.chuck out all the plastic bits from under the guard and connect the snorkle direct to the air cleaner - Result slightly more power at speed ,may improve fuel use and increases cabin noise
I opted for option 2. but mainly because the all the possible extra
places to get
water leaks in the original induction system most bits are just pushed together and not sealed properly the small increase in cabin noise is a small price to pay for the comfit of knowing i have the minimum
places to get
water in
Also depends if you do heaps of
water crossings ? I have
water over the bonnet quite often
Regards Kev
Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 11:02
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 11:02
I am thinking about doing this myself, what brand snork are you getting?
Reply By: Wizard1 - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 13:27
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 13:27
I played arounbd with cold air induction on a few cars (petrol of course) and couldn't see the harm in providing some extra cold air to my TD. I saw no advantage in the air being taken in from behind the head lights through a gap the size of a golf ball and the advantage of the larger volume of air entering directly though the
snorkel intake with a surface area twice that of the original system.
Plus you go through
water with more confidence!
PS. I get no induction noise either.
Reply By: Patrol2 - Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 19:10
Friday, Nov 18, 2005 at 19:10
Put a
snorkel on the 3ltr Nissan and tried hard to find a decrease in fuel consumption. Really made no difference, but did increase the induction noise.
Cooler air from higher altitude would also seem to be a good sales pitch, like its going to be cooler 1 meter higher!
Will help with hydraulic lock so long as all the connection points are
water tite.