Digital Radio Error mode
Submitted: Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 14:11
Willem
The battery on the Xtrail went flat and the radio went into limp mode.
Now that the little car is running again SWMBO pressed some buttons incorrectly and the Radio has gone in to ERROR mode. The instructions says to leave everything off for 60 minutes and then try again when CODE should appear so that the correct Security Pin can be punched in. Did this.
Trouble is that the ERROR letters are still flashing on the screen. Have disconnected battery and reconnected again to no avail. Instruction manual does not have Troubleshooting list. We are 120km from the nearest Nissan Dealer.
Any ideas out there?
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 14:19
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 14:19
Hell! Willem, sounds like you have had a touch of the 'Bonz fumble fingers' mate.
Went the batteries flatten for whatever reason on 'new age' vehicles, all sorts of little intricacies can happen appear.
It might be an idea to wait until Monday and give the Nissan Gurus a ring in Port Augutta or Pirrie, explain the error code etc and they may be able to assist.
A guy at work had something similar on a new Ford and had to eventually have it connected up to a Ford software reprogrammer (hand held thing) that took a couple of minutes to fix it all.
I just love this new stuff, thats why I am terrified of the thought that I may have to take the JEEP off road one day.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 14:29
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 14:29
Thanks Ken Will ring the mob in Pirie on Monday
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:26
Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:26
Willem, further to Ken's post you may need to disconnect power from it to reset it. We have a good (otherwise good) radio in the Falcon ute that requires resetting every three to four weeks. Just slide it out of the rails and unplug for a few hours.
Not suggesting the Nissan could ever supply one that needs 'hours' but it could help reset it. Reckon you couldn't have the Bonza touch though Bro. Keeps changing hands or fingers to get cuts in them. Latest with a power saw on the end of the thumb.. gawww
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:36
Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:36
Hi Bro
See my reply to Dave below
"I left the ACC ignition switch on and the radio on with the ERR readout flashing for 60 minutes and it then changed to CODE and I was able to punch the PIN in successfully. It all works again."
If all else fails READ THE INSTRUCTIONS LOL
Poor Bonzzzzzzzzzzz He wont do that again...Or will he?
Reply By: Dave ....Adelaide - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 14:23
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 14:23
Hi Willem
My son has a Navara, he recently had same prob, but in his case he actually had to have his radio off with ignition on for 60 mins.....worked for him ....cheers DAVE
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 16:04
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 16:04
Thanks Dave
I left the ACC ignition switch on and the radio on with the ERR readout flashing for 60 minutes and it then changed to CODE and I was able to punch the PIN in successfully. It all works again. SWMBO is very pleased indeed.
Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 14:34
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 14:34
Hi Dave
Mant thanks for pointing that out to me. I have just re-read the instructions and that is indeed what it says. Funny how one can misread stuff. So I will go back at 3pm and try to insert the PIN again.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 15:15
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 15:15
(1) Don't drink white lightening during that hour.
(2) Also use a PIN and not a Pin.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 15:21
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 15:21
Hahahahahahaha There is not renough rocket fuel left to get pie-eyed!!
Follow Up By: Dave ....Adelaide - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 21:59
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 21:59
No probs Willem , glad i could help .........Cheers ....Dave
Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 19:01
Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 19:01
OOH WHAT A FEELING-----TOYOTA !!!
Cheers have fun
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 20:40
Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 20:40
Whats that supposed to mean, George? Toyotas dont have digital radios? :o)
Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 23:44
Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 23:44
Just having a dig Willem, it happens to all of us no matter what make
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:41
Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:41
Hey old fella, All this new fangled technology is so hard to keep up with, Eh!!!
Who would have thought that turning on the ignition would make such a difference. ROTFLMAO.
Reply By: Member - JD - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 10:18
Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 10:18
Hi Willem,
My pet hate, is I get all worked up thinking this going to cost a fortune..just to relise the answer was under my nose all the time !! I get worried thought when I look down and only see my moustache..LOL
Instructions who needs them..Ido.
JD4WDActivist