You kidding ?
AnswerID: 140070

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 14:49

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 14:49
just looking for little tricks you might like to share Steve
FollowupID: 393825

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 21:17

Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 21:17
Buy them in tins and be happy you have more room in the fridge for beer :)
AnswerID: 140075

Reply By: Woobla (WA) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 21:42

Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 21:42
Hi Brian,
Go to the "on the road" section (in Blue) at the top of your screen and then select "food and Water" there are some really good hints down the bottom you may be able to use.
But I agree with the previous comment....dont use the beer space for vegies Never!!!
Jeff
AnswerID: 140078

Reply By: Mama June - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 22:26

Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 22:26
Hello Brian
Yes, I agree with the "On the Road" "Food and Water" info. We have tried and tested that wrapping individual carrots and potatoes in newspaper works OK, provided they are stored out of sunlight in a coollish spot. It's a bit of work doing the wrapping in the first place but if you like your vegies then this is a good way to go. We then use packets of dried peas.
I'm glad my husband doesn't drink beer - I've got more room in the Engel for my Chardonnay!
June
AnswerID: 140084

Reply By: ellmcg - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 22:41

Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 22:41
Don't bother with lettuce!!!!

I'm not sure any fresh vegies will last that long... But if you're going to try having them for the first part of the trip, I think selection is the key - things that aren't going to get bruised beyond eating.

After that, have you got a fridge you can run as a freezer? That way you can just get out what you need for the night each morning, and let it defrost in an esky.
AnswerID: 140087

Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:48

Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 23:48
Those green vegetable storage bags are good. Made by a company called "Robs", Gelpack Industries, 428-430 Princes Highway, Noble Park, Victoria. I use 'em a lot when I go out prospecting.

Wrapping in newspaper & store in the dark is good but I reckon the bags are better.

Substitute raw cabbage for lettuce in a salad - tastes great. And if it doesn't - just get used to it!

Lettuce last about 2 days max, cabbage lasts about 10 days.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 140097

Reply By: greybeard - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 00:48

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 00:48
cotton bags, out of the sun on something soft ( we used to pack them amoung the towels. ) you can keep spuds, carrots, onions fresh for weeks. never bothered with individual wrapping of vegies.
if they bounce around they will damage and bruise.

lettuce kept in a similar spot, coolish and out of the sun in a tupperware container with a piece of paper towel in it. keeps fresh for over a week.

we travelled around oz back in '87 from top to bottom, east to west.

make sure all vegies are good quality, fresh and undamaged. enjoy
AnswerID: 140108

Reply By: Wok - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 02:12

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 02:12
Brian,

Munch them up in a food processor, vacuum seal in daily portions, freeze @ home & keep them in the car freezer compartment....

Ok......I'm bored :)

eng
AnswerID: 140109

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 13:08

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 13:08
Thanks to all those that answered. We do wrap them And keep them in a box
We have found Carrots hard . And we use dried Peas,Corn,Beans. Was just wondering what little tricks others use.Cheers
AnswerID: 140126

Reply By: kesh - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 15:14

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 15:14
We only shop every 2-3 weeks when working (w. qld.) so keeping the vegies going is pretty paramount. (cant afford the fridge space!)
Hav an old fashiond meat safe, plenty of air circulation. Put a wet bag over it, keep it at least damp, and potatoes, onions, cabbage keep really well. Other things like carrots, pumpkin go soft fairly quickly. We plan our meals days ahead so that loss is kept to a minimum.
kesh

AnswerID: 140140

Reply By: Dagoboy - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 15:18

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 15:18
Brian,
Try Evert-Fresh bags, we use them on our extended (six month long) trips to Baja, Mexico. They are made of a material which removes the damaging gases that are produced during the ripening process after harvest. In addition they reduce moisture buildup, stopping bacteria, fungus and mold. In a fridge you can keep carrots fresh for up to 60 days.
We do not use any refrigeration on our trips (just another thing to break and have to fix). We use the bags for tomatoes, bell peppers, cabbage, carrots, onions. We have not had much success with fruits, although the manufacturer says it works with fruit.
We use a large cardboard box, put down a double layer of newspaper, then put in our potatoes, citrus fruits and avocados(bagless). next we put in our stuff in the bags, try to make sure the heavy and hard is on the bottom, tomatoes and softer on top. Last goes bananas (bagless) on top then another double layer of newspaper.
Generally our goods last 10 days to two weeks sometimes even longer. try to keep the box in a cool dry place, even dig a hole under the trailer or something. Last but not least try to make sure you buy goods that have not been overly refrigerated by the grocers.
Evert-Fresh Corp.
PO Box 5
Katy, Texas 77492
USA
Tel 979-885-0340
www.evertfresh.com
PS we use them until they wear out completely (years and years), we're coming to West Oz in March for six months, be glad to bring some extras if you can't get ahold of them.
AnswerID: 140141

Follow Up By: Dagoboy - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 15:30

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 15:30
Oh yeah, Be diligent in checking for damaged spots and use those veggies up first, also I dry em off with a paper towel if any start to get wet. And when I said 10 days to two weeks, I mean in the heat of the summer desert, much longer if your in a temperate climate.
FollowupID: 393826

Reply By: Jodi - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:26

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:26
Fresh food on a three week camping trip?? I'd like to see that. We generally seal most of our stuff into individual portions in those zip seal sandwich bags - this is great for keeping meat juices out of the esky water and keeping the butter dry as well. For longer trips, I cook up the vegies before we go into soups, mash etc and vaccuum seal into individual portions. Take some vitamin pills with you, that way if you don't get the vegie thing happening, then the pills can still help with the hangover.
AnswerID: 140207

Follow Up By: Dagoboy - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 12:24

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 12:24
Jodi,
Ain't lying. Notice I said it takes a bit of diligence, and some experience figuring out what types of fruit and veggies work for you, and what items are best available locally.
As for meat juices, one trip, a buddy was draining the cooler (esky?)water into one of my jerry cans, for his dogs to drink. After the trip, a few weeks later, he gave me back the can. I cracked it open and gave it a whiff, about puked and passed out on the lawn!!! Boy that meat juice can go BAD.
If you're going on short duration, a month or less, camping trips the pre-packaging, and and esky are great. But we've travelled for six months to one year in Baja, and Mainland Mexico, five different times and many more trips of shorter duration. We use no esky, and no fridge, honestly tried to make them work, but its a pain to always be worrying about finding ice, or fixing the fridge. We didn't figure it all out by ourselves credit goes to alot of people sharing ideas!!!!!
FollowupID: 393908

Follow Up By: Jodi - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 12:33

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 12:33
Hi Dagoboy,

I agree that my solutions tend to work for a couple of weeks or less, We have just got ourselves and engle to even esky 'juices' will no longer be a bother for us.

As for travelling for longer periods, friends of ours completed a lap of Australia about 18 months ago now. I have it on good advice from them that they got their fresh meat vaccuum sealed by the butcher when they hit a town, the meat then spent up to a couple weeks under the car seat before being eaten (and this was in the far nth in hot weather). It was from them that I got the idea of vaccuum sealing and it's benefits for keeping the esky clean. Not sure that I'd be happy to let it live that long under the car seat in hot weather, but it seems that they did not once get crook.
FollowupID: 393911

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:06

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:06
We use a plastic box inside the canopy. Then line it with cardboard, and use cardboard and newspaper to separate the fruit and veg. We find the following on a trip where the weathers not too hot (eg october in the desert)

spuds: 3 weeks easily
carrots: 1 week - we'd rather keep them in the fridge as they go soft very quick.
tomatos: 2-3 weeks if kept in their gladwrapped tray
snowpeas: 2 weeks
broccoli: 1-2 weeks
onions 2 weeks
corn on cob: 1-2 weeks
apples and oranges: 3 weeks
kiwifruit: 3 weeks, but keep them in the gladwrapped tray

peas: tinned or surprise
Cauliflower: frozen

We took the extra engel as a freezer on the last trip for 3 weeks and the frozen mixed veg, cauliflower, broccoli and fish etc was very good.

phil
AnswerID: 140234