GU 3.0 engine failure owners.....

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 11:52
ThreadID: 28228 Views:3502 Replies:11 FollowUps:14
Hi Guys,
Had me some spare time yesterday and started wondering.....

all these blown 3ltr engines in the "EARLY" GU's.......when Nissan replaces them with series 3 engines..(i'm assuming that what they are doing now).

How can one tell if its got a series III engine when checking them out in car yards.

Is there a genuine Nissan stamping on the vehicles and if so ..where is it.?

Reason for asking..... I was thinking MAYBE...some of these car yards dont actually know the engine has been replaced and i believe its a great bargining tool for a smart buyer.
Hope that makes sence guys..
Ange

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 13:51

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 13:51
Very good point.
It will be interesting to see what we find out.

AnswerID: 140131

Follow Up By: hl - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 14:14

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 14:14

Look under the turbo towards the engine block, if you see wires going to an oil sensor then it is a later spec engine. The early engines do not have this sensor.
There are actually a lot of the older engines about with significant km's on them (I have seen a few with around 200,000 km, so don't get too paranoid about this!)

FollowupID: 393821

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 14:20

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 14:20
Is there any thing stamped on the papers.
Or do you just look for wires hanging out of things.

FollowupID: 393822

Reply By: 120scruiser - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 14:12

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 14:12
Hi cokeaddict
I have noticed that on some later ones there is an extra oil sensor under the turbo. It screws into the banjo bolt that secures the oil feed to the turbo. I initially thought that was the easiest sign that it was a later engine however
the last one we had changed for one of our customers, it had a new engine fitted earlier this year, it didn't have that sensor so I'm buggered if I know.
I have a few customers with later models and one with an early model. I just need to fluke it and have both in on the same day so I can study them both.

If I find out I will post and let everybody know.
AnswerID: 140134

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:06

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:06
Thanks 120scruiser....look fwd to it.
Ange
FollowupID: 393843

Reply By: Sky Pilot - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 14:19

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 14:19
In NSW, if you have an engine change, you have to get a blue slip which is an inspection done that leads to the RTA endorsing the Rego with a new engine number. Ask to see the rego slip for evidene of a change in details - probably would only work the same year as the change was made.
AnswerID: 140135

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:13

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:13
Understand your point mate but, I'm refering to buying one from a car yard, theses blokes wouldnt keep log books for us to see in most cases and besides, Im more interested in how to identify a series III engine in a early GU, I recon some car yards wouldnt have a clue as to the replacement by nissan. To the best of my knowledge, those engine change over papers (blue slip) are organised while car is still in workshop or straight after its picked up by owner, so im guessing its all done legally within a couple of days. Once thats done... the future rego papers will show the new engine number without anyone knowing its been changed.
Ange
FollowupID: 393845

Reply By: kesh - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 15:06

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 15:06
Last year I made some comment about a 2003 3.0l. motor (from Gunnedah) which had blown, this year followed a 2004 3.0l towing a horse float up the Devils Pinch, north of Armidale blowing massive clouds of smoke at about 15kph. Stopped in front of him to ask could I help, was told no, he would get to Qld. somehow, these engine failures seem to keep happening.
I also have made comment regarding what Nissan might do with these low km. blown motors, surely they (at 20 grand a pop) arn't just chucked on the closest landfill?
Well, talking to a local last week, an independant self employed motor mechanic, he told me he rebuilds plenty of these particular engines, strips them down, makes a list of replacement parts required, gets O/N courier delivery, rebuilds, couriers back to destination then awaits the next! Simple isnt it.
Woudn't it be nice to see an official explanation from Nissan Au?
If you had a 3.0l. with a replacement motor, can it be identified by its engine number, prefix etc. or is it all a pig in a poke?
I looked at one last year in an Inverell car yard. It was ex govt. and was (albeit reluctantly) told it had a new motor, but the new number had not yet been ratified by RTA
Quite a whiffy business all round.
kesh
AnswerID: 140139

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 17:16

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 17:16
Someone once posted a link to a website with a few features to identify which series motor is which, tail lights and oil sensor included, and i think a few more things. I have lost the link as it was on my computer that died. Can anyone find it for me again please?

AnswerID: 140146

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 17:39

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 17:39
I think i have found it at last.
http://www.lonards-automotives.com.au/patrol.html

FollowupID: 393833

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 19:04

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 19:04
And people reckon the Discovery is pron to unreliabilty problems. Having read that, I think the Land Rover problems are miniscule by comparison.
FollowupID: 393838

Follow Up By: kev.h - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:40

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:40
Hey Sky Pilot why buy either of them if you know they have inherent problems, but as you said you the landy may be the least of two evils
also if you cant afford to run the 4.2lt you probably cant afford to fix the 3.0 lt
FollowupID: 393855

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 19:03

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 19:03
Ange,

If the car has logbooks surely the engine no. would be diff to that in the logbook, other than that I couldn't tell the exhaust manifold from the inlet manifold :-)) (almost that bad anyway).

Cheers Trevor.
AnswerID: 140157

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:19

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 21:19
Hi Trevor,
Yes I know what ur saying mate, but in most cases log books dont exist in car yards. There are a few reasons why not, one is that they dont want you to contact the original owner and ask them if the vehicle has been involved in a prang or other problems like drowned in salt water, or even asking them how many kms it had when they sold it so u can see if the clock has been tampered with or replaced.

Remember, original owners have nothing to hide once vehicle is sold months ago. I have actually done that with a couple of past sells. I get the call and i tell them the truth, luckily in my case they were both top cars when i owned them.
FollowupID: 393849

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 16:04

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 16:04
Have to agree about original owners haveing nothing to hide. I was the bearer of bad news twice to a couple of people who bought my cruiser after me.
FollowupID: 393934

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 22:22

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 22:22
Hey Ange.. Dont be so silly!

Anyway start the car, see if its bleep out smoke out the back LMAO!
AnswerID: 140181

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 05:28

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 05:28
Hey Truckster,
Good to see you mate. Dont worry..I aint thinking of buying a GU. I am more than happy with my GQ. I was just wondering how to tell if a series III engine was in one of these early GU's. Def a great buy if the yard has no idea its been changed.

You take care.
Ange
FollowupID: 393879

Reply By: JustyWhyalla - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 22:48

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 22:48
Easiest way is to look at the owners manual. Or more correctly the service book. When the vehicle was sold new the engine number, Vin number, original owner and registration number should be in there. Also a good way to see if it was a rental car company that purchased it! Compare this to the engine number stamped on the block. (Of course if the books are missing or the details are missing be cautious) Also a good way of checking the service history actually relates to the vehicle you are buying.
AnswerID: 140185

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 05:26

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 05:26
You missed the critical point mate......car yards dont keep the books in used cars, so ya cant check details or history.
FollowupID: 393878

Follow Up By: JustyWhyalla - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 19:21

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 19:21
Most yards keep the books in a filing cabinet/bookcase inside as you would be amazed how often these go missing. Just ask. (Also not uncommon for people, including new car owners) who haven't had the vehicle serviced to have "lost" the books when they go to trade it in, hoping the lack of maintenance schedules will fool people. (It isn't just the yards that do dirty things!) And by the way, I don't work in a car yard. (However previously did sell new cars) Had a customer tell me once when they picked up their brand new $70 odd thousand dollar cruiser that they were only keeping it 2 years so weren't intending to spend a cent on maintenance, after all it is a new vehicle and the lack of maintenance will be someone elses problem!
FollowupID: 393972

Reply By: roblin - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 16:44

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 16:44
Just something to consider. Aren't the body numbers and engine numbers the same or very similar in new cars. If so, you won't need any paperwork to verify an engine change.

Otherwise, wouldn't the State RTA keep a record of engine changes for the vehicle. This info may be available on request.

most times, the vehicle handbook is in the glove box. The new car dealer may have stamped the relevant info in the front cover of the book. It might be worth looking.

AnswerID: 140262

Follow Up By: JustyWhyalla - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 20:00

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 20:00
Only on Ford's I believe. The 6 cylinder falcon engine number is the same as the last part of the Vin. Doesn't apply to the V8 though.
FollowupID: 393976

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 21:31

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 21:31
Hello

I own a March 2001 GU 3 litre TD Automatic. Just rolled over the 120,000 kms. The truck runs better than new, no smoke, easy to start and no oil usage between changes. My Patrol has been totally reliable.

I use CF 15w-40w multi grade diesel engine oil, which is always changed with a new oil filter at or before 7,500 kms or at 6 months as recommended in the owners manual for vehicles working in hard conditions. I assume that hard conditions include short stop start suburban driving, idling at traffic lights and not always allowing the motor to reach full operating temperature.

I have also done some real 4wd work, but not near enough!

I know of three other GU 3 litre TD vehicles that have completed over 150,000 kms with no engine failures.

I wonder if some of the rumored failures are because SG engine oil has been used. SG or better (SH) must never be used in a GU 3.0 Litre TD, see the owner’s manual. I also wonder how regularly the engine oil and filter have been changed in some vehicles and if a failure to regularly do this has caused some engine failures.

It always pays to check what has been done if you trust your servicing to your friendly mechanic at the service station down the road. Dare I say it but it has been my experience that some Manufacture Dealers have been known to not always do what the book says should be done.

Any one able to comment?

AnswerID: 140499

Follow Up By: 120scruiser - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 21:42

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 21:42
I think you will find Nissan has revised the engine oil to be used in the ZD30 engines.
It is now supposed to be 10w/40 semi synthetic and changed every 5000km.
The owners manual recommends 10w/30 oil and not 15w/40 for better fuel economy and quicker lubrication on start up.
The funny thing is that one of my customers wants me to change his auto transmission oil in a 4.8 petrol patrol. I ring Nissan to get some and their answer was "we don't stock that product" Rang another dealer and same answer.
I asked what they used, not expecting them to answer but they did say they hoped castrol didn't go out of business. They don't even use their own oil in their own workshop. Hmmmmm????????
Yes I know Nissan don't make their own oil but it does make you think.
All ZD30 Patrols in my workshop get 10w/40 semi synthetic with genuine filters every 5000km as per Nissan's press release on oil change.
It makes you wonder.
120scruiser
FollowupID: 394112

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 08:16

Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 08:16
Hi 120scruiser

Thanks for your comments.

Firstly, I will use 10W 40 CF synthetic blend at my next oil change which is due within the next few weeks and I should have said that the oil that the book says must not be used is CG not SG.

Re: the Nissan branded lubricants and coolants.
I have had a similar experience with a Nissan Dealer spare parts section.
They that Nissan Automatic Transmission Fluid and Engine Coolant were so expensive that customers would not be prepared to pay the cost. They didn't even stock it and the Parts Manager could not remember when it was last in stock or how long it would take to get it. He told me that they purchase equivalent products from the big oil companies for their vehicle service and repair section.

It makes me wonder if the Vehicle Manufacturers will ever wake up that customers are not stupid and know when they are being ripped off for genuine parts.

PhilZD30Patrol

AnswerID: 140756