Submitted: Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 17:47
bombsquad
Gday All
Has anyone out there got an opinion on Strongarm Spare wheel carriers and replacement rear bumpers. They look the goods to me in pictures & ar about a grand cheaper than Kaymar(for a GU).
Thanks Andrew.
PS I remember reading Post a while back about a member mooving to
Kununurra in January, from Tassie I think. If your out there, I think you planned to do the drive in about 1-2 weeks. The distance will be no problem, but both the Stuart hwy south of Kathrine and the Vic. highway from Kathrine to
Kununurra is prone to flooding and can be closed for periods of up to 2 weeks or more. This is more common later in the wet (feb/mar/april). My family and I spent 24hrs stuck 130 or so km east of
kununurra last new years. Take food and beer.
Reply By: Old Johno [NSW] - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 21:01
Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 21:01
Bombsquad,
I don't know about Strongarm but I have an Opposite Lock Twin wheel carrier & rear bar on a GU and after a couple of big trips in the bush I havent been able to fault them to date. About a grand cheaper than Kaymar to.
Reply By: VK3CAT - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 21:12
Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 21:12
I had a good look at them at the
Melbourne 4 x 4 show & also went down to the show room to have a better look & to ask a heap of questions.
I have a Kaymar rear wheel carrier with the standard bumper on my 80 series & now need a twin carrier for my second spare owing to fitting a long range
tank.
I liked the high lift jack points.
I liked the options of being able to utilise my Kaymar high lift jack holder & to have an additional plate fitted to the carrier for my Codan 9350 auto tune antenna.
The catches seem quite good and probably easier to operate than the Kaymar ones that I need to close using my foot & my wife can't open or close at all.
I like the neat number plate fitting and number plate lights etc (LEDs)
Note that the Strong Arm does not incorporate a tow bar - not a problem for me as I already have one.
The finish looked pretty good.
The only detractor was that the locking pins on the swinging arms can scratch or mark the bumper if theybare not used correctly.
The price is great
I intend to have one fitted in the new year.
Cheers, Tony.
Reply By: warthog - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 22:47
Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 22:47
How much are these rear bar/carriers? Just out of interest/wishful thinking.
Reply By: Tuff-Trol - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 07:43
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 07:43
I have the Strongarm Duel wheel carrier with an addon to hold an outboard motor
I brought
mine second hand for $500 ..so yeah im absolutly wrapped !!
a buggar to put on by yourself -yes i did
mine- but i have kanga jacked up
mine several times .
Make sure you UPGRADE your springs , the weight of the carrier plus 2 tyres hanging that far our will sag your current springs badly .
I believe that over here in WA they sell for $1850 - $2100 brand new
Opp Locks are around the $2200
peaceout
Follow Up By: warthog - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 10:03
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 10:03
Thanks mate. 500 sounds very reasonable, have to be wrapped with that.
Reply By: fozzy - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 08:49
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 08:49
andrew
have one on td 100 series
very heavy-needed heaviest duty rear king springs
prob need to drill locating hole on bar so can lock
wheels right angle to car as they swing open very wide.
have a jerry can holder which attatches to one of
wheels-adds fair bit of weight out from back of car-prob wouldnt recommend this addition for that reason.
bar seems very solid-good finish and seems very good quality-locking mechanisms very good.
dont really gain much extra clearance at back from them
one side of minre vibrates slightly at times-im assuming that is the bar-possibly bit flimsy on side mounts-hard to describe-one of those things i have to investigate one day.
fozzy
Reply By: 944runner - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 09:06
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 09:06
anyideas where I can look at these in
Adelaide?
Do they have a website we can see them?
Reply By: goodpal50 - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 18:30
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 18:30
I had one of these fitted late in 2004 to a 100 series TD and used it on a two month trip away in February/March 2005.
Istill have it on and am very happy with it and would reccomend to anyone. I fitted my hi lift jack horizontally across the carrier behind the tyres, so it makes it more difficult for anyne to steal. I installed a couple of stainless bolts and some rubber packers and th hi lift fits over the bolts and is held on by large washers and nuts. A hell of a lot cheaper than a specialist bracket and less weight. I have only recently upgraded my
suspension with air bags but the trip we did had no problems even though we were fairly heavily loaded and towing a 3 tonne Bushtracker caravan with Hayman Reeese WDH.
The east coast distributor who has agents ina ll states, I thin,k is located in Moorabbin in
Melbourne but I have forgoten the name. Howev, I think any good 4WD
shop would be able to source. As far as pprice and quality they leave Kaymar for dead.
Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 19:13
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 19:13
has anyone got a price on these Strongarm RWCs????????????
Follow Up By: fozzy - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 07:31
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 07:31
last yr paid 2100 for bar and dual wheel carrier fitted to 04 td and later extra 450 for add on jerry can holder
from" all terrain 4wd ' south rd moorabbin vic
fozzy
Reply By: Member - Matt- Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 00:14
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 00:14
bombsquad, I've got the strong arm fitted to the GU and give the whole unit the double thumbs up. Its a solid bit of gear with the recovery points and high lift points. Ive also fitted air bags for when the truck is really loaded up. My opinion... you can't go wrong
Reply By: cobber - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 03:04
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 03:04
I had a Strong Arm caarrier fitted two weeks ago on my Landcruiser 100 series, they are brilliant, you dont have to get a new back bumper like you do with the ARB ones, it is welded to the back underneath, and they do have a locking pin when you open it up so it dosent swing back, Paid $980.00 which included a bracket for the HF Aerial