Weird Noise in Garden

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 10:04
ThreadID: 28273 Views:2500 Replies:6 FollowUps:4

A little off the beaten track.... but hoping somebody can clarify for us. We live in Sth Langwarrin (outer Sth East Melb) on a property that is quite heavily populated with native trees and an abundance of water. We currenty have lots of baby ducks, frogs, you name it, getting around. Over the last few nights we have heard some very strange sounds just on dusk. Sounds very much like an owl, but there are no owls to be found (we have had them around before). A friend mentioned to me that there is a species of frog that sounds like an owl, but again I am not sure if the sounds we are hearing is owl or frog. At the time that we hear it, it seems just a bit too early to be owls. I do know we have heaps of frogs as they have a fondness for getting caught up in the skimmer filter on the pool, but again, not sure what I am looking for to identify if it's the 'owl frog'.

Any suggestions on what this sound may be???

Reply By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 10:17

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 10:17
Hello - try here - didnt check them all but at least some of the species listed have a recorded call you can listen to (requires quicktime plugin)..I suppose start with species that have a distribution in the area of interest. The Heleioporus australiacus sounds a bit like an owl ..sort of.

Victorian Frogs

AnswerID: 140398

Reply By: Member - JD - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 10:32

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 10:32
Hi Jodi,
There was a post recently lodged about this type of frog,if it is a frog?,If you do a thread search using "frog" as your search word it should bring it up...something about being endangered or has not been seen for some time.Hope this helps.
JD4WDActivist
AnswerID: 140400

Follow Up By: Jodi - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 10:35

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 10:35
Thanks JD. I've since been on the site that was posted in the previous reply and heard the sound of the 'Giant Burrowing Tree Frog'. It's not the sound I was hearing. I'm beginning to wonder if it was an owl after all, it's just that I have never heard them calling while it's still light - this is at about 6:30 in the evening - a good couple of hours before dark.
FollowupID: 394038

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 11:02

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 11:02
Jodi, Truckster would possibly tell you there has been a bunyip noticed in the area, they enjoy a baby frog or three. Do you think it may have been it?
AnswerID: 140405

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 13:01

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 13:01
John,
Perhaps your local Bunyips make all ther noise doing the Mexican Hat Dance.
At least our Bunyips are of the much quieter and demure type.
FollowupID: 394057

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 17:33

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 17:33
Not had that much opportunity for the Mexican hat dance Des, or a crow eaters one either. I had heard of bunyips up a few creeks and rivers though and have little doubt they would enjoy a pool or two to catch some frogs.

Not sure how far they get up the Murray with the wiers you guys have to stop them. I heard that seals have been known to masquerade as bunyips from time to time - they have been recorded upstream a bit yonks ago. Are the weirs there to specifically stop bunyips?
FollowupID: 394073

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 20:44

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 20:44
Gday John, the weirs or Lock's as we local's prefer to call them are primarily to restrict the movements of the bunyips being such an endangered beast. We have a local one around here that we affectionally named Bazza. He is about 6' long and green and hairy. Haven't seen him recently but there are plenty of pictures of him around.
The flow of the river is about double the normal flow but not enough to bring on a yabbie season. During the yabbie seasons, the bunyips reak havok with the nets, turn over boats and cause heaps of trouble. For some reason, they seem to pick on anyone who has been enjoying the odd ale or two. Easier pickings I'd say.
FollowupID: 394106

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 13:38

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 13:38
Have you ever heard a Koala bark? Sounds something like a bullfrog with a sore throat....

AnswerID: 140420

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 14:09

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 14:09
I'm no expert on frogs, but as a general rule of thumb, if the call is rhythmic and keeps on going, suspect a bird. If the call is more erratic or stops and starts suspect an animal. Not quite sure how frogs fit in - they are certainly rhythmic, but i think they stop and start, especially if you stomp around where they are buried. We had a weird noise in the lawn last year which was a toad or frog. It would actual move around although it was underground.

AnswerID: 140422

Reply By: V8troopie - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 19:59

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 19:59
Maybe you got a 'moaning frog' down in your garden. When I bought my place back in the late seventies the garden was a bit overgrown. First winter there I started to hear these 'moans' from the garden, never found anything while checking for it with a torch.
Months later the thick cactus and creeper jungle along the fence line was removed to replace the dilapidated picked fence with super six sheets. What did I dig out when trenching for the fence? Big fat frogs, buried deep in the now dry soil. I relocated them to some thick growth in a park nearby and the 'moaning' noise has never been heard since in my garden. That is in WA, not sure if these species are native in Victoria, perhaps there is something similar.
Klaus
AnswerID: 140484