Which comp for tire & diff
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 20:50
Member - Miles (Vic)
I am doing Fraser isl soon and want to install a suitable compressor for quick tyre inflation. I would also like to prepare for diff loks a little later. First then, which comp, as at this point I am thinking - Endless air ; Maxair ; (which my local tjm said was only good for tyre inlation) or Ox - whatever that is because tjm reckon thats the berries for their new diff lok.
Which brings me to , what lok? I spose it's a a bit pre emptive as I believe the TJM loks for GU are 6 weeks off..or ARB ?? would really like you response guys.
Reply By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:05
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:05
Im lazy so this is what i have . I had ARB install there compressor in the engine bay . Properly done with wiring , fuses , mounting plate etc . I run my tyres between 23psi and 28 psi at fraser . When i get off the barge i
park up and flick the compressor switch on that is mounted on the dash .Then i grab the air hose and tyre gauge from the door pocket . Then i open the engine bonnet and plug the hose into the compressor . Reinflate the tyres , check with gauge , disconnect hose , put hose and gauge in door pocket , turn off compressor , drive off .
Follow Up By: Carl & Kaz - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 08:10
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 08:10
We have the same ARB setup, with both front and rear diff locks, and I have a 10 mtr hose with built-in gauge - this is long enough to reach the camper trailer as
well as the car.
On our recent trip I ran 20 psi all round, including the camper trailer, to get onto and off the barge at
Inskip Point - very deep soft sand for about 150-200m. We were travelling with friends who also had a camper, so we had 12 tyes to pump back up when we were back on the hard stuff. I did nine of them in the time my mate did three with his portable compressor - takes approx 2 min per tyre to get from 20psi to 38psi in 275/70/16. I was very happy with that.
Follow Up By: Carl & Kaz - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 08:12
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 08:12
By the way, do not buy the hose kit from ARB - $58 for a 6mtr hose and no gauge!!
I went to Bunnings and got a 10mtr hose, all the fittings and a built-in gauge for under $50!
Reply By: Member - Miles (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:11
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:11
Point
well taken Glenno, gotoo admit, my first tim outta vic, only been from the mother country (NZ) a short time..
Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:17
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:17
Be careful leaving victoria , once you get to queensland you might not want to go back .
Follow Up By: Member - Phil [Sunshine Coast] - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:00
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:00
I got to the sunshine coast, & certainly not goin back to nz. Am thinkin of goin to wa. but
Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:04
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:04
I cannot wait to visit the south island of new zealand again . Breathtakingly spectacular .
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 21:51
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 21:51
I have the ARB compressor.
Mine was initially installed under the bonnet but I had overheating issues with the compressor.
I relocated the compressor under the front passenger
seat. It is clean and runs cool. It has not caused any problems in this position. I have a GU and keep the hose connected to the compressor all the time. The hose runs across the floor near the left rear door and up to the little tray/pocket under the fixed rear window. This makes for easy and quick reinflation of tyres. By I flick the switch on the dash and by the time I have walked around and got the hose out the compressor
tank is full. Teh compressor usually shuts down because the
tank is full between each tyre. This means the tyres are quick to inflate.
Also if you are considering ARB Diff Locks they will not fit the locks if you don't have an ARB Compressor as it is the only one with a resevoire.