can someone explain the stripes on second hand cruiser trays?

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:32
ThreadID: 28324 Views:3564 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
hi guys.

can someone please tell me what these stripes are on this cruiser ute? there is one for sale in my area with the same stickers.

http://drive.com.au/used_cars/toyota/landcruiser/melbourne/detail.aspx?id=2388787&pg=1&pp=7&d=0&nv=1

OR

http://tinyurl.com/anqzo

i was thinking cfa or ses. what ever it is does it mean it has had a hard life?

Gareth

Reply By: casper - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:51

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:51
HI Gareth,
That tray was built by MBI Eng in Ballarat.
All of these ute's that l have seen are ex DNRE
AnswerID: 140713

Follow Up By: gareth - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:06

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:06
Thanks for your reply Casper,

Google says "Department of Natural Resources and Environment" so I'm assuming more dirt tracks rather than really hard work.

Next question - there is lots of talk about the toyo front diffs. Will an airlocker replace the weak components?

AND (sorry guys- ill bleep off soon!)

to those who are experienced with both diesel and TD 78/79s. Do you find the diesel underpowered?

Gareth
FollowupID: 394341

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:15

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:15
You will have no worries with the front diff for any thing other than extreme work I am yet to see one bust and i drive them underground in low 4 daily.
I dont find them underpowered but then i am used to them. Try a max speed of around 130kph and a minute and a half to reach 120 from 80 in 5th
Only thing I know about the TDs is that I want one
FollowupID: 394346

Follow Up By: gareth - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:21

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:21
You and me both. I suppose it can't be any worse than a Hiace diesel maxi-taxi I used to drive! I hated the acceleration but could tolerate it.
FollowupID: 394349

Follow Up By: Traveller - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:53

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:53
Have recently gone from a 2001 naturally aspirated diesel ute to a new RV/TD ute, and the difference is amazing. Tons of acceleration both from a standing start as well as overtaking. Better seats and carpet, but basically still as ugly as sin! The only improvement I'd like to see would be a higher fifth or a sixth gear as there are a few too many revs at 100/110kph. Using a tad more fuel but it sure is fun to put the foot down sometimes!
FollowupID: 394361

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 16:28

Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 16:28
The locker is a little stronger than the oe toyo front diff. The naturally aspirated 1hz motor responds well to tweeking, but go the 1hd fte turbo it gives me a well anyway. Try and avoid tyres bigger than a 32inch for the cruisers and you should be right with the front diff, the big tyres and worked motors put to much strain on the front diff. You will know your diff is under stress when you start changing CV joints more than you change gears. Love those cruiser utes especially the RV in silver.
FollowupID: 394456

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:05

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:05
Under ground utes at Leinster had simular ones. It is probably a safety requirement from the last place it worked - probably for interacting with heavy machinery at night. You need to find out where it has been used as a work vehilce it could well have been totally abused
AnswerID: 140718

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:23

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:23
I worked for a number of years underground. Our utes used to last about 12months and then buried. Do the Mines Dept still require high range to be locked out. I am not up to date as I have been retired for 15yrs
FollowupID: 394351

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:55

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:55
Not as far as i know. Our utes get used on the road as well. i have talked to a guy who pulls the levers out of the utes to stop the guys speeding. I have only seen a few utes with those padlock plates that lock out 4 th and hi range
FollowupID: 394362

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 02:13

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 02:13
Not required to be locked out- We have utes for above and below ground and both and none of them are locked intro low.
FollowupID: 394541

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 23:18

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 23:18
Kms seem high for DSE (as DNRE) are now known.

Also those plates are getting on a bit R series rego numbers are a few years old.

I'd guess it's been somewhere else since the government dept ditched it at 40-50 thousand k's.

I also though that most of the DSE ones had winch bars and winches on them originally. Even mine did and it was only the apiarist controllers.

They can all end up where ever a fire is as only diesel vehicles are supposedly allowed on the fireline - though a few petrols ended up up there in 2003.

If it was in the 2003 Alpine fires in the north east you'd have to hope the air filter was in good nick. The dust was attrocious apparently. When I bought mine Dad made some enquiries with the DSE blokes and that was their only concern as they had a few vehicles end up with scored bores.

AnswerID: 140734

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 02:53

Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 02:53
yeah if its got the funny angled lights at the back of the tray its definetly DSE, i dont think a ute could get a harder life - apart from undergroung mining .....

They generally get used for what they are built for unlike a lot of utes..
AnswerID: 140747

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 09:11

Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 09:11
Its got a ding in the drivers side sill and the RHS rear mudguard has been ripped off. Don't think its been used for going to church.

Also those 2000-2001 models suffered from a weak gearbox shaft which was later fixed by Toyota. May cost a couple of grand to fix.
AnswerID: 140762

Follow Up By: joc45 - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 18:34

Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 18:34
Aha! So Nissan weren't the only ones to have weak gearbox shafts!
FollowupID: 394472

Reply By: Grinner - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 10:53

Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 10:53
As others have said, probably ex DSE fire fighting vehicle. I was at the early 2003 fires in the Alps, and these units would have got an absolute flogging. Some of them were probably operating continously for weeks, and could have been driven by anyone, so the care factor would be low.

So if it was built in or before late 2002 I would personally give it a miss. However since then we have had relatively quiet seasons so a 2003 model onwards should be in good nick.
AnswerID: 140777