Willem
Have just read the
Hay River Trek here on Treknotes
I would like to know what the status of the land is between Lindsay Bookie's custodial lands and the NT/
SA Border
Anyone have updated info?
Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:26
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:26
The land is still there....lol
Hi Mate
Ads
Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:25
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:25
Good question. I have a feeling that it belongs to some mob or another who aren't keen on visitors ? Let me know when you find out.
Reply By: Bev - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:41
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:41
We have been the
Hay River track and had no hassles. I thought the land was crown It's not marked as aboriginal land or having an owner on maps ie station boundaries.
bev
Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 18:55
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 18:55
Willie
John Deckert (Westprint maps) has been thru there this year, so he told me the other day. And I'm pretty sure Phil Gaukroger has done this trip this year, so that's two sources to try. Phil is a member here.
It's cooled down here in the city, since about 4.00pm - appears we are still not allowed to have summer this year ...................
Maybe see ya at the Teddy Bears picnic. The
cook is crook - we'll see what transpires.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:15
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:15
Hi Rick,
Sounds like Westprint will come out with a map soon. It was great doing this trip this year when there was no one else around. But I've got a feeling it will become a bit overrun like the French Line in years to come. Hopefully the permits and costs will keep the riffraff out.
phil
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 23:12
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 23:12
G'day Rick
Was 35 here today but has cooled down to 10 tonite.
Yep we will be at the TBP Sunday week
G'day Phil
Why dont we invent a passport to aboriginal lands and vice versa. That would make the system fair, eh? Then we can buy our visa at
the entrance to "Our country" and the indigines can buy theirs coming this way. Just think of all the people we will be able to employ. Riffraff( you being a bit elitist there, what?). Riffraff like me dont worry about permits lol
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:09
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:09
Hi Willem,
The land is crown land. Its currently under a land claim. No permits required (that'll disappoint you :-)))) Same situation as most of the
Madigan Line.
Thats a great trek note report too. I'll have to go back to the
tropic of capricorn sometime to check out the marker I missed :-))
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 23:04
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 23:04
Thanks Phil
The treknote is very vague about boundaries.
Yes the land claim has been there since 1991. The claim might be difficult to settle as the are pre exixisting Oil Leases dating back to the late 50's and early 60's are still in force
Just wanted to make sure, as I am going up towards the
Hay for a short distance and then turning west in search of an icon :o)