oil crisis!

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 23:44
ThreadID: 28353 Views:3203 Replies:28 FollowUps:34
G'day, Watched Quantum tonight, all about the impending depletition in oil stocks. Some of the men interviewed on the program were saying 'there are no more oil fields left to discover, where does this leave us. The word is according to some is that the time left is approximately 3 years.........we have reaced 'peak oil'. It's only down from here on. What do you think? Others on the show say 'peak oil' won't happen for another decade but even 1 decade is too short. So when share holders start selling shares in oil companies I'll start digging the hole to bury the Patrol in

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 23:47

Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 23:47
Not concerned about running out of oil but i am concerned afterr the US takes over the middle east what is going to happen when they tell China there isnt enough for them as well
AnswerID: 140880

Follow Up By: sudsy - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 12:16

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 12:16
I watched that too and I reckon it's all crap. They want us to believe that for financial and enviromental reasons IMO.
FollowupID: 394843

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 23:48

Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 23:48
PS, we have plans for a terrorist attacks and spend millions on that, what is the government doing about some sort of plan for the oil crisis and it's alternatives??
AnswerID: 140881

Follow Up By: kev.h - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 00:06

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 00:06
George Bush hasn't told Little Johnny when the oil crisis is going to happen so he has done nothing !! surprise surprise
FollowupID: 394531

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:37

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:37
The plan for the oil crisis and, securing oil for us for the future, has been around for a long time and has been implemented. It's code name is "the war on terror".
FollowupID: 394583

Reply By: gramps - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 00:34

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 00:34
Andy,

There was'nt a little caption on the bottom of the screen saying "File Tape" was there :)))))))))))

I still remember the 'Oil crisis' of the 70s/80s. Too long ago for some of you young whippersnappers. According to the doomsayers then, we should all be pedalling bicycles or using some weird and wonderful solar/wind powered means of transport by now.

I would'nt lose any sleep over it just yet.
AnswerID: 140883

Follow Up By: muzzgit (WA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 00:44

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 00:44
Yes, I remember those days. I was a little tacker and dad kept about eight 44 gallon drums up the back shed. As it became evedent that things weren't so bad, it was a real handy supply of fuel for my YZ80 dirt bike, until he sold em all and changed the back shed into a chook shed the size of which the neighbours couldn't believe.
FollowupID: 394535

Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 00:51

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 00:51
Must have been bloody big chooks, eh :)
FollowupID: 394536

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 06:15

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 06:15
Yes i remember it was the early 70s I think and petrol was about 11cents a litre.

FollowupID: 394544

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:51

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:51
Sad to have to admit this, but I remember queing for about half an hour to buy $1 of fuel. Some people would push their cars in the que. Not happy memories.

FollowupID: 394565

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 02:25

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 02:25
Missed Quantum tonight - TV got highjacked by kids watching Australia's Funniest Comedian, won by Mikey Robbins by the way.

This is a serious issue. I saw a DVD produced by a Canadian doco company that focused on the American suburban culture that has only developed due to cheap oil. The doco also talked about the end of the peak oil drop off. It's not that oil will run out like an empty fuel tank, it's more that it will be harder to get. Like squeezing a sponge, the first bit just falls out, but eventually you have to squeeze really hard. These docos are predicting we're entering squeeze phase pretty soon. Anyone that ignores these warnings is just being plain foolish. What we all do about it is another matter. The DVD is called End of Suburbia

End of Suburbia makes the connection between the inevitable increase in the price of oil, particularly in the US, and the impact this will have on the world economy. It will cause economic catastrophe as much as any reduction in fuel production capacity. Didn't we see GM is closing down plants and laying off staff just this week. Why - because they've been building the wrong cars for the future - gas guzzlers. Now the fuel price has risen just a bit, consumers are turning off the big cars and the company is going bust. So GM might lay off 30,000 employees. Why should be worry about that? Because of the ability of the US economy to influence ours. Investors will get nervous, stock markets falter, you guess the rest. It's not just about oil companies.

This 'oil crisis' is different the one in the 80's. This one is about the capacity of the earth to continue to supply our needs at the current rates, not the limited pumping capacity and political issues of the 80's. There is no combination of alternative energy sources that can match our current consumption of oil, none.

I'm feeling pretty good about my efforts to extend the fossil diesel in my cruiser by adding renewable vege oil, but I can only do that economically because I can buy oil that has been subsidised by the EU and dumped in Australia to be sold cheaper than I can buy diesel. Can't see that lasting long.

Europe will survive this much better than the US because they are already paying much higher prices for fuel than the US and we do and are much more accustomed and further down the track for the changes that need to made in the next decade, or less.

One positive I got from End of Suburbia was the promotion of higher density housing as a solution, designing communities that encourage walking and reduce reliance on cars, things we can do successfully in Aust. It also said the 80's crisis dropped demand to such an extent it delayed the end of 'peak oil' for a decade or so.

Happy to be flamed, just be informed before you hit send.

Tim
AnswerID: 140889

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 02:40

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 02:40
Tim,

I make a bit of Bio-D too. Where do you get your cheap oil from?

Quote "by adding renewable vege oil, but I can only do that economically because I can buy oil that has been subsidised by the EU and dumped in Australia to be sold cheaper than I can buy diesel" Unquote

Bilbo
FollowupID: 394542

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 09:00

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 09:00
Agree with you.

Whether it is 5, 10, 20 or 30 years, there are going to be dramatic changes which our kids are going to have to live with. How do we start forewarning them.
And with oil, it isn't only petrol/diesel supplies.
What about lubricating oils, and plastics and all those other products derived from oil.
It is going to be a very different world.
But then the world is always changing.
My grandfather died in 1979, and he reckons he had seen the greatest change. Saw the first car and bloke with a red flag walking in front, and saw the moon landing. What a change in transport.
London towards the end of the 19th century had a major pollution problem, 2000 tons of horse manure a day to get rid off. All those delivery wagons and personal transport. The trolleybus and car solved that problem.
The world changes. We forget how much.
We have started the change by worrying about it.
FollowupID: 394568

Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:34

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:34
Thanks Tim, I hear what you're sayin' and want to do it myself. Biodiesel I haven't used it yet but I will get to it
FollowupID: 394582

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:12

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:12
Hi Bilbo,

I keep a close check on supermarket vege oil prices and buy it up when it's $1 a litre. I mix it 25% to extend the diesel, remove the exhaust smell, limit the black smoke, and keep the kids happy by not making them choke on the fumes at the front door when I fire up the truck.

Tim
FollowupID: 394590

Reply By: Bilbo - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 02:26

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 02:26
The oil crisis of the 70’s & 80’s had a very different starting point – the oil major producing cartel at the time was OPEC and it wanted higher prices for oil. OPEC at the time produced about 80% of the worlds’ oil. This strategy eventually backfired on them. The Western World went out and found oil in other places outside of OPEC control. It was successful and now OPEC controls only 45% of the worlds oil supply. BUT- the Western world found only comparatively small fields. Saudi Arabia alone has been producing about 8 to 9 million barrels of oil a day for the last 50 years. The world uses about 80 million barrels a day. Those fields that were found outside of The Middle East were not large. The North Sea lasted 20 years, Bass Strait lasted 30 years, North West Shelf is mostly gas and very little oil, Timor Sea has a 20 year life span, Gulf of Mexico is about 15 years, Indonesia is now a net importer of oil after being a net oil exporter up to the year 2000 etc, etc, The biggest field in the world is in Saudi Arabia, it has produced oil for the last 100 years – BUT last year for the first time some of these Saudi wells started to draw up a high percentage of water. This is the first sign of a dying oilfield. It’s starting.

Even BP and Shell have downgraded their "known reserves" estimates. Both companys’ directors have stated publicly that the world has to reduce its reliance on oil – they can’t deliver.

Plus, we’ve had oil too cheap for too long. Look at it this way – how much is a litre of Coke and how hard is it to mix syrup and water?How much is a litre of milk? Now,how much is a litre of petrol and how hard is is it explore for it, drill it, produce it, refine it etc.

The party’s over boys ‘n girls.

I’ve just retired from 35 years in the oil industry – producing it and refining it. Enjoy our 4bys while we can. Soon you’ll have an armour plated fuel tank and bloody great lock on it ‘cos if you have a full tank it’ll be worth about $1500.00!!

Take care,

Bilbo

PS – if you wanna know the inside story on the oil industry, read a non-fiction book called “The Prize” written by David ??? (can’t remember his last name). It’ll scare the schitt out of yer.
AnswerID: 140890

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:43

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:43
it's s non-fiction storyline, but are the facts real?
FollowupID: 394709

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:45

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:45
F4,

Yep the facts are real. The book was made into a 13 part (?) documentary on BBC (UK) about 10 years ago. It's the history of the Oil Industry from the first commercial discoveries (John D Rockefeller and Standard Oil etc) up to Operation Desert Storm. It's a fascinating read.

If you wish to buy the DVD, it's available from the BBC at around $1000.00 per copy.

The book is a monster to read - about 4 inches or 95mm thick! It took me 3 months to read it properly and absorb the info and the implications. But boy what a read.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 394725

Reply By: Member - Barry W (VIC) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 03:17

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 03:17
Just a thought ???
Who knows when "THE FUEL" is going to run out ????
1yr-50yr the Oil Company's arn't saying, TV currant affairs "ARE" predicting DOOM
can't imagine why ??? Ratings maybe ????
The reality is I am still searching for that piece of paper that the "GOVERNMENT"
sent me telling me that I will "NEVER RUN OUT OF FUEL" !!!!
I know it is there somewhere !!!
Just maybe us "Humans" are so dependant on "FUEL" that we think it is our "GOD GIVEN RIGHT" that all we have do is turn up at the local servo and "WHALLAA"
Just maybe, We will run out of fuel before our 4x4 days are over ???
But what are "YOU" and "ME" going to do about it ???
Keep getting our shopper dockets and buying as much as we can get for "FREE" !!!
Is anything really free in this world today !!!
The reality is whether we like it or not, jump up down, yell and scream, if there ain't no Oil there ain't no Oil ????
Everything "ENDS" one day, Our clothes, White goods, Cars,Our working life,ect,ect,ect
And ultimately so do we !!!!!
So just maybe "OIL" will too !!!!
Who am I to say what is what, just get out there and 4x4 to your hearts content don't wait till tomorrow because just maybe you might not be around to enjoy it ???
And Who's to say that we will still have enough "OIL" or can "AFFORD" it ???
See You out there "DOO'N IT"
Barry
AnswerID: 140891

Reply By: mfewster - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 07:40

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 07:40
There are some answers , but we need a government with vision instead of the present short term thinkers.
1. A national energy strategy. Stop cutting taxes and invest in infrastucture, Encourage everyone to change to gas. We have plenty of it, but need a wider distribution network and assistance to gas conversions. We DON'T need long term contracts to sell massive quantities of the stuff off at what will be preopsterously bargain prices in a few years.
2. We need biodiesel plants on a big scale and lots of agriculture growing things like canola to feed them (instead of the ludicrously water expensive crops like cotton and rice).
We don't need an alternative energy plan based on sugar cane (which is what Johhny is doing) just because it keeps the Qld farmers happy. This approach just tops up petrol instead of repacing it.
3. Survival tip. Yes it will get dearer, but insure yourself by investing $ in companies like Australian Renewable fuels because youwill probably make big $$
AnswerID: 140895

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:09

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:09
when did taxes get cut!! mine keep going up!
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 394550

Follow Up By: mfewster - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 19:08

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 19:08
Dave, read Mr. Costello's recent speeches, he promises to cut income taxes (he doesn't cut direct taxes like fuel) so everyone votes for lower taxes (income taxes that is) but taxes on fuel go up the same for everyone. He can do that because of the huge profits they are making on direct taxes. ie the the poor will pay a proportionately much higher overall tax. Also have a look at the super tax that has been abolished for those who earn over $100,000 a year etc etc.
FollowupID: 394683

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:52

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:52
Don't mention Super Tax to me PULLEEESE!! Or Super SUPER Tax! I've just retired from a high paying job where I was working 14 hour days/6 days a week to top up my super so that I could retire early. They were paying me Lotto Win annually and it damned near killed me, but I made it.

Then 5 months after I retire, they reduce the Super Tax. I've paid tax on every bloody thing I ever did(all my life) and all I wanted to do was retire with enough money to ensure that I was not a burden living off the Government.

Shoulda gone on the dole I reckon.

Bilbo

FollowupID: 394726

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 09:09

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 09:09
Dont blame me . I vote labor .
AnswerID: 140911

Reply By: SmithyWA - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 09:28

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 09:28
All this talk reminds me of the original Mad Max movie.

Hope we don't go down that track!

AnswerID: 140916

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 09:37

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 09:37
There are alternatives being developed, Hybrids and hydrogen to name a couple.

I don't really think that 'big oil' is going to let a small thing like lack of crude to get in the way of profits :-~

Give it a few years and you'll be filling up from the garden tap :-)
AnswerID: 140919

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:47

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:47
Over the last few decades the big oil companies have been buying out ideas on alternative fuel sources and shelving them. When the oil runs out, these same companies will just be the best equiped to deal with th the crisis. So , don't sell your oil shares yet.

R.
AnswerID: 140938

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:52

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:52
i was on the puffing billy night train and at dinner a sat next to a chemical engineer from mobil, quote "we have hydrogen technology" he recons he earns a packet, travels everywhere, company makes so much money it's just not worth their while stuffing around with other stuff till they run out. my opinion is bmw's hydrogen solution is far better than what the japs are doing with fuel cells.
FollowupID: 394711

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:56

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:56
And - who's the biggest patent holder in the world for solar energy developments??

Hmmm?

Hmm??

Did I hear anyone say - BP OIL!!

Yes - BP OIL

Give that man a coconut!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 394728

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:10

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:10
Guys this is not just about fuel costs. It's about the impact on world economies.

Hydrogen is very nice. How do you produce it? With electricity. Where does the electricity come from? From fossil fuel. It isn't sustainable.

If all countries changed to nuclear energy, the world supplies of uranium would run out in ten years. Yep, Australia has a high proportion of the worlds uranium, but it is not a long term power solution - regardless of any end product issues.

Frankly the quicker fuel prices rise the longer the joyride will last by reducing demand just a tad.

AND, as mfewster says above, we need government with eyes wide open to long term sustainable planning. There are a few Senators left that have been working for 30 years with these aims, but they're struggling to keep going cos no one wants to listen.

Tim
AnswerID: 140943

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:54

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:54
i think nuclear is a much longer term solution that a measly decade.
FollowupID: 394713

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 20:37

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 20:37
I read that Honda a couple of years ago were looking at setting up in California hydrogen stations with solar cells on the roof, and using the power through hydrolysis to generate hydrogen.
Used water from the local water supply.

Saved the safety issues of shipping hydrgen.

Sounds a good idea, particurly for out west.

Filtered bore water and some solar cells and you have fuel.

Now wonder why the fuel companies don't take it up !!!!
FollowupID: 394891

Reply By: Nudenut - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:36

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:36
we must be going to run out soon? Stuart Petroleumis contemplating spending $$$ on a diesel refinery in the cooper basin.....
AnswerID: 140945

Reply By: Justin - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:15

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:15
Errr, like most things in the media - there will be no dramatic crisis. Oil will not run out. But what will happen is oil will become harder to find and more expensive to extract.

Did you know in the Perth Basin (or so I am told), there is oil? - not much, diluted with water I guess, but there is oil. NSW also has several sizeable shale oil deposits. While I am not suggesting these sources will (or should) ever be mined, it is just that sources like these will start to become economic as the price of oil goes up. Likewise many older 'worked' oil fields still have substantial amounts of oil left - it is just that at the moment it is not economic to extract the remaining oil.

So don't be scared of a hard oil crisis - there won't be one because we have run out of oil!! The price of oil will just keep going up at a steady pace (political instability is another issue all together).

On Bio diesel - there was an article in New Scientist the other day where some experts were suggesting that the shift to Ethanol (and I guess Bio diesel) is one of the further threats to clearing of rainforest in the Amazon (and elsewhere) to plant ethanol bearing crops. Ethanol, and biodiesel while theoretically more renewable than fossil fuels, are far from being environmentally benign or sustainable in the ecological/social sense.

One day we will realise that we will not find the solution looking only at alternative fuels, but will have to actually start reducing our consumption of resources - full stop, no matter where the resources come from (and yes that means we may have to drive our cars less.....)

One day....
AnswerID: 140953

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:26

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:26
Bollocks to the lot of it !! There is more oil in the Athbaska tar lakes in Canada then there is in the Saudi oil fields! It just costs more to get it out. There are huge oil resevoirs in the deep ocean - but - it costs more to get it out. There are many ways of enhancing or manufactureing synthetic fuels. The worlds coal fields are an incredible size - but - it costs more to convert coal oils to the liquide fuels we use every day. The oil companies will switch over to other methods of making our liquide fuels as soon as they see a profit in it. The technology exists today. NZ was turning natural gas into petrol up to a few years ago but its cheaper to get petrol from cheap (?) oil. Its all to do with PROFFIT !!!!! Read my lips - WE ARE NOT ABOUT TO RUN OUT OF OIL OR PETROL.
AnswerID: 140956

Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:53

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:53
On ya Kiwi! That's more along my view. As per the earlier 'Oil crisis', as the price rises, existing sources become more economical. Just another scare campaign recycled.
FollowupID: 394652

Follow Up By: mfewster - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 18:40

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 18:40
Sorry Kiwi, we really are running out. I if what is left is unusable because the cost of extraction is too high, we have run out. Comforting theories like, "Necessity is the Mother of Invention" so we don't really have to do anything, are a bit like confidently jumping out a window because someone will see the need and invent an anti gravity machine. They might, but I wouldn't bet my life on it.
We have become very compacent in assuming that science will always find an answer for us. Yes, there are some alternative energy sources around, but it will be a very different world. Example. No alternative energy source looks remotely like being able to provide the power to weight required for aircraft. Start thinking about a world much more reliant on boats and trains again.
Expect massive pressure to go nuclear. It's already starting. Buy shares in gas companies and make enough $ to underwrite your 4WD habit. Check Santos over the last two years. That rise is just starting too.
FollowupID: 394677

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:29

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:29
G'day,

The peak oil theory has been about a while. Have a look at,

Peak Oil

Makes for interesting reading.

AnswerID: 140958

Reply By: Austravel - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:47

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:47
Yep, have been following this subject for some time. It's certainly a concern and in reality the reason you don't see anything major in the pipe line for a replacement is that there is nothing. Crude is used for everything in our lives, energy for transport, producing food, etc, plastics, clothing, all synthetics, medicines, additives in food, building materials, etc, etc. The least of our dramas will be getting fuel for transport. It's a relatively simple process to work out roughly how much oil is left and is economically viable to retrieve plus or minus a number of years. Knowing how much is being used each year gives you how long it will last and if the Peak isn't here it's damn close. From there it's all down hill, sure there will be opposing views but the tell tale signs are there now, it's really an argument about is the Peak now or in a couple of years time and will it run out in a couple of decades or sooner. We shouldn't be wearing rose coloured glasses, there is nothing out there, hidden in vaults or not that will replace what crude oil does and maintain our existing quality of life. My generation will certainly see the start of major dramas and severe changes to life styles. Hate to be around when my now 10 year old nephews get to my age.
AnswerID: 140960

Reply By: Big Trev - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:05

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:05
After viewing the program last night, my wife (a woman of few words - seriously) stated "well that's OK, we will just go back to 'localisation' instead of 'globalisation'". I loke the way she is thinking, se reckons we are wasting all this fuel on sending our stuff all over the place using a variety of transport means, when we should look after it all locally.
AnswerID: 140961

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:53

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:53
Your wife is a very wise lady Trev.
FollowupID: 394626

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 20:08

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 20:08
Tell your wife good point.
Remember various local plants closing down in Brisy because it was cheaper to ship items up from down south with the cheap transport costs.
We might see a little more diversification with higher fuel prices and more local jobs in small towns and cities.
FollowupID: 394689

Follow Up By: Big Trev - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 05:51

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 05:51
I really hope we do see more of that in our region Oldplodder
FollowupID: 394752

Reply By: Big Trev - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:09

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:09
BTW, is is called Catalyst, not Quantum.

All you buggers didn't pick up on it, what are you doing?
AnswerID: 140963

Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 16:40

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 16:40
Thanks Big Trev, my mistake Catalyst not Quantum. I don't know what I was thinking ??
FollowupID: 394656

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:09

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:09
THE END OF THE WORLD IS NIGH!!
People have predicted the end of the world since it started and this is no different what people dont ralize is NECCESSITY IS THE MOTHER OF ALL INVENTIONS Why arnt we using alternative fuels?? itsd because they ARNT ECONOMICALLY VIABLE when they are they will be used developed and refined why? BECAUSE THERE WILL BE BIG MONEY IN IT ---- LIKE OIL. The only downside is before there is a transition places like the Antarctic will be used for oil exploration/production. And forget biofuel fact is a farm cant produce enough biofuel to produce it = unsustainable. Also land clearing for further production of biofuel would be an ecological disaster................................. Although how about eucalyptus oil - plenty of gum trees around here
AnswerID: 140964

Reply By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:59

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:59
We will all burn from radiation before we run out of oil......or drown.

"Into the bomb shelter dear......."
AnswerID: 140968

Reply By: cobber - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:42

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:42
Of course they want us to believe that we are running out of oil, this gives them the excuse to keep the price high.............LPG will be the way to go when oil runs out.............Then the gas producer liked they used on cars during the 2nd world war, you couldent buy petrol then, it was rationed and they only allowed each person about 2 gallons a month if you had a good enough reason to own a vehicle.
AnswerID: 140980

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 23:06

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 23:06
Cobber,

"LPG will be the way to go when oil runs out" - and where does LPG come from??

Bilbo
FollowupID: 394731

Follow Up By: muzzgit (WA) - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 01:42

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 01:42
Hey Bilbo. Some countries use good old LPG, as in liquid petroleum gas, but here in good old WA, they tell me it comes straight outa da ground from the north west shelf.

Before everyone jumps all over me for this, when I had a car on gas, my old man and a few others recon the gas is a byproduct from the refinement of oil, which is what I had always thought. But others, including so called experts on talk back radio say this is wrong.

So maybe your just the man to put it all straight?????
FollowupID: 394746

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 12:41

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 12:41
Hi Muzzgit
I am no expert on the subject, but I believe the gas is given off from the oil, so no oil means no gas
But I will stand corrected
Poppy
FollowupID: 394846

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 16:59

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 16:59
From what I have read oil production is meant to peak around 2015 and from there on out supply will run out very fast, the predictions range from 2020 to 2050 before we are dry, but ether way we are in Big trouble.

Yes there are most likely still reserves available it’s just a matter of getting the drilling permit’s to drill.

(I think I have posted this before) But one of the biggest reserves believed to be left only has enough oil in it to fully supply the U.S for 5 years!! I think it was.

As for oil running out in 3 years I find that hard to believe, in 20-years having a major oil crises and possibly running out, Now that I can believe.
AnswerID: 140994

Reply By: Patroleum - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 20:09

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 20:09
A good book to read is "the end of the oil age". It is written by Matt Savinor an ex energy advisor to the US Govt. Very concerning indeed.

Basically we run our lives on oil,we live in excess and abuse the natural resouse that is oil. We now have a global population of 6.2Billion people, we had 500 million prior to the use of oil in combustion engines, this growth is on the back of cheap oil, we can go where we want, when we want, heat,cool our homes on oil (Electicity), do what we want when we want, we live in a throwaway society and dispose of an enormous amount of plastic (Made of oil) in our day to day life. These habits have to stop quickly or the shortage of oil will do this for us.
My view is that at my age -33, i might get thru life with some difficulty, shotage of oil leading to high unemployment,high crime,depressed ecomomy,increase in wars etc, i don't hold much hope for the next generation unfortunately.

Criticise my views if you wish, just think 80million barells of oil a day, every day, it can't last forever.

AnswerID: 141024

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:20

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:20
At 21 I am fully aware that my generation could possibly the last to enjoy the sort of quality of life, as we know it.

What got me was when we celebrated when Australia hit a population of 20 million. What are we celebrating for?? Are these people forgetting Australia is a F***ing desert. Just look at the problems we are having now Water, Drought, power, Infer structure.

I have a mate who is a environmental scientist and he was telling me about all these new hosing developments which in 10-years time will be completely F***ed because of where they are built, the soil will tern acidic and start to eat the houses, and it has already started to happen at some of the sites they have tested. Then there are others where they filled in wetlands to build, and the houses will all sink given time.

He is looking forward to all the money he is going to make fixing all the F’ Up’s that are being made now. It quite funny to drive around with him, He will just point out a house and be like that place has sunk this much in the last 6 months or new development he will be like give it 8 years and they will be having problems.

Then I talk to some of my friends who did Economics and they just don’t get what is going to happen if we keep going the way we are.

FollowupID: 394702

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 23:08

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 23:08
Exactly Patroleum and Exploder -

Oil will not 'run out', it will get more expensive. So this argument is about economic impact much more than oil supply alone. Sad to hear Economics students don't get it. Supply/demand, impacts flowing through an economy - all basic economics

Tim
FollowupID: 394732

Reply By: Patroleum - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 23:21

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 23:21
Tim,

Exactly, i'm not saying it will run out, when it gets low it will become too expensive to extract. The oil companies talk of a return on investment ratio where x amount of barrells of oil is used to extract y amount of barrells of oil.

In the early days of oil recovery the ratio was approx 30:1. I.E. burn 1 barrell, extract 30. Not bad result. Some parts of the USA in the 50's and 60's were 100:1.
Internationally the ratio is now approx 5:1 now. Naturally when the ratio is 1:1 there is no point in extracting oil.

There will be some oil left, it will just be impractical to extract.

AnswerID: 141056

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 00:40

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 00:40
Interesting?

Last week listening to ABC Radio it was revealed that a small Aussie independent oil exploration company has discovered new oil reserves in the existing Moomba Oil Field

Not so long ago Russia declared it had enough oil for 1000 years.

Who do we believe?

Plod along......mankind will come up with alternatives.

Too many scare mongerers around beating their breasts and preaching doomsday and being believed at that
AnswerID: 141064

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 12:47

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 12:47
I am with you Willem
Poppy
FollowupID: 394848

Reply By: ShnogDog - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 00:50

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 00:50
In 20 years time, on some cold rainy night, young children will wake to the sound of an old big block V8 winding out, roaring like some huge prehistoric beast, as the tailend fishtails, struggling for grip on the wet tarmac.... They will either wet themselves in fear or wonder what the hell they missed out on...
AnswerID: 141066

Follow Up By: Big Trev - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 05:49

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 05:49
or they could be watching a Mad Max on v i d e o film (for those of you who saw the stage play 'we will rock you'
FollowupID: 394751

Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 20:11

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 20:11
Question// Howmuch longer would the world fuel supplys last if every car on the road used a litre less fuel for every 100klms travelled??????????????. Interesting theory but no theory it is real it happens.All will be revealed in time.

BILLS
AnswerID: 141229

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 20:40

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 20:40
Your right Bill, we all need to ride motor bikes, or drive small cars.
Lesser total environmental cost in building them too.
Even better, don't live on the other side of town but local to work and walk.
FollowupID: 394892