Screwing an HF in

Submitted: Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 00:08
ThreadID: 28354 Views:2607 Replies:13 FollowUps:12
Recieved my barret today and have done most of the wiring. To keep things easy i will be putting the box under the seat and head behind the low range lever (80 series). the only problem i have is i would like to avoid tech screws in the floor pan. The only other thing I can think of is those velcro strips possibly helped with proper glue. What have others done - or am I worrying about nothing and just screw it in

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 00:54

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 00:54
Screw it
AnswerID: 140885

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 00:55

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 00:55
Sorry Dave have no idear
FollowupID: 394538

Reply By: BenSpoon - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 02:01

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 02:01
If you are looking at velcro, it will have to be the pricey stuff to be strong enough ($600 for a 60m roll last time I checked). I have used thick double sided tape for a few things in mine and its held well. Have also used a fair bit of double sided adhesive backed foam for a more flexible fixing- so long as you clean the surfaces well it holds tight. If the only problem is holding the velcro to a vinyl floor covering, try stitching, riveting or stapling it on
AnswerID: 140886

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:26

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:26
60 metres of the stuff should hold it in place..

FollowupID: 394620

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:58

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:58
No 10 metres would be just fine the other 50 metres you can use for strange acts btween you and your missus (or hire one if she wont be in on it)
FollowupID: 394642

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:54

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:54
Can I have a look at the catalog.

FollowupID: 394653

Reply By: joc45 - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 02:13

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 02:13
Davoe,
not sure about the 80 series, but I mounted my HF under the driver's seat of my Patrol by taking the seat out, and making some flat iron brackets to hold the HF up under the seat. On the centre console, I removed the ash tray (nobody smokes in my machine) and made a dummy panel to replace the ash tray which the remote head attaches to. Threaded the cable thru under the console back to the main HF unit.
Looks neat, and when I come to sell the machine, there will be no screw holes anywhere. I know the 80 series is not the same, but you get the idea....
Gerry
AnswerID: 140887

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:14

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:14
I agree with a proper firm mount..just think of the vibrations you feel going over the ruts..the velcro..ties..glue thing are good but how long will they last when you really get into it?..I done a trip thru the Garden of Stones on the weekend and when I got home noticed my radio was hanging down from the mount under the left side dash of the driver,I had two screws and as a vibration mount I glued with sikiflex lasted about 12 months..so a good firm mount with locktite or spring washers is the way to go.
JD
FollowupID: 394575

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:00

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:00
Davoe

Would it be possible to use heavy duty wire ties and secure the unit to the underside of the seat?
I have done this with other things and it means the unit is up off the floor and gets some cushioning from the seat springs.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 140897

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:42

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:42
2nd mention of this - yes I think so. The box under the seat will be held in place to some extent by the tight fit so I reckon ataching it to the seat will work
FollowupID: 394609

Reply By: Carl & Kaz - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:09

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:09
Davoe,

I used double sided tape in my 100 series to secure a GME4400 to the top of the dash, and also to fix the remote head for my CD stacker to the dash just under the radio console.

I bought a small roll from Bunnings for about $6-7, and it is the same stuff that Strathfield Car Radios use. Can't remember the brand name, but it is black tape, about 12mm wide, and the protective plastic strip that you remove & throw away is dark green. The packaging also says something about it being heavy duty (automotive?) tape.

I'll check the other details for you when I'm next in Bunnings.

If you have trouble getting it, let me know & I can send you some.

Carl
AnswerID: 140898

Reply By: traveller2 - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:24

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:24
Just use velcro, the hook side on the radio and stick it straight on the carpet, won't ever move.
If it is a base model with vynil you will have to screw it, or just put two bits of 30x 5 mm across the seat frame and hang it.
I've installed quite a few over the years but on the cargo barrier is the most common spot.
Make sure power cables are not run parallel with control head or antenna cables and under the bonnet don't tie the cables to the a/c pipes, the hot side WILL melt the cables.
Above all make sure everything is well earthed, bullbar to chassis, antenna to bullbar, transmitter to body and don't connect the negative lead to the battery. This last point has cost quite a few transmitters when the battery negative to chassi/body has gone crook/come/off/broken and the starting/cranking current takes the path of least resistance through the HF!!
AnswerID: 140900

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:49

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:49
Thanks - I think I may have problems not running the ariel under the trim away from the power wire but I will now look into it. Negative is body earthed - Can I earth the box by splicing the box earth into the power earth or should i earth it seperatly? I intend to aditionally body earth the ariel as work vehicles i have had been set up this way
FollowupID: 394611

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 08:14

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 08:14
Davoe
Ideally a seperate earth as it is to actually earth the case rather than the 'guts', helps stop interference more than actually stop anything working.
You've got a diesel cruiser from memory so will probably have a loud whine that changes with engine revs when it is running. It is caused by the sender for the oil light, a 1.5uf cap soldered between the centre and the case should stop it.
The interior fan will also cause noise, never bothered trying to shut it up just turned it off.
If you want to be really keen put copper braid (preferably tinned) between the bonnet and body, doors and body and exhaust (at the rear mount) and body. It stops the static buildup when zooming along the road.
A regular 'chopping' noise in the radio reception is usually caused by the CPU in the GPS if it is connected to the same power source.
If you are the habit of running a UHF CB in scan then you may find it stops around chan 35, this can be caused by CPU in HF.
Have fun, get any weird things give me a yell.
FollowupID: 394931

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 09:13

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 09:13
For what it is worth I would bolt the unit to the cargo barrier and keep it up high. Good ventilation, far enough away from water and secure. Not keen about loose fitting projectiles!! Cheers
AnswerID: 140912

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:07

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:07
I'm with you mate....

I actually mounted mine in the back of the Patrol, side on along the rear quarter panel. I removed the long plastic moulding from the driver's side that acts as a holder for cans and other stuff and fabricated a bracket which uses the 2 bolts which originally held in the 3rd row seat on that side.
Having it down the back keeps it up high and also makes it easier to connect the aerial....in my case I've mounted that on the back door, out of harms way.

If you really MUST mount it under the seat, I think the bloke who suggested to remove the seat and make up some flat steel brackets to utilise existing seat-mounting bolts etc is on the money. I would not want to be screwing tech-screws into the floor either. If you do decide to bolt it to the floor, why not do the job properly with stainless steel bolts, washers, silicone etc......you'd still be wanting to do that in the form of a base-plate bracket bolted to the floor which would NEVER need to be removed. That way, if you ever need or want to take the HF out of the vehicle (even when you sell it), the bracket and base plate can remain there and there will be no nasty issue with holes that need to be sealed or have rubber grommets placed in them etc.

FollowupID: 394588

Reply By: signman - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:04

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:04
If you're going to stick to the BlackTop, sure velcro or double sided tape should be OK.
However, if you're going to get seious, a mechanical mount (screws or rivets) would be a must.
AnswerID: 140941

Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:16

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:16
Hi Davoe, Barrett fitted the HF in my 80 series L/C. The best spot was on the side wall in the rear storage area just behind the back of the rear passenger seat (not the removable rear seats). It is a good spot for any maintenance access and also well above the water line if you happen to do deep crossings
AnswerID: 140954

Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:19

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:19
Yep - suspended under the seat is the go IF you must put it there. Take advantage of some cushioning where possible. My 950 is on the cargo barrier (with head at the console) because that keeps it high and dry just in case a river runs inside the Jackaroo !
AnswerID: 140955

Follow Up By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:22

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:22
er ....fergot to say.....wherever it goes, let it breath ! There is some heat to get rid of at times and you may be travelling in hot areas too ! Maybe 40 C, sunlight, hot floor and 100 watts !
FollowupID: 394605

Reply By: VK3CAT - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 16:51

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 16:51
Hi again Davoe.
On my 80 series I mounted the codan mounting bracket to the floor using stainless steel self tapping screws. Also painted the under side where the screws went through with zinc spray. The screws have not come loose in all the years it has been fitted. If you are concerned, use a stainless steen metal thread, washer, lock washer & nut (& or loktite). With self tapping screws or tek screws, you cab also use a plastic toggle nut on the under side (available at electrical whole salers - Ampere brand - red in colour)
Make sure that you get a really good RF earth. Do NOT rely on the mounting brackets. Drill and tap into the passenger seat mounts.
Cheers Tony.
AnswerID: 140991

Reply By: atoyot - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 17:07

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 17:07
Davoe,
I've mounted the head on my Barrett on the passenger side of the console. I removed the console, and used some existing bolts and holes that mount the gear stick boot. From these, I just made some flat steel brackets and drilled some holes for the standard head bracket and attach the bracket to the flat steel. That way, I can hide the control and speaker cable, pointing the head units upwards, and it is held nice and snug up against the tunnel carpet and console. If you like, I can slip out to the garage and take a photo as it's a bit hard to explain. I'm sure the same setup would work in the 80, with no drilling.
AnswerID: 140999

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:05

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:05
Hi Davoe,

I'm a velcro fan, but for what you want to do, rivets might be the best way. I use the 12mm long 3/16th steel rivets for most things where a bit of strength is needed.

And I am paranoid about water crossings - have mounted my unit at roof height in both vehicles I've had it in. In the Prado it was on a steel shelf behind the cargo barrier and in the farm truck, its high up in the canopy.

phil
AnswerID: 141036

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 03:44

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 03:44
i absalutly hate rivets and usually replace them with screws when they fail. No water crossings in the feilds as it hasnt really rained in over 5 years. I will not be trimming any of the cords back howerver as when the need arises (eg a cape york or another kimberly trek) I will move the unit to a better spot but that will take alot more effort to hide cords
FollowupID: 394750

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 20:31

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 20:31
I like rivets as long as they are strong enough - which is why I suggested the 3/16th steel ones. They don't rattle loose on the rough stuff. Aluminium ones are useless.
FollowupID: 394800