Vic High Country

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 09:45
ThreadID: 28408 Views:2879 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
Just got back from the Vic High Country. What a great place to go.

From the time we started with a get to know you dinner at Bright to our finial goodbyes at Mt Hothom we could have not asked for a better trip. The only rain we had was on the last morning when we were packing up, and yes the tents were damp but that didn't take away from the trip that we had just done. The only change to the trip that I had to make was to go out via Brewry Creek instead of South Balsalt track. A wet track, low cloud and a very steep climb don't mix.

The only part of the trip that we could not understand is why some low life would take to the long drop dunny at King Hut with a chain saw. I am lost for words.

The rocky river crossings were great, fast, clean cold water at bumper height made for some interesting crossings. With a little guideance at first they were all traversed and then it was on to the first big climb to the top of Mountian #3.

Craigs Hut has had a little bit of work done to it but no more that in April 2005 when I was there last.The Monument Track is still as good as ever. Luvicks Hut is being rebuilt but very slowly, not much work done there 7 months, but with all the snow they have had there it is understanable.

This winter they had a lot of snow and rain which has caused a lot of trees to fall, and of course all of the big trees seem to fall onto the tracks. A big effort by the 4WD clubs and Vic Parks have the tracks open but when we went down Randels Track there was some very tight squeese through the trees that were still standing.

I have just read the replies to the post I put in just before I left.
Yes I do go to the same place severial times a year on the shorter trips and once a year on the big trips, but it is not so much where we go it is the charatters that we have on the trip that makes the trip different. Eric from CYC would know that you will never get the same mob of charatters twice. Even though we had a family that did the Simpson Desart with us last year on this trip, when they were with the other people on tis trip it was comptley different.

On this trip we had a retired bussness man who was also a Austrailian Rugby selector, an Accountiant, a Builder and a Real Estate Agent. Now that is a very dirverse bunch of charters all with a different story to tee around the camp fire.

One of the quallifactions need to do this job as a profesional tour guide is to be able to get along with people of all walks of life

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 09:51

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 09:51
Sorry pressed the wrong button.

Now that i have read it I will leave it there.

Sorry about the spelling mistakes, didn't press the spell check button.

AnswerID: 141179

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 16:05

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 16:05
Hi Wayne,
Yep..agree with you there...its heaven !
I did my first solo trip down there in Nov 2002, spent a month in there and had a ball. Even though i mapped out my trip before leaving home, Things changed once i got there, closed tracks and fallen trees made for some very interesting unknowns. But even though at times it became border line as to weather or not to try it alone..i took a chance and enjoyed it so much.
Want so much to go again some time....and i will.

Glad you had a ball mate.
Ange.
FollowupID: 394857

Reply By: Tony - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 14:42

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 14:42
My love for the High Country comes from family connections with Matlock, Woods Point, Jamieson and Mansfield. I get down there at least once a year.

You wonder what drives some people to chainsaw a dunny aye. I supose small things amuse small minds.
AnswerID: 141203

Reply By: Disco Td5 - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 16:16

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 16:16
G'day Wayne ,
Nice report .
The chainsaw damage to the King Hut Dunny is very disturbing !
What kind of 'disturbed idiot' would do this kind of damage - and for what reason ?
My last visit to King Hut in January '05 was fantastic - with plenty of trout in the river just up from the hut campsite .
Do you have a website for your activities as a professional tour guide ?
Disco Td5 .
AnswerID: 141207

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 18:16

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 18:16
Will agree with that Wayne I do the cape at least twice a season and yes I do virtually the same track but hey its the people that make the trip.
You end up with 16 different characters and from all walks of life.

AnswerID: 141214