gregr
To my fellow GU owners with a 3.0 l TD - slightly battered but not bowed
Has anyone fitted a lucas or similar diesel fuel filter to a gu patrol -
mine is a 2004 ser IV and if so where and how did you fit it - not much room in there
i got 2
tank fulls of alleged crap diesel on a trip to the cape in 2004 one alleged tankful from an alleged shell outlet in
maryborough (red organic crap) and one alleged
tank full from an alleged BP outlet in
mareeba (
water ) - not good fun and we dont want to repeat that experience
thanks
see yu greg ( bris)
PS - incidently for those who may be interested one can allege a matter and not be fearful of being sued
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 21:27
Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 21:27
check out
www.morison.com.au
I have one of these units in line with my CAV filter (which I used a Denco "head" on the original Nissan primer unit and now use Lucas/Fleetguard etc filters....don't use the expensive Nissan filters).
I have read that if you try to use 2 whole filter set-ups (ie: original Nissan filter PLUS a CAV filter etc), you could experience problems with the fuel pump not being able to cope with the extra drag load.
However, the Morison unit is not a "filter" as such and causes no extra load on the fuel pumping system.
Hope this helps....it works for me.
Follow Up By: gregr - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 19:51
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 19:51
thanks roachie
i will check it out
mate yours is the 4.2 isnt ?
see yu greg
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 20:31
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 20:31
Yes Greg,
I've got a 4.2; but I reckon the principle is exactly the same...with the possibility that the 3L is slightly more finicky than the old fashioned 4.2
Reply By: P.G. (Tas) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 19:09
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 19:09
G'day Greg. I am going through the same exercise now with my series III. I just bought a Delphi (CAV) filter with the glass bowl (off eBay for $72 delivered).
With a little engineering expertise I'm sure it will fit between the original filter and the brake master cylinder. It will sit higher than the original (about 30-40mm), but that will help with the gravity feed to the original filter.
I have researched information about "fuel drag" with the second filter, and it seems the only real problem will be if you run out of fuel.
It seems that some fuel primers (on top of the filter housing) have trouble bleeding the original filter, let alone a second filter, so an engineering place I was talking too can build me an adapter that I can screw into the fuel
tank filler hole and allow me to use low pressure air (ARB tyre compressor) to bleed the system if the original primer isn't up to the job.
Follow Up By: gregr - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 19:54
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 19:54
thanks peter
i will have a look at that option
see yu greg
Reply By: Member - gujimbo - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 20:08
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 20:08
I am thinking of retaining the original filter assembly on my 3.0 lit patrol but might install a unit similar to the dieselcraft unit outlined on post 28395, this would atleast trap
water and other "rubbish before it gets to the main filter.The Morrisons de-bug unit would "kill" any diesel buds.
regards jim
Reply By: fourstall2000 - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 09:59
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 09:59
I agree with PG on this matter.
I fitted a CAV type filter between the existing and the brake booster.
Using the original bolts I fabricated a bracket for the new filter,fits
well and has no effect on engine performance at all.
The fitting of this extra filter was reccomended by the service manager of Yarra valley Nissan.
They have done this conversion for other customers to protect the fuel pump from failure.