Baby Backpack Carrier
Submitted: Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 22:31
JohnnyP
Just wondering if anyone knows of the ideal baby back pack that is comfortable, lightweight and easy to store. We are travelling with a 13 month old with a caravan and thought it would be handy to be able to carry her on our backs when walking rough tracks and stairs. It seems that a lot of the models are quite big and bulky so if anyone has any suggestions I would love to hear them! Thanks
Reply By: the real chopper - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 22:50
Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 22:50
We shopped around and found that the best models were the most cumbersome, the cheaper ones had a very ordinary harness and were made from pretty weak fabric.
We got the Deuter Kid Comfort 3, it's not easy to store, but it's got a great harness, heaps of features, comfy for dad to carry and bub to be carried in.
I guess it will come down to your priorities, as a hiker, I couldn't bring myself to carry the cheaper, more compact, versions.
Reply By: Member - Jezza (NSW) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 23:04
Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 23:04
I agree with the above reply, if you want quality you will have to compromise on compactness. I can recommend carriers made by Mac Pac (New Zealand company) - the "Possum" model from memory - they are very sturdy, have lots of features and have very good re-sale value.
Jezza
Reply By: Member - AdrianLR (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 01:41
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 01:41
Agree also with previous posts. We have a Tatonka with a full frame. I've cross country skied with it. The difference with the small packs is that you have much greater stablity, especially when the child goes to sleep and just flops around. They also have things like canopies from the sun & pouches for keeping bits in.
Our boys are 5 & 8 now and the pack's just sitting there waiting for me to put it in the trading post - if you're in
Melbourne you're welcome to try it out.
Adrian
Reply By: Rod - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 08:45
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 08:45
Travelled around Oz for 4months with an 18month old and used a backpack to carry the
young fella and did not take a stroller. Was a great idea.
My suggestion is to get one that can free-stand on the ground. Frequently he would fall asleep and you could take himoff your back and sit the backpack on the ground and he would sleep on. You could also leave him in there and use it as a makeshift highchair for feeding lunch etc.
Ours is similar to the blue and yellow on that Kathmandu sells, but bought elsewhere for much less. Came with the sunshade, pouches, change mat etc.
Reply By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 08:56
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 08:56
Second all of the above comments, buy one made by a good quality backpack company, they will know what is best to stick on your back.
We carted three kids with ours over 7 or 8 years, can't remember the brand but it could freestand, had a head rest, pockets to put crap in, was very comfortable(they all slept
well) and I could carry them for long periods without discomfort (except for the dead weight!).
The old story, you pay for what you get, if someone has one try it before buying.
Reply By: tdv - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 10:13
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 10:13
Ditto
I did the research a year ago and found you need to spend the money. We picked up a second hand MacPac from ebay for around $100. Best purchase ever for hiking. Yes it is bulky, but very lightweight. I just throw it on top of everything after the car is packed.
Reply By: Dean (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 12:36
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 12:36
Macpac Possum is the go. Ive just remembered Ive got one for sale. It comes with the full weather protection as
well, a bargain.
Dean
Follow Up By: DP - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 21:50
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 21:50
G'day Dean
I might be interested in your carrier if it's still available.
The MacPac Possum seems to be reccomended (even if by you!)
How old, what condition and most importantly - how much?
I've got a 15month old weighing approx 13KG - would it be suitable?
look forward to hearing from you - I'm at
Happy Valley, SA
Dan
Follow Up By: Dean (SA) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 12:57
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 12:57
DP, I'm down the
hill at Pasadena.
5-6 years old, excellent condition.
From memory the reccommended max, weight is 22kg, it really depends on what you can carry.
I carried my 2 children until they were about 2 and a half.
Price $175 which includes the full weather protection.
Give Paddy Palin a call for the current specs and price, around $400 I think.
If interested let me know and we can catch up.
Dean