For the trailbike enthusiests(sp?) out there...
Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 13:39
Member - Blue (VIC)
Went for a ride yesterday in Toolangi State
Forrest. We get set up at Dixons
Creek footy ground and enter the
forrest where Pauls Lane & Old Toolangi Road meet(just to give some bearing on which part of the
forrest I'm talking about). Very dissapointed to find several of the "fun" bike tracks with big washouts, bogholes and the like, bulldozed closed... Pretty signs and wire rope gates in place, it seems the meat heads who regularly rip gates out and remove DSE signs have had their desired effect... Another place slowly shutting down... These same tracks were good areas to take novice 4wdrivers/trailbikers to learn to handle and predict the handling of their new machines... Fun enough to get their pulse racing but not really dangerous if tackled with due care.
Pretty soon it'll be a weekender just to get your tyres on some dirt.
Reply By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 14:10
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 14:10
Hi Blue,
Very sad that mate. Seems to be the way its all heading thanks to some idiots who just dont care. Just 2 weeks ago, i got a call from some mates who finally went and bought some bikes to ride. Now comes the disapointment of taking them out there knowing full
well some of the tracks i used to ride at years ago will be either closed or patrolled by rangers. I was considering re- registering my bike just to be able to ride in state forests but it seems that even that may be short lived here in NSW.
sheers...Ange
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 14:25
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 14:25
You're right there Ange... Considered rec-rego but it has it's limitations and you have to bank on local cops having had a good day if you need to enter town for fuel/food... So I'm stuck with paying $400/year to go riding a handful of times... One thing the cops out Toolangi way will not abide is unregistered bikes and there are heaps out there... Good to see the TAC has done stuff all with my $50/year "motorcycle safety levy"... Hang on a minute, I did get an overly glossy brochure in the mail offering me a CD about bike safety... Please disregard my gripe against the TAC... Dipchits... Personally, I'd be more than happy to be harrassed by the rangers/cops on a daily basis if it meant the F'wit factor was driven out of our forrests. I think $10,000 on
the spot fine for ripping out a
gate should suffice... Confiscate your rig for the second offence... I should be a politician... Now that would be funny.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 16:04
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 16:04
Im in the same boat with my XR, and whats worse is Cammos QR50... Not a place on earth we can ride together that aint private property.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 17:11
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 17:11
The offer still stands...
Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 18:06
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 18:06
i rember 15 years ago at our bike club meeting we had some govo sheila at the meeting and we were talking about rec rego and where it could be used.
acording to her there was nowhere in vic that it was any good.
has it chaanged so now if we have rec reg is there somewhere to use it.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 19:41
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 19:41
Yea thanks Blue.
Will take you up on that one weekend... just too much on until new yrs :'(
cams birthday, club picnic, etc...
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 21:45
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 21:45
Diamond,
rec-rego has been overhauled and is a little more forgiving these days... It allows you to ride in state forrests but not on major through roads, any tarred roads or in any township or it's outer limits. Makes it hard to pick up fuel and food. It's all OK for a couple of guy's who have a regular loop and don't want to cross highways or require fuel/food but, as they are closing more and more tracks, it's kinda hard to establish a regular loop.
They really need to make an allowance for parents to have the capacity to teach their kids in a safe manner, without the expense and limitations of motorcross clubs.
Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 15:02
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 15:02
Sorry to hear this, Blue.
I dont ride trail bikes, but can only speak on their high level of cooperation and courtesy every time I have encountered them when travelling around in the dirt in my Landcruiser. But like us guys with 4
wheels .. there are enough meat heads out there to ruin things for everyone else.
Jack
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 17:46
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 17:46
Since selling my 360 H6 Montesa I have wanted another bike XR350 or 500 maybe, but even the
Otways are being severely cut back, used to be a haven for bike riders
ahhhhhhh
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 21:47
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 21:47
XR500... Now that was a man's bike...
Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 20:23
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 20:23
If you guys are interested in trail bikes check out the DSMRA www.dsmra.asn.au/ There is a branch in every State and also Major towns. We have a branch here in
Cairns with over 100 members. We can get access to areas private people are not allowed to go as the DSMRA carries National Insurance Liability. We encourage inexperienced riders and our rides are very
well organised. Lead riders, sweep riders, sat phones every ride is an adventure, quite a few girls are members and like novices are helped and encouraged. I have been riding road and dirt bikes for over 35 years and couldn't imagine life without them tho only dirt these days ATM. Current bike is an 04 Husvarna TE 450.
Reply By: DamoHJ61 - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 22:13
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 22:13
unfortunately the fines are a big deterrent for riding an unregistered bike, if you ride in an area where others frequent then it is highly likely you will end up copping a fine. I have gone through the dramas and cost of registering a bike for the very few times I cross a tar road.
Used to be a time when you could out ride the law but they seem to be so much quicker and younger these days....
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 00:13
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 00:13
When you have groups like one of the biggest "We get'em dirty" 4wd clubs running trips into Toolangi after 6 inches of rain in Feb in standard or slightly modified vehicles just to go chew mud and do track damage, what can we expect?
The same club is supposedly a Tread Lightly supporter.
Go figure.
geo