fitted boost gauge to nissan 3.0ltd

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 16:47
ThreadID: 28484 Views:4952 Replies:7 FollowUps:19
g'day all
i fitted the boost gauge to my navara 3.0ltd today getting max. boost reading of 15 psi. has any one fitted one to same or 3.oltd patrol if so what readings are you getting.
cheers toohey.

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 16:54

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 16:54
You fitted it yourself? Glad your Navara reads OK. We've yet to fit one to our Patrol, and solve any problems that may have caused the turbo hose to blow off when we last towed the caravan. Motherhen

AnswerID: 141543

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 17:42

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 17:42
g'day motherhen
yes i did ,less complicated than the patrol,no intercoolerjust a teepiece fitted in line under the boost sensor,i have done plenty of towing of my caravan,never had a turbo hose blow off ,i did fit better clamps than the original nissan ones when vehicle was fairly new (did'nt like the look of em')
cheers toohey

FollowupID: 395191

Follow Up By: DEANO WA - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 21:10

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 21:10
Motherhen, did ACDC ever reply to the correct installation position of the boost gauge ?????
FollowupID: 395216

Follow Up By: ACDC - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 22:26

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 22:26
Anywhere after the turbo is OK but the best place is the inlet manifold, drill and tap it.
I was on holiday's when you fella's were looking for me sorry!
FollowupID: 395229

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 09:43

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 09:43
Good to hear from you ACDC - sure hope you had a nice holiday. This topic has been followed by a number of us. Thanks for your reply. Motherhen

FollowupID: 395290

Follow Up By: Trev88 - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 12:03

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 12:03
Hi Motherhen

A mate has his patrol in the nissian shop to get his turbo adjusted his hose keeps blowing off as well (while under load 500kg boat & trailer up cement hill) he has put on hevey duty clamps and hoses but still blows off.

Have you fixed yours and what was the problem.

Trevor
FollowupID: 395365

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 12:12

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 12:12
Trev,

Sounds like an over boosting issue. Would be interesting to hook a boost guage up to see what is happening.

Leroy
FollowupID: 395368

Reply By: DamoHJ61 - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 22:03

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 22:03
Was it a hard fit up? I was thinking of fitting one to my 'cruiser - any tips???
What guage did you use?
Thanks.
AnswerID: 141599

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 06:15

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 06:15
sorry damo can't help you with the cruiser side of things.
cheers toohey
FollowupID: 395251

Follow Up By: prado_95 - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 16:52

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 16:52
Damo,

you could T into the boost sesne line on the pressure side of the turbo (probably between there and the HAC on 80 series TD).

Use a gauage that peaks just over the factory spec boost (7.1 to 9.2 PSI), so a 15PSI gauge is ideal. Thats what I have used - a VDO 15PSI unit.

ENG-TEK
FollowupID: 395901

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 01:44

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 01:44
toohey

why did you fit it if you don't know how to read it?

It's like wearing a watch and not knowing what time to set it tOOOOO

ps Ask NISSAN
AnswerID: 141638

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 06:13

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 06:13
g'day dick
the gauge is a auto meter brand,calibrationns are 0-35psi the max boost pressure reading i'm getting for my vehicle IS 15PSI.
nissan tech dept said this is spot on,could you please explain how i'm reading it wrong.
cheers toohey.
FollowupID: 395250

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 17:23

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 17:23
g'day RICHARD
iwas not being a smart a$se,best mate's name is richard i call him dick as does all his family
cheers toohey.
FollowupID: 395407

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 14:46

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 14:46
Ha smart ass the NAMES Richard
I don't hide behind pet names like most

"nissan tech dept said this is spot on,could you please explain how I'm reading it wrong."

No one said you were reading it wrong.

The questing was way fit it if you don't know how to read it,

not saying you can't read, but if you don't know what boost pressure it should be then why fit it?

Thats why comment about watch....

RICHARD
AnswerID: 141741

Follow Up By: Goons - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 16:26

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 16:26

He has fitted it to monitor his boost, which is what most 3.0lt owners should do. This motor has a habit of letting the boost go as high as 25-30psi without warning. This happened to my vehicle last month and a simple change of MAS returned boost down to 15psi.
I beleive toohey was just checking if 15psi is normal - which is what this forum is for isn't it?
FollowupID: 395401

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 17:19

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 17:19
Fair enough
FollowupID: 395406

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 18:12

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 18:12
g'day goons
also fitted a egt. gauge and calibrated water temp. gauge,i reckon the more i can monitor on this particular donk the better.
cheers toohey

ps to richard my explanation to you ended up in the wrong spot
cheers toohey
FollowupID: 395411

Follow Up By: DEANO WA - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 19:19

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 19:19
some body had their grumpy pills Richo
FollowupID: 395430

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 22:14

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 22:14
Yes
FollowupID: 395470

Reply By: DamoHJ61 - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 21:41

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 21:41
The cockpit on that thing must look like a fighter jet, how do you go monitoring all that info??
Do you drive it much or just enjoy working on it???
AnswerID: 141825

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 17:18

Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 17:18
g'day damo
it's start'n to look a bit that way,yep drive it every day &like add'n things as well,sometimes i have the co-pilot with me don't know if that's good or bad,nah just joke'n.
cheers toohey
FollowupID: 395576

Reply By: Goons - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 01:08

Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 01:08
Gday Toohey

EGT gauge is my next step, how do i go about setting this one up. ie which section does the temp probe go into and is there any drilling/welding required?........Is the Nav exhaust the same as patrol?....Bloody nissan make it hard enough to fit the boost gauge to the patrol.
This car is making me paranoid.........but i love tinkering on it so who cares.
AnswerID: 141861

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 16:32

Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 16:32
g'day goons
drilled and tapped the exhaust manifold before the turbo,removed it to do the job had to buy all new associated gaskets cost abit but better than drilling it on the motor,don't know about difference between navara and patrol,the guage is a thermogaurd diital read out they a advertised on this site,hope this helps.
cheers toohey.
FollowupID: 395570

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 20:46

Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 20:46
Goons,
I'm paranoid too (and I've got the tried and proven 4.2!!!!).
I've fitted the Thermoguard EGT gauge with probes both above and below the turbo, + a boost gauge, + an extra water temp gauge in top radiator hose, + oil temp gauge (sump), + oil pressure gauge, + low water alarm, + low oil pressure alarm.
Can't have too much information.
Now, if I happen to be in somebody else's vehicle (either driving or passenger) I feel "uncomfortable", cos I have no idea what's happening under the bonnet!!!!
FollowupID: 395619

Reply By: Flash - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 17:13

Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 17:13
I'm often quite amazed that any reasonably competent driver would NOT want a boost gauge.
On two occasions my GQ boost has gone ballistic because of a blockage on the sense line (there is a tiny hole on the boost adjustment which blocks. Very easily fixed- about three minutes work IF you know there's a problem.)
If I had no gauge I'd be driving around at 20psi plus boost and would have no way of knowing..... I'd fit one petrol or diesel, Nissan Toyota or anything else with a turbo. It's called cheap insurance.
AnswerID: 141987

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 17:21

Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 17:21
i'm with you flash
cheers toohey
FollowupID: 395577