Discovery set-up and service in Perth
Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 21:33
Rod, Sydney
Hi. My sister has recently bought a 2000 Discovery V8 with a view to some extended touring (not aggresive 4WD'ing). I have two questions:
(1) any recommendations on where to service landrovers in
Perth?
(2) any recommendations for essential modifications to prepare the vehicle for touring (around Australia travel, no trailer, 1-2 adults only, some
camping). The vehicle is currently in stock-standard form.
Thanks!
Reply By: Patroleum - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 21:39
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 21:39
Rod,
V8 Disco, LPG would be the 1st thing!
Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 22:16
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 22:16
Barbagello land rover, they basically have the monopoly on all things’ rover and anything relating to prestige motoring in
Perth.
Some one else may know of a independent land Rover mechanic in
Perth but I don’t.
If it’s in road form I.E sporting those low profile tyres on 17/18-inch rims, get rid of those. If it has the “Peasant Bar” as I like to call it, as it was most likely designed to push the Peasants out of the way as the lord of the manor drives throe the British countryside, Perhaps consider changing that over to a real Bull Bar.
Follow Up By: Pluto - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 09:00
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 09:00
Try Robson Bros. They 4WD speciallists, and in my experience, better equiped to service large vehicles that the dealers. Definately worth making an enquiry with them.
Follow Up By: RupertDog - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 16:18
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 16:18
Not an expert, but there is an independant Land Rover service place in Wangara. Not sure of the name, but is in the newer part of Wangara, (furtherst from Wanneroo Rd). I think it is called landrover service or landrover repairs or similar
RD
Reply By: PBob - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 22:24
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 22:24
Watch the back door for seizure in dusty conditions. Use it reguarly and work the lock
well.
Follow Up By: Member - Matt- Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 01:11
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 01:11
I've heard of some one who couldn't open the back door for a few days while travelling, and couldn't access anything eg RECOVERY GEAR because of the cargo barrier fitted. When questioning the dealer about the problem, the reply was, " we don't fit cargo barriers"
food for thought, Matt
Reply By: marcus - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 23:40
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 23:40
I reckon the Old Man Emu
Suspension with 50mm lift has improved the ride outtta sight.It now has that nice firm ride but comfortable and better handling.
cheers Mark
Reply By: PBob - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 07:10
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 07:10
Re the back door again. I had trouble opening
mine, but managed to keep it operating. I saw two girls at
Cairns who couldn't open their door for over a MONTH!! since they left
Darwin. It had all their
camping gear behind the cargo barrier. They were sleeping under a tarp that they bought, to keep the rain off. They were off to the dealer in
Cairns to get theirs open and I left and didn't find out how they got on. It is a problem on dirt roads. Has anyone a solution to this?
Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 07:43
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 07:43
You don't have to do much to the Disco for touring, i would be getting gas though or fitting the longrange
tank $1000 for 150lt one seeing as it's a V8, one thing is they are still not as thirsty as the petrol Patrol or cruiser but only have a 95lt
tank, better than the previous series 1 Disco but still not as much as it should be.
Also the door relates to the wheel carrier it doesn't help so have the door checked to make sure it has not dropped a bit, and clean it after dusty roads, we do this and so far no problems, a trick to knowing how to open the rear door is to push on it and at the same time pull the handle then open, this allows the mechanisum to release if it's dusty.
You don't need any lifts or after market
suspension if your not doing any hard offroad, as the Landy shocks and springs are very good, better than any after market stuff.
The Disco is like any 4B prepare it properly for trips and it will serve you
well on trips, we've been across the Simpson into SA & VIC and all around NSW and covered 30,000ks since febuary and haven't had a problem with the car and tow a 1.3t camper with us as
well, we love it and the more we drive it, the more we love it.
2001 TD5 Disco.
High Country here we come, look out VIC.
Follow Up By: Disco Td5 - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 19:30
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 19:30
I agree Baz -
Correct vehicle preparation before 'any trip' is essential !
Reply By: Disco200Tdi - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 10:06
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 10:06
You could try these people for service.
Discovery Automotive
Unit 4&6 22 Paramount Drive,
Enterprise
Park,
WANGARA,
WESTERN AUSTRALIA 6065.
Our 'phone # is: 08 9302 6680
Our fax # is 08 93026690
And if you are in WA country areas, our Freecall # is 1800 803 635
www.discoveryauto.com.au
As for setting up the vehicle.
Long range
tank, preferably a sill
tank.
Heavier rear springs if not SLS.
Two position cargo barrier. You can install behind the front seats and remove the rear seats for lots of cargo space.
Water bladder for rear passenger footwell.
Get a beadbreaker to suit the disco 2 alloys. (i think only the R&R beadbreaker will work) and make sure you have practiced at home.
Maybe a bullbar but this will mean you need to upgrade the front springs.
HTH
John D
Reply By: Alan H - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 11:42
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 11:42
Hi Rod. The last place to go to are the 2 main stealers or others with the same name as your sisters car!
When I had a Disco I got misleading expensive info. from the last mentioned above and with my Defender the servicing isn't done correctly by the stealers!
Try these people:
Kevin Falconbridge @ Rover-Tech (Jordan) in John Street, Bentley 9350 5633.
Very knowledgeable bloke who freely gives advice on anything LR.
Joe Grasso @ Franzone Motors, Brown Street, East
Perth.
My last service was done by them and very thoroughly although he charges heaps.
Follow Up By: Alan H - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 11:51
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 11:51
Hi again Rod.
My twitchy trigger finger did it again and sent my reply before I'd finished.
If she wants goodies to stick on it she should see Russell Booth at ARB Collingwood St. Osborne
Park. He won't rip her off too much!
He's always doing up old LRs and drives a Td5 Disco. Good bloke who gives decent advice and who gets his ugly mug on the box every now and again with 4 x 4 shows.
If he doesn't know it about LRs, it probably isn't worth knowing.
We did plenty of trips in our Discovery 300Tdi and enjoyed the comfort plus it was reliable as
well.
As someone else said though a bigger
tank is probably essential with the V8.
Happy motoring.
Reply By: bjnt - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 12:22
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 12:22
I very highly recommend 'Wilf Chambers Jaguar' for your servicing. Wilf is an ex-service manager of a previously mentioned LR dealer in
Perth who now runs his own workshop. It is in Guthrie St Osborne
Park. You won't get better service anywhere.
Follow Up By: Alan H - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 15:49
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 15:49
bjnt. That's nice to know.
One of their "ex" service managers (they've had a few) rang me recently to ask about where I was being serviced and told me "It's taken a long time but now I've got the service team I want"!
I asked if that was the same team of couldn't care less turkeys he used to have when working at another branch of the same stealers and I swear I heard him chocking!
I've been around machinery a long time and can tell when an inspection or drain plugs been moved or not and during his days as the so called Service Manager, they weren't.
They changed the engine oil only, charged top price for that and what they didn't change, then charged an "environmental levy" as
well!
I don't mind paying a decent price as long as the job gets done so I'll have a look at Wif's place for my next service.
Reply By: Baldrick - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 19:17
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 19:17
Rovertech, British Parts Service Centre, Discovery Autos, in that order. I have also heard good things about Guest and Puddey but haven't used them. We are lucky in
Perth as we have a good choice of competent independents.
The back door problem is easily fixed. It is caused by dust clogging the locking mechanism in the handle. All you have to do is prise off the plastic Land Rover badge on the handle (comes off easily), which reveals the mechanism, which is then easily de-clogged.
Follow Up By: greydemon - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:49
Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:49
Thanks for the door tip Baldrick,
mine opens but sometimes needs assistance from the key. I'll have a bit of a clean up behind the badge.
I also use Jordan RoverTech ... nice people, know what they are doing, but also know how to charge for it. Having said that I believe this to be true of ALL mechanics so they are probably no more expensive than anyone else.
Reply By: Disco Td5 - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 19:25
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 19:25
G'day Rod ,
Essential modifications for touring "Around Australia Travel " - Disco Series 2 V8
( not aggresive 4WD'ing ) - By a new 4wd owner - ( Your Sister )
1 - Get the vehicle 'fully serviced' by a mechanic that 'knows' Land Rovers
2 - Fit some decent tyres to the vehicle - like BFG All Terrains / Mud Terrains
3 - Fit a Bullbar - re Kangaroos / Emues etc. - if you hit one - you will know it !
4 - Fit a Snorkle - re water/river crossings - if you drown the engine - you stop !
5 - Fit a
UHF radio - Most farms and essential
services have access to this lifeline
6 - Do a 4wd training course or join a local club that provides 4wd training .
These are the very basics - before contemplating a long journey .
The other list - is very extensive - and expensive .
Just my two bob's worth ,
Disco Td5
Reply By: Rod, Sydney - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 20:58
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 20:58
Thanks guys!
I have been away for a couple of days and haven't had a chance to read your replys until now. I appreciate the assistance. Best wishes.