Rear window covers / heat stop
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 13:42
Rob80
Anyone have any good ideas for covering or shading rear windows of a 4WD to keep out sun/heat? I have a Series 80 LC but the idea would apply to any vehicle. Any good ideas out there? Curtains? solar film? or suchlike and the secret to fixing these to windows. I've tried Velcro and car sunshade material with limited success but these fall off after a while.
Rob
Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 13:46
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 13:46
I used solar film on the back window of my old work ute because the sun beating through the window was bugging me. Worked a treat. I had it professionally applied and the one window was only about $40.
Pete
Reply By: revhead307 - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 14:56
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 14:56
I'm interested in this problem too...trying to cut down the heat buildup in the rear where the car fridge will go etc.
what is solar film? is it different to normal window tinting?
Rev
Reply By: RustyHelen - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 14:59
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 14:59
Our windows are tinted anyway but I spent about $15 at Supercheap for one of those fold out screens with rubber stick on feet, also got the slip on ones for side windows (another $15) and they work both for security (hard to see what I have packed in the back) and sun/temp control. I'm happy with them.
I did solar film the Feroza (muck around car) soft top but it didn't last so I pulled it off.
Rusty
Reply By: Goons - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 16:12
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 16:12
repco used to sell 2m x 1m rolls of black perforated sun shade (approx $40). It is applied to the window using static, much the same principle as "L" or"P" plates. I had this on the back windows of my fore runner (5 years), worked a treat and never came off.
it seems they dont sell it as a separate film anymore, now it comes on a roller with
suction cups.
If anyone knows where to get just the film, them please let me know.
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 17:17
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 17:17
yeah i know the stuff, you can get it printed on one side for ads etc, as seen in the back window of taxis.
I hadnt seen it for ages, but i noticed it in stock at supercheap auto the other week, not sure of sheet sizes though.
cheers mate, Brad.
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 16:39
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 16:39
G'day Rob,
If you goal is to reduce internal heat whilst parked somewhere or the like. Mainly for keeping the fridges running at optimum I reckon you can't go past puting a computer fan in your window.
Made one up from some perspex and a big computer fan (dSE) which uses about .5 amp and shifts 6 cubic meters/ minute. On a recent trip I found that this would keep the car at the ambient outside temp. I also have tinted windows and a tinnie on top.
Follow Up By: revhead307 - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 18:20
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 18:20
Gday Beatit
How exactly did u put the fan through the window? did u make a whole new window out of perspex?
and does the fan continually run when the car is stopped?
Rev
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 09:35
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 09:35
Yeah, bought some perpex from the local plastics man. Got it the same thickness as the rear window and cut it to same size then glued two strips along the bottom so that can receive the window, then it's merely winding up the window to hold it in place. Cut a round hole to accomodate the fan and connected a length of wire with a cigi plug so I just plug it in when required.
I've only used when I had to
park somewhere hot but for normal driving I just take it out so that I can close the window for dust.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 17:17
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 17:17
I will be doing my 80 seies this arvo with a mix of price prand solar shields for 3 bucks each and velcro assisted with superglue. Dont bother with window socks they are great for cars but the first time i tookmy 80 off road i ripped them to pieces
Follow Up By: Trekkie - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 00:23
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 00:23
what is a "price prand solar shield"
Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 01:58
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 01:58
When keeping the car cool while parked up or when
camping I simply get one of those silver windscreen shades and physically shut it in the rear doors of the car.......open back doors, slide in windscreen shade, shut doors on it.
I used to do this on my 60 series with tail
gate too.