OT - Our wildlife encounter....
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 12:18
Al & Mrs Al (Vic)
there's been a few posts lately about wildlife both native and other and what people think of them....so I thought I'd share
mine and Callum's encounter.....walking through to the kitchen today I spotted my dog [Brittany Spaniel] known to all and sundry as LJ, in the crouched stalking position..I thought perhaps there was a duck about, but, no, there was an
Echidna was crossing the back yard..LJ was quickly despatched to his pen and Callum and I headed out to check out the visitor...
!MPG:8!
after not getting into Al's shed, the
Echidna then headed towards the fence
!MPG:9!
I've seen several Echidnas around Romsey, but not in our yard, though, we did use to own Wolfhounds...lol...and we didn't see a great deal of any wildlife then...it was great for Callum to get a close look and he was amazed when the
Echidna curled up...he was also fascinated by it's back feet....the
Echidna is now happily exploring the neighbours garden...Callum only got as close as the pics show, and happily sat on the ground several meters away and watched it go through the fence and into the yard beyond.
Lyn
Reply By: gramps - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 12:35
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 12:35
Great when kids can get up close and personal with some of our wildlife. Totally different perspective to books, TV or even zoos etc.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 13:12
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 13:12
Alby almost got killed by a duck I heard
Callum looks a bit like harry butler
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 13:23
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 13:23
but he doesn't have his hand up a log.....
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 13:53
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 13:53
g'day Bonz.,
got me thinking of Hoges on Harry Butler, "let's see if we can coax him down..."
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 14:36
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 14:36
"Alby almost got killed by a duck I heard"
Hey I thought you said yesterday he was killed by a duck? I cried myself to sleep over his loss last night, now your saying it was an almost???
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 14:45
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 14:45
Lol John go take a look back at that post, I corrected earlier erroneous information
Lynda he has that " I just returned him to his natural environment" look in his eye
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 16:02
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 16:02
OK no worries I'm over it, glad the duck was not hurt in the incident ;-)
Will sleep better now knowing that Alby's alright, So will jdy Green I guess.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 17:28
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 17:28
Lyn, they are facinating animals, the
echidna, have got down to eye level to have a good look and you know that would be a good look for me too. Yeh, a joke.
Have had koalas in the garden here and at the previous house too, but up a
blackwood there. Had a koala inspecting the calf shed a couple of years back, perhaps I should say casing the joint as he was hundreds of metres from any eucalypt.
I don't want to see any large wild life, sharks or bunyips if I go sea kayaking.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 22:13
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 22:13
Large wildlife you say.
I remember the first time I went Scuba diving with sharks off Jervis Bay.
There were 13 divers on the boat, I was last down the anchor rope. I didn't want to get there while the sharks were still hungry. When I got to the bottom one of the other divers pointed to a shark just behind me. When I turned to see it, the overwhelming compulsion was not to flee but to touch it.
Now this may sound stupid (can't wait for the replys to this) but I spent the next 20 min chasing sharks all over the ocean. I am not normally the one who picks up lizards or strokes the carpet snake at the reptile
park, I am not even real keen on patting the neighbours dog. But this shark was just so beautiful. Unfortunately it could swim faster than me, I never did catch it......probaly a good thing. :o)
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 17:42
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 17:42
yeah, we had quite a few over at the guim, they are grouse critters, heaps of blue tounges and even lots of platapus in the
creek.
Only 'local' critters i dont like have those little stripes along their backs (and 2 nasty teeth LOL)
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 19:57
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 19:57
Cute aren't they? No doubt Callum will have lots to say about the encounter. lol
Reply By: atoyot - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 22:10
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 22:10
We found a dead one on the road out the front a few months ago. The kids were fascinated with it, but sad that we found it this way. The kids insisted on a proper burial. I've seen lots on the sides of roads over the years; even saw one d!ckhead swerve to hit one.
Then last week, I though our Dobermann had a brown bailed up out the back, but he was jumping around a fair bit after poking his nose at this thing; turned out to be an
echidna. I can't imagine a dog doing any damage to one. We interfered in his wanderings a bit as we didn't want to find another one on the road, so on with the welding gloves and we re-located him down the back paddock. Still, they do wander over a large area so it probably won't make any difference, but I know the kids learn valuable lessons in life from these types of encounters.
I know I'm looking forward to catching the feral cat around here which is decimating the local
population of Eastern and Crimson Rosellas, King Parrots and anything else that moves(cept the Dobe!). Anyone suggest ways of taming feral cats? I'm thinking along the lines of a 410.
Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 23:14
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 23:14
.17 magnum is great for cats, but nothing beats a shotgun...
Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 00:57
Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 00:57
Here we go again!!! A 410 is fine Andrew. He'll be good and tamed after that LOLOLOL