question for truckster

Submitted: Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 12:49
ThreadID: 28572 Views:2631 Replies:12 FollowUps:7
you seem to be on a thing about shoes laces lately so im quite sure you will know how to help me out of this conundrem we had last weekend so it will never happen again to us or any one else.
when we were camping at the otways last weekend the worst thing that could happen to a four year old happened.
diamond had brang her 4 pairs of shoes to go camping with but 1 pair got wet.
the second pair were not suitable for the type of driving we were going to be doing.
the third pair was only half a pair as one was lost.
ps all socks were still in pairs.
now that left our darling daughter with only one suitable pair of shoes
dear darling dad she says can you please do my shoe laces up for me please.
of course i can sweet heart come over here.
now the trouble begins i snap one.
question is i tried to repair it by tying it together but i coouldnt get it through the little holes to tie up.
what would you recomend to (1)repair the shoelace so it will fit through the little holes.
(2)what else could be used when away 4wding for the weekend as a substitute for a shoe lace.
this is a real story and we have witnesses to prove if we are not believed.
any help really appreciated
thanks for your time and effort.
cheers mate

Reply By: Michael B - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 13:02

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 13:02
Diamond,

Have a look at my post in reply to Truckster, way down the bottom.

Was tongue-in-cheek, however on reflection a bag of various size rubber bands could do lots of little jobbies when out n about.

Rgds
Michael B (SA)
AnswerID: 142120

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 13:14

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 13:14
I didn't know rubber bands, when together in a large group of various sizes could produce lots of jobbies, that could get quite messy....lol
FollowupID: 395725

Follow Up By: Nick R - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 23:47

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 23:47
You should have asked JohnR, he would have been carrying cable ties in his tool box, would have done for the day, couple of bucks for 500 at bunnings.....
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 395797

Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 13:20

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 13:20
Jim,

Had we known that little shoe place near Gellibrand was in such close proximity to our camp site, we may have been able to save Diamond's pride and anxiety by purchasing a single lace from them. In fact we could possibly have been lucky enough to view the production process of a homemade shoelace and learnt from that. On reflection, we could have removed o few of Penny's golden locks, and twisted them together to form a suitably strong twine, and therefore shoe lace. Another solution could have been plaiting some long grass to form a robust shoe lace. In fact, maybe you should have a chat with Tab, as usually she brings wool along to quickly knit up a warm rug for Diamond to cover her knees on cold nights. What a conundrum!

Glenn
AnswerID: 142124

Reply By: Vince NSW - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 13:35

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 13:35
Growing up in the bush, weused sheets of iron & fenceing wire to fix / make everything. Time has now rolled on & we are in the 21st cent. The replacment for fenceing wire in this day & age are cable ties. Could these be used to aid a fair lady in need?
AnswerID: 142126

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 13:38

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 13:38
Duh, ever seen a cable tie fence???
FollowupID: 395728

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 13:56

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 13:56
Your just not looking close enough, then are you.
FollowupID: 395729

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 15:23

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 15:23
D-Jack - depends who fixed the fence!

My mechanical fitter son would use cable ties - uses them to fix most things aroung the house, my farmer son uses wire, i use, string, sticks, trees, anything i can find nearby at the time before the goats get out again.

FollowupID: 395738

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 17:22

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 17:22
The answer is definitely Australian...........Fencing wire and a pair of pliers
AnswerID: 142154

Reply By: ellmcg - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 18:53

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 18:53
Baling twine is an easier fix-all to manouver than fencing wire. But then again maybe not everyone's vehicles is over-run with it like mine is...
AnswerID: 142166

Reply By: D-Jack - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 22:38

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 22:38
and the answer is......

Fishing Line!
AnswerID: 142189

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 22:50

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 22:50
Diamond, all people have suggested fencing wire and knowing the Otways there aint none.

A handy alternative is the underwire of a bra, with that and a pair of pliers I reckon I could have limped the Titanic home. Shoes would be easy

AnswerID: 142190

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 01:19

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 01:19
Half the fun is removing the bra to get the underwear er sorry underwire :))))
FollowupID: 395801

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 23:26

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 23:26
Gaffa tape.

It has worked on footy boots in all codes all over the world for years.

If your chosen code is Rugby League or Union it will also keep your nose and ears in place. :o))))

AnswerID: 142195

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 01:20

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 01:20
And goes well with your handbag if your an Aussie Rules player :))))))
FollowupID: 395802

Reply By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 00:27

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 00:27
Couple of self tappers?
AnswerID: 142200

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 02:36

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 02:36
Firstly let me ask..... Is trucksters post about shoes / laces really a dig at some one who did something silly? or is it just the biggest post, answer the question, get a T-shirt thing again?

NOW, for the liitle girl with a broken shoe lace, I believe daddy should have taken a lace out of one of his shoes to help his little angel.
AnswerID: 142205

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 09:03

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 09:03
Very unAustrailian going bush without an emergency pair of thongs in the survival kit ,!!!!!,
AnswerID: 142222

Reply By: S&N - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 00:11

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 00:11
just rip out a foot of speaker wire! if you have changed head units/speakers, you have probably upgraded at least some, if not all of your speaker wire!
AnswerID: 142309