Cargo Barriers and Rear seats
Submitted: Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 20:33
4X4Treker
Had an interesting conversation with the South Australian police liaison officer today about the legality of removing the third row seats and installing a cargo barrier into 4X4’s as a permanent setup. In South Australia this is not a problem even though the vehicle is registered as a 7 seater and you have removed two seats thus making it a 5 seater. The only stipulation is that when you sell the vehicle you must return the vehicle to its original condition, ie back to a 7 seater.
Also the vehicle is still regarded as legal when you travel interstate regardless of any interstate laws as the vehicle is legally registered in South Australia.
Hope this clears up any concerns that I have seen on this
forum.
Treker
Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 03:45
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 03:45
Very intersting Treker
I thought you have to get a mod plate when you change the seating configurations...
well thats what I have read on here but it's to read your post
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:27
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:27
Qld only state to have mod plates :(
Reply By: drivesafe - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 07:27
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 07:27
Hi 4x4Treker, many of the 4x4 clubs in Qld., have been notified that the removal of the third row of seats will require the vehicle be inspected and an engineering certificate to be issued for the modification, or words to that effect.
What ever the exact wording is, is not all that important but the fact that the vehicle is classified as modified and needs an engineer’s certification mean that ALL vehicles being operated on a public road in Qld., must meet the legal requirements of that state. I can’t understand how police officer could say that because it was legal in SA that it negated other state’s laws.
If you are planning on coming up this way, it would pay you to contact Queensland Roads and get the exact requirements laid out for you and you may even find that you might be able to request some form of temporary exemption covering the period while you are in state, don’t know if this can be done but it’s something you could look into.
Follow Up By: 4X4Treker - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 18:48
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 18:48
Drivesafe
I ask the question because of many comments on this
forum, I also asked about trvelling interstate on purpose for the same reason and the Police Liasion advised me that he had been asked the same questions before and so he decided to
check with the other states and as I said in my original post no problem travelling from Sth Aus to any other state as the removal of the third row seats and the installation of a cargo barrier is not considered a safety issue, unlike doing a 3" lift and putting on wider rims with mud tyres.
Treker
Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 22:51
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 22:51
Treker,
I think Drivesafe has a good point, to put it another way. Just cause you have a vehicle registered in Northern Territory and the speed limit on many open highways is open, don't expect to come to QLD and get away with it. Road rules are not uniform from state to state, and they need to be adhered to regardless of which state you come from.
I do take on board what you say and it does make very good sense (removeing rear seats). I can't understand how the removal of rear seats makes a vehicle any less safe on the road. An engineers cert is (in my opinion) just stateing that a vehicle will be safe on the road, whether it has 5 seats, 7 or 8 doesn't make any diff as long as GVM weights are adhered to I can't see the diff.
Regards Trevor.
Reply By: the real chopper - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 08:39
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 08:39
What the police and Qld transport say and mean can be two different things.
People have been booked for having third row seats removed, when Qld transport came to our coub meeting they were asked the question, and the answer was that yes it is illegal to have passengers behind a cargo barrier and that if seats are removed for other than short term (their definition was 1 week) then that would requre a mod plate.
That's from the horses mouth
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 09:07
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 09:07
Treker,
Very practical, our SA Law Makers. (
well, most of the time)
I have the two "dicky seats" wrapped up in plastic protective covers in the shed.
When (if) I sell the vehicle, the rear seats will be the only new looking gear in the Jack:-)
And, having invested in a smicky Black Widow Drawer System, that will move from vehicle to vehicle.
Reply By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 09:22
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 09:22
If your vehicle complies with the state legislation in the state that it is registered in, there is no compulsion to change the configuration of the vehicle to comply with another states legislation when you travel in that state. If you lived in another state from where your vehicle is registered for over 3 months, then the vehicle is to be registered in that state. i.e, if you are on an extended holiday, you should re-register your vehicle if your stay is over 3 months.
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 09:55
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 09:55
Yep, i just got the roadworthy on my new jack, 7 seater with cargo barrier installed, it had the seats loose in the back, i didnt install them as the cargo barrier states that no persons are to be seated in the back at all. So yes RWC issued without seats bolted in - no problem.
ps- i'm in vic.
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 14:26
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 14:26
I must really be in the poop . I have taken out the third row and second row seats and installed a cargo platform between the caro barrier and the front seats .
Maybe I should get an engineering certificate to cover the changes . I don't know how NSW laws would view this.
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - Tony G (ACT) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 17:43
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 17:43
With only two front seats it maybe classed as a van and will cost you heaps more.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 07:05
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 07:05
No if hes got it set upfor
camping it can be reg as a caravan if in SA or a mob cvn if in WA and just pay the normal 6cyl rego I have done it with a ute and an Urvan
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 21:53
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 21:53
If you are reducing the number of seats, there is no issue. Different story if you fit more seats.
That Qld stuff was a beatup, and that sort of stupidity wasn't confirmed in other states like SA.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:31
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:31
Sadly not.
A dude in Vic got nailed for this recently and 4wd Vic are working on finding out with Vicroads what the go is with it. It was in the latest newsletter which is on the 4wd vic site - PDF
Removal of Car Seats
It is with the greatest concern that it has been reported that a club member was fined by Victorian Police for having a storage system in the rear of his truck.
Members are advised to download the report on this issue from the Association website and keep the report in their glove box. In the event that a member gets pulled over, provide the report to the police officers, obtain his or her name and number, note the date and location and provide the information to Brian Cox at the Association office.
The Association is taking the matter up with Vic roads and Vicpol to obtain clarity and direction. It is clear that removing seats does not change the engineering of a motor vehicle inmost cases. A further report will be provided as the issue develops.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:33
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:33
Its a curly one really...
Like in Victoria Box trailers dont have to be registered (I dont fully understand it but there ya go its law). But Im bettin if you went to NSW with it unregistered, the bacon would have a field day.