Adjustable shocks,which are best?

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 10:08
ThreadID: 28587 Views:3115 Replies:12 FollowUps:9
Having tried many systems on my GU nissan to get the best ride,I find the softer shocks combined with heavier springs gives the best results.
Of course with a load the shocks have to do more work and require to be firmer.
Which adjustable shocks have forum members found to be the most durable and effective?
Your experiences would be appreciated.

Reply By: WheelTravel - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 10:20

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 10:20
I have Tough Dog Adjustables... they haven't been special.

Apart from the Plastic adjustable knobs being ripped off by stones rocks etc.(replacement $15 each) they don't have common bushes meaning you have to get them off 4WAY. This is what I was told anyway.

I had 2 fail on me and struggled to get them replaced under warranty.

Apart from that... they have been fine!
AnswerID: 142230

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 10:23

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 10:23
The Tough Dogs come in 2 different sizes.....are yours the bigguns, or the small ones?
FollowupID: 395827

Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 11:39

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 11:39
45mm Big Bore $245 a corner
FollowupID: 395831

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 14:47

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 14:47
Thanks mate.....I'll file that info away for next time......steer clear of (not-so) Tough Dog krap.
Sorry to hear that you've been caught.......my TJM XGSs are okay so far.
FollowupID: 395837

Reply By: mattie - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 12:59

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 12:59
I have rancho adjustables on our GU set on 4, i think they go up to 9? But i have not played with them we have kk that puts a big weight on the draw bar, they have only travelled 15,000km 10,000km with the kk around longreach and down through camerons corner. I put adjustables because i worried about the car being rough to ride in empty with the heavier springs but rides better than the original suspension.

Mattie
AnswerID: 142239

Reply By: Phil P - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 14:00

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 14:00
I have Koni's with HD Springs. I had the rear Koni's adjusted to be "less firm" this works for me. I have had one Koni fail, it was fixed under warranty with no hassles.
AnswerID: 142244

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 17:40

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 17:40
KONI's - no argument or debate available.
AnswerID: 142268

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 17:54

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 17:54
I just put some 9909 Rancho's on the back of the surf, I was quite happy with the stock shocks for ride, however I wanted more travel hence the upgrade. I was running them on 4 out of 9 but have now reverted back to 2 out of 9 for around town and am quite happy with it. I'm the same as you, I find the hard springs with softer shocks are good around town, however on the highway especially with a load the stiffer shocks are much better.
The 9909s are actually for an F100 UTE so I think that's why I have to run them so soft round town as they were probally a bit of overkill for the lil' ol' surf, but so far I've been extremely impressed with the ride, we've only done two off road trips so far with them on (only a couple of thousand k's travelled) but the difference in the ride from the stock shocks is very noticable, now the IFS has a rougher ride than the back live axel (it's still got stockies on the front). Most impressed anyway. Of course having so much articulation that your springs fall out at full drop is kinda cool too! ;-) We'll see how they go after a few more thousand k's, but so far so good. I think they cost me about $170 each so not too bad I reckon.
AnswerID: 142270

Follow Up By: Exploder - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 19:13

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 19:13
Where did you get your Rancho’s from in Perth if you don’t mind me asking, or did you order them in from a 4WD suppler over east?

I am looking at getting some RS5000 for the front of mine.
FollowupID: 395853

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 19:42

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 19:42
Wilkinsons in Bayswater. If you are a member of Perth4x4.net you also get a discount, and membership is free so might be worth looking into, saved me some $$$ when I did mine.
FollowupID: 395855

Follow Up By: Exploder - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 23:25

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 23:25
Cheers for that.
FollowupID: 395871

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 22:46

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 22:46
I actually had a chance to go try out the new rear setup in the hills today, most impressed with the Rancho's not just with travel but the ride quality was just brilliant. I just hope they last the distance! ;-)
!MPG:14!
FollowupID: 395930

Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 21:31

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 21:31
Good stuff, I gave them a ring today at work, and to my surprise they have a set in the shop for a explorer I am going in this week to pick them up.

I do hear a few people bagging Rancho’s on this site, and then they supply a list of other shock’s they have been thro, then I start to think maybe it’s not the shock it’s what they do with it that keep’s F***ing it.

FollowupID: 396045

Reply By: fourstall2000 - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 08:46

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 08:46
Thanks for the feedback Guys and Gals.
I gather the Ranchos are free from the problems of the Tough dogs?
Konis I am aware of but I have seen several fail at the eye welds.
AnswerID: 142323

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 11:06

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 11:06
In that case you have made your mind up and Ranchos are definitely the ones for you.

And remember to keep in mind:

Do what's right. Do it right. Do it right now.
FollowupID: 395890

Reply By: Carchania - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 10:30

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 10:30
gday mate
i have the big bore tough dogs on my gq, with the incar adjuster so i dont have the problem with the knobs being ripped off. they have been excellent so far except for something i dont think the bloke who installed them thought about. when going through water, the little compressor that adjusts the shocks gets wet and it really disagrees with water. so for about 3 weeks my car has basically had no shocks as i cant adjust them and they have gone to as soft as possible so its like driving a camel! i get it fixed under warranty next week and then everything will be good again, might get him to move it somewhere away from the elements though!

Leayton
AnswerID: 142327

Reply By: fatz - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 11:57

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 11:57
I now have Tough dog big bore adjustables on the 100 series and am very pleased with them. They have covered about 15000 kays so far and have given me no dramas. I also have the in cab but have not fitted it yet. I had a set of Ranchos before the tough dogs and they were stuffes after 30,000 kays. Ranchoes are good for lighter vehicles but wont last long on the heavier vehicles.
AnswerID: 142331

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:28

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:28
"I find the softer shocks combined with heavier springs gives the best results. "

Just remember that the job of the shock is actually to "control" the spring and the other suspension/unsprung weight components incl. wheels and tyres. The heavier the spring/heavier the tyres etc, the harder the shock required and vice versa. This is why you will often hear manufactureres like ARB claiming the springs and shocks are "matched".

Personally I have Kings HD and Koni's, .5 turn at the front 1 turn at the rear after playing around a bit.
AnswerID: 142391

Reply By: NissanNut - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 01:09

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 01:09
KONI
AnswerID: 142419

Reply By: NissanNut - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 01:11

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 01:11
KONI - Tough Trak. The best that money can buy. Low failure rate and they replace them with no Q's asked. I've only ever heard of them being replaced......
AnswerID: 142420

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 10:12

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 10:12
Do you really need adjustable? My ranchos died 4 times before I went with quality shocks

IMHO after havin had them they are a bit of a wank. I think your better off with good quality shocks.

also the koni's arent as easily adjustable as others.. but they would be the best.

TJM also have adjustable shocks, Tough D's but are startin to get a few bad reports from people who USE them.....

Rock and a hard place really.
AnswerID: 142441