Jacking loads
Submitted: Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 21:50
If, for instance, you need to jack a Lancruiser up (at say, 2.5 tonnes) what would be the minimum jack capacity you'd need? You're only effectively jacking up one corner of the car which can't be anywhere near 2.5 tonnes, so, would a 1.5 tonne jack do the job safely?
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:02
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:02
Not sure about the term "safely"...........
My Patrol is around the 3T mark and I carry 3 jacks: the OE bottle jack, a Lion brand 6T hydraulic one, plus the High Lift jobbie.
My first choice for jacking (for say a flat tyre) is the 6T jack. It does it easily (as you'd expect), but I wouldn't say it is overkill. I certainly wouldn't like to try to lift a wheel on my truck with a 1.5T jack.
The biggest consideration (IMHO) that you need to consider is the size of the jack in both it's extreme positions. Because of the height difference you can experience when your 4by has a flat tyre, a jack that is short enough to fit under the axle when the tyre is fully flat, may not have enough height capability once it's fully raised, to get the new tyre onto the truck. You need to check this out pretty carefully (in your driveway etc is best, rather than waiting til your on the side of a lonely track somewhere).
My theory is to go for the biggest jack you can get hold of that meets the criteria mentioned above.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 00:27
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 00:27
Oooooh! Roachie.
Excuse me Sir! How can you so straight faced and blatantly state to the
forum that that 'thing' you drive weighs in at 3T.
Forum-ites, I have personally witnessed/perused this vehicle and I can tell you that the only reason he has air horns hidden on the top is because he needs to warn other road users that he is - Cumming through.
THAT is why he carries the 6T jack.
Roachie mate, I just luv your posts (ROFLMAO)
PS
You leave Jumbo (Oops! Meant Jimbo) for dead.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:53
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:53
You reckon that Roachies' truck may nearly match Lucy? I doubt it even if you left Diedre out and Annette was in the Roachie machine. Now Mosses has been on the weight loss regime, you can hardly tell me he is as heavy as Lucy either. LMAO
The only thing is of course that Roachie carries the world with him in the Ultimate........... Just as all trailer owners do. Have space for an additional generator capacity.
Since the yellow exhaust jack blew I have added a 10 tonne bottle jack to help you with the beloved Lucy when she gets her
wheels in. No more difficult to carry than the exhaust jack and more compact. Not like some carrying a workshop trolly jack!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 03:57
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 03:57
Sometimes I wish I had never met you bunch of cootas. (LMAO)
Are you sure the cows don't need attention or you have to take SWMBO on a 'plastic therapy' trip.
K
Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:10
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:10
I suppose the thrust of the question is that I was thinking of picking up one of those trolley jacks for $30 from supercheap. I think I'd probably just use it at home and wondered if the 1.5 tonne would be Ok for rotating tyres and lifting the caravan onto stands to take the weight off the tyres etc. I suppose they're a lazy man's tool in that they're easy to chuck under and quickly jack up.
Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 00:16
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 00:16
I have a 1.7T Trolley jack and it will lift the front or back of the Explorer thou it feels like it struggles a little as it gets up to it’s maximum lifting height. The Ex weighs in at around 2Tonne
So I think the 1.5 may be a little underpowered or borderline at best, and with the Super cheep brand behind it you can never be too sure how solid it will be.
Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 23:19
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 23:19
I always use a hi-lift jack to take the weight of the bodywork off the
suspension then just use a screw jack to life the wheel high enough to get it off and the new one back one again.
Bilbo
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 23:53
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 23:53
Got a 4t jobby from Supa Cheap and it does the job great on the haeavily loaded Nissan and the van. Using a base plate.
Easy as but hate laying in the dirt, howeverlife's like that!
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 00:53
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 00:53
Morning Steve.
I will be serious now ( I know soime think that that bi impossible).
Use the OEM supplied jack in the first instance and alternative jacks for specific purposes.
What I do.
Anyway, in the Troopy I carry and air jack, two bottle jacks ( one Toyota and one Nissan)and a genuine (not look alike) Hi-lift jack.
The two bottle jacks are a recent addition.
Why you ask,
well its like this.
In May this year I was a passage controller with the OBC and had the good fortune to observe first hand how the so called 'Pros' do business.
Most use OEM Toyota or Nissan Bottle jacks which I must say had me 'p i s s e d & amazed seeing as how many times those vehicles were lifted during the competition. Some used bottle Hydraulic Jacks and there was the odd Hi-lift.
I made a sarcastic comment one night as to how the Nissan Bottle Jack was a deads ringer copy of the Toyota one and was promptly put in my place as to how the Nissan one compresses further than the Toyota one and lifts/expands higher, albiet ever so slightly. However in that business every Bees D i c k in difference is gold.
I trashed a Tyre whilst Convoy Commander one day and advised that I was stopping via the UHF.
Car behind radio'd back - soon as you stop give us the jack and you get the spare off.
On this outing I had decided to take the OEM Toyota jack kit along with the Hi-lift and had it stowed within arms reach behind the drivers
seat.
Result: (1) The bottle jack was slipped straight under the spring pack, and had raised the vehicle with the trashed tyre wheel removed as I wheeled the spare around.
(2) Spare fitted to vehicle and lowered by the time I had fixed the dead tyre to spare wheel carrier.
All up 5mins.
OEM jacks are rated for the vehicle they come with and there is not much to go wrong with them either.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 01:34
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 01:34
I am amazed at how many people i see that dont know how to use the original jack even though the instructions are on it. I came accrossa guy on the Transline trying to drive up onto his spare and showed him the correct way.
I am surprised however it fitted under your spring pack as that jacking point is usually only usable with soft ground to dig the jack down or a flat that hasnt gone down yet
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 10:46
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 10:46
Can't fool you Davoe (Good morning as
well)
Yep! you are spot on in what you say about fitting the OEM jack under the spring pack, however in the instance I described above, I omitted to tell that it was on the Corona Rd, back of
Broken Hill and the 'boys' did scoop a bit of loose chit out (not much mind you) to slide it under the s-pack into position.
THATS why I now also carry a OEM Nissan one (looks almost identical except for colour) because that sucker winds both up & down further.
I made a ply template which is fixed to the floor behind the drivers
seat that they both sit in alongside each other. Very easy to get to and don't move anywhere.
AND its the only thing I know of that Nissan has designed/made that performs better than others without requiring modification to so.
Just goes to show that I am not adverse to thinking/using outside the 'Toyota Square'. (LOL)
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:47
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:47
The "correct" way is to jack them up by the axle. However there is a fair bit of travel before you get to the axle so when fully jacked up it is near full extension. To make things easier a thick jacking plate can raise the jack. or on sandy ground - as you did digging it down so you can access lower jacking points. Many people think they dont work but I rarely use anything else but the OEM jack
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 22:27
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 22:27
Only two more things to say and then I'm done on this one and they are:
Hell, there are no rules here--we're trying to accomplish something
and
If the facts don't fit the theory, change the facts.
Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 08:34
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 08:34
Cheers guys. I always have a couple of good jacks on the road with me. I was wondering if the 1.5t trolley would suffice at home. Probably best to shake the moths out of the wallet and get a better rated one.
Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:37
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:37
I have a 1.7 t rated trolley jack to use at home on a good hard floor.
It's Ok, but only juuussst OK.
My GU weighs, like Roachie's, about 3 t.
With lifted
suspension (2" ) the trolley jack struggles to get a flat trye high enough to put a properly inflated spare back on. I now use a hard wood block of wood to assist with the lift height.
If I had by chance to purchase again, I would go a 5 t or more. The 1.7 t model I bought is too bleep weak. (my hydraulic bottle jack is 8t & it's most satisfactory to use even though I'm only lifting 1 to 2 t.)
Station owners sometimes, in the back of the ute, carry a trolley jack & a bit of a baseplate. But I've never seen a station owner buy a bleep y Supercheap or similar retailer model. They know better. Wish I had known better.
Hope this helps,
Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:56
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:56
not talking about hydrauluc bottle jacks - just a trolley, but I've not seen em rated above 2.5 for your average user.
Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 22:01
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 22:01
Rick, think I might just stay as I am with my normal bottle jacks for the car and get a cheap trolley 1.5t for the van to put it up onto stands.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:07
Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:07
Hi Steve,
Years back I had a cheap 1.5 ton trolley jack - started leaking after 12 months, and was struggling with the troopie I had at the time.
Upgraded to a 2.25 tonne trolley jack - much bigger, more stable unit, which has worked nicely over about 6 years - can sit it under the diff and lift both sides, but these days I'm a bit of a safety freak, and only do one side at a time.