Catalogue sale, new Engel 40lt FYI
Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 17:29
Wisey (NSW)
If your after a new Engel 40lt complete with transit bag, inverter, small basket plus cap and stubby holder $1200. Boots great outdoors NSW stores only.
I have no affiliation with this business or engel.
Reply By: crewser - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 18:23
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 18:23
Whats the inverter for,?
Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 18:29
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 18:29
Yeah!!???
Follow Up By: Wisey (NSW) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 20:17
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 20:17
Part of the package!! Don't imagine it would be to run the fridge. It has the brand name on it, no wattage size on it by looking @ the pic. Maybe an inducement.
Reply By: monkey68 - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 20:24
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 20:24
Yes Great package saved a couple hundred dollars if buying everything later, so i brought one for the wife for xmas, hope she will like, if she doesnt i can find someone who can use.
Anyway the inverter is a 150watt to use with 240v appliance ie laptop /platstation to keep the kids quite.
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:06
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:06
That's not a deal! I got one of those cheapo supercreapy 42L compressor fridge/freazers for $299 the other day, They had one setup with a deep cycle battery on the
shop floor so I switched her on and it's sides were cold within seconds and it's supposed to get down to 1c in 2 hours and the digital thermostat goes down to -16c, so for me WOOHOO! ;-)
But yeah, if you got $1200 and are into engels, it's probally a great deal...
Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:12
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:12
Blasphemy! Heretic!
Mentioning Engel and Supercreapy in the same post. You'll burn bro :)))
Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:22
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:22
Jeff,
Are you talking about one's from super cheap? the reason I ask is I have a mate who is looking for an elcheapo 2nd hand but this may be a better and cheaper again option.
I'm from the other side (of the country) but if it was from a national dealer I am sure the price would apply here as
well.
Thanks Trevor.
Follow Up By: Banjo 1 - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:52
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:52
Yebbut the Engel will still be running ok next year.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:48
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:48
Yeah I doubt they would have any left as I went in the morning the sale started (last thursday) at about 10:30am and the store I went to had already sold out. I drove to another store and they had 4 left when I got there but they called them before I left the first store and they reckon'd they had 7!
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:50
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:50
Banjo for $600 yeah wouldn'nt have been prepared to take that risk, but for $300, I reckon even if it does pack it in next year it's still cheaper than renting an engel for that period and seeings as I can't afford to by an engel, I reckon that's alright in my books. And who knows, it may be a little ripper and go for years.
Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:59
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:59
Thanks Jeff,
Worth the 30c phone call anyway, never know your luck in the big smoke hey.
Trevor.
Follow Up By: Banjo 1 - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 11:07
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 11:07
Point taken Jeff - its a not a bad idea for that outlay, compared to renting as you say. Give it a good blast during the warranty period..... as you say, if it survives that it might never stop !
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 11:44
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 11:44
Yeah the family trips should be a walk in the
park for it, but if it survives even one "boys" trip out, it'll be a good
sign! LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 14:04
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 14:04
Thanks Jeff,
My local super cheap still has them in stock but the mongrels want to charge us $399 over here ;-(( . Still a good buy I would think so Have left a meesage on my mates phone and may go and pick one up tomorrow if he wants.
Cheers Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 14:07
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 14:07
That's so ironic, I remeber when they first brought those fridges out and you eastern states guys had a $100 cheaper price than us, the excuse was the old freight one. Now they $100 cheaper here!! Work that one out would ya!?
Follow Up By: Wisey (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:24
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:24
Sounds good Jeff. I hope you get many a cold bevy' out of it for a long time to come (12mths, TIC- Tounge in cheek) As long as it meets YOUR needs :)))))
Give us some feedback from a trip, I'm curious?
CHEERS
Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 19:10
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 19:10
i rang up belmont the day the catalogue came out & the salesgirl told me they werent the compressor type ------ bitch
Reply By: Yarn - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:26
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:26
I recieved another Catalogue from Kangaroo Tent City (NSW Only) offering the Engel 40lt for $999 (No Accessories).
Follow Up By: monkey68 - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:28
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:28
Price is not everthing, you will buy bag and other accessories later so i thought package was a lot better from Boots 4 me