Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:03
gareth
I just got a 79 diesel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
02 model and 79,000km on the clock, $29,000!!
one question for anyone in the know: it doesnt have a sub-
tank... is it an option on the land cruiser utes and can i add an aftermarket long range talk or can they only replace tanks on cars that come with sub tanks?
Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:29
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:29
I think that a single 90Ltre
tank is available but only for the T/Top or Ute, why you would ditch the standard 90Ltre Sub
tank and just have the single 90Ltre
tank I don’t know.
I suspect this is what has happened in your case.
Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:33
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:33
Let me clarify that.
They come standard with 2, 90Ltr
Tank’s main and Sub. I think on the T/Top and Ute it is an option to just opt for the single main 90Ltr
Tank but why they would of done this I don’t know.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:39
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:39
I worked at a place that ordered them without the subs and they were far better as the subs are prone to having fuel lines ripped out ( this was for extreme work though) with 3 years and 70k on it it and no sub it sounds suspiciosly like one of these vehicles with the lease expired. They were dollyed up and handed back to the lease company Auctioned off by the lease company with the purchaser none the wiser they dont have a straight panel on them
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:30
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:30
Not having a sub is a pluss if you intend on using it for what it is desighnred for - Really tough bush work as those sub lines rip out easily. However putting a sub in should be fairly easy as most came with them so i would try the wreckers. Chances are it has the spare where the sub should go so that will need re organising. You will also need the solonoids and wiring to use the sub as
well as the fuel lines although you could probably make your own out of fuel line - just tuck them up
well
Reply By: gareth - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:50
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:50
so should i be crying and putting the thing up for sale. or is it a vehicle thats a bit rough but will give me years of happy 4wding?
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 05:31
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 05:31
Just winding you up but it deffinitly does pay to check out tojo utes very thoroughly as most have had a life of work but you need to try and find out how harder work- a
well bashed underside and chasis rails full of mud along with sticks leaves and crap in crevasis where the detailers didnt think to look are dead giveaways. I reckon their top vehicles and kitted out should be just the thing out bush
Reply By: old mate - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:32
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:32
Gareth,
I would say that the original owner ordered it with out a sub
tank to try and keep costs down. A 3 year old 79 with only 79000kms on it would suggest to me that it has had an easy life. Where is your spare mounted? Underneath or in the back? Troopies with out the sub
tank have the spare underneath, ones with a spare
tank have it on the rear door. My company runs a large fleet of 78 and 79 series landcruisers, all have the sub
tank fitted and would suggest that try the wreckers and get the complete set up and it should al bolt straight in including the dash switch and
tank switch over solenoid. The only thing woulkd be to get your fuel gauge sorted out so it will read the sub
tank.
Follow Up By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:30
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:30
old mate,
Read your post where you said your company ran a large fleet of 78 and 79 series cruisers.Its not about the sub
tank but Ihave heard that between 2000 and 2003 models(non turbo) the connecting shaft between gear box and transfer box was changed and subject to problems whereby the splines would strip leaving you with a no-go situation.Apparently Toyota returned to the old shaft in 2003.Do you know if this is fact or not?Any factual info. would be appreciated.
Follow Up By: old mate - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:01
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:01
G'day Rambler,
My last ute was a 2000 78 series, 123000 kms on the clock and the shaft you mentioned did let go on me, had heard of 4 others in the fleet doing so at that time. i believe it was a splined tube that connected the shafts of the gearbox to transfercase and the splines would strip out. As far as I know Toyota have fixed this, current work ute is a 03 79 series with 240 000 kms on it and no problems and have not heard of any others having dramas with them.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:06
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:06
Good stuff Gareth. New ones are over $50k.
Can't go wrong with what you've bought.
Any plans for what you're going to do with it??? Canopy etc??
They used to say the sub
tank and
snorkel were "delete options" meaning you would pay them money to not have them, so it wasn't often taken up. Surprise, surprise. Toyota no longer offer this delete option - not sure when they stopped doing it.
Enjoy your truck. Keep the posts coming if you have any questions, and theres also 70scool and the traytop
camping groups on Yahoo if you're interested.
Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 16:36
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 16:36
Old mate,
Thanks for your prompt reply re the splined shaft which confirms what I have heard along the 'grapevine".I drive a 2001 Troopy which is now doing 147000km so it is a bit of a worry.Iwill just have to hope for the best as I understand it costs about$1200 to change the shaft.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:30
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:30
Just browsing Ebay. Sub
tank for sale there in Kalgoorlie:
link
Not you selling it Davoe??
phil
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:24
Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:24
Told you I was bored at work! all our utes have subs except for one ................. now
Reply By: Member - Hughesy (SA) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 10:46
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 10:46
Gareth,
As Davoe has mentioned it might be an ex
mine vehicle. All our underground vehicles (we purchase second hand ones because it is a waste buying a new one for down here) have the sub
tank taken out on arrival because the mud packs in around them and they rust out. Plus you don't need 180L of fuel when your never more than about 10km from a fuel bowser. Don't let that worry you. My current and previous cruisers were both ex-
mine and I have had no dramas with either. So long as you checked it out
well your laughing. Especialy for the price. Enjoy!!!