Ethics of home defence Vs snake invasion

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:24
ThreadID: 28641 Views:5199 Replies:22 FollowUps:31
When you are out of the house and in thongs - on the feet type guys, don't get excited. SWMBO cries S N A K E on the veranda what are the ethics of defence?

Does it have to be
1)head inside the door ?
2)1 metre from the door?
3)on the veranda heading to the door?
before you blast a hole through it with the closest available weapon, filling in the wall or floor afterwards and washing the blood away to tidy up.
I realise this is a bit more formal than a campsite where unexpected visitors arrive.

Normally I reckon they deserve a life just like any other one of us with feet on the earth. Step aside John to let them be, or drive the opposite side of the road to let them crawl away to catch some mice or baby cats.

Four holes and a nearly severed head later, this one was dispatched humanely and swiftly and fortunately the shot didn't blast out too much mortar and just added to the distressed effect of the exterior wall, but the blood spatter did take a little more effort. I mowed the grass outside the garden fence after that too. Will make sure it is down a little more before any EO gathering here....

Will never hide again with the camping gear ready to trip up in Moses posing as a snatch strap.

Reply By: Member - DickyBeach - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:30

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:30
A 5 iron would probably work just as well.
AnswerID: 142578

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:34

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:34
but you need to get too close with a club..best to keep back as far as possible
FollowupID: 396101

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 14:25

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 14:25
Well Nudie , perhaps he should have selected a longer iron !
FollowupID: 396146

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:58

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:58
i would still miss...a shottie wouldnt
FollowupID: 396201

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:34

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:34
12 gauge willem style would have been better
AnswerID: 142579

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:39

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:39
I didn't say it wasn't a shottie Bruce ;-)
FollowupID: 396104

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:38

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:38
I prefer a .22 with a short bullet, easy, clean and challenging

FollowupID: 396216

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:55

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:55
John,

We have had cattle dogs most our lives, which are pretty good at keeping the blighters away. But my sisters cattle cross collie is the best snake dog I have seen, even BIG browns don't seem to slow him down. The dog knocked itself to the ground when a HUGE brown it threw in the air landed on it's back, the dog just whipped itself up off the deck and was straight back into the snake, result dog=too many to count; snakes=nil. With 5 boys on a couple of acres I think the dog is my sisters best investment.

Cheers Trevor.
AnswerID: 142583

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 11:15

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 11:15
I have been in similar position with 2 dugites. I tried shooting it with a .22 got most of the magazine into it and it kept going, ended up using a shovel.

Since been told even better way is a length of aboout 25mm black poly pipe hit em over the back with it and it breaks their back. I now keep several lengths in strategic places around the house.

I actually dont enjoy killing them and we try to dissuade them from being near the house. Bobtail lizards(blue tongues) eat snake eggs so we encourage our Bobtails and look after them. The garden is shaded and cool but not to overgrown so snakes tend to keep away. Also the movements of 3 dogs and a horse seem to repell them as well.

AnswerID: 142586

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 17:01

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 17:01
Alan,

The weapon I have heard of is somewhat more substantial.

Back in the 60's and 70's my dad worked at a big chemical plant in Botany (Sydney) they had a bit of a problem with snakes and regularly called the snake man fro La Peruse.

He built for them the following. Length of 1" gal water pipe about 2' with about 4' or 5' of steel cable (winch cable) run through the middle.

Hope you guys remember feet and inches. Quick conversion 25mm, 600mm, 1200mm or 1500mm repectively. If you don't follow that ask your mum or dad they will.

Apparently the wire cable is heavy enough to dispatch the snake and flexible enough to follow the contours of the ground.

My dad informs me they work very well.

FollowupID: 396169

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 17:06

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 17:06
I'd do an injury just picking it up!!!!
FollowupID: 396170

Reply By: Jodi - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 12:58

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 12:58
A bit left field, but we have chickens at our place and the occasional fox. I spotted my first brown last week slithering accross the road as I was on my way out. I have been told that goats are good to keep around chooks as they keep away both foxes and snakes. Is this true?
AnswerID: 142598

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:47

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:47
Don't know if that is a myth or not but my sister has 2 small goats (6mths old) and the snakes are still defineately around her place all the time. I hope your story is true and the snakes dissapear as the goats get older. I don't want to see all snakes dead but I do want to see my 5 nephews grow up to reach adult hood at least.
FollowupID: 396142

Follow Up By: TassieDave - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:03

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:03
My father has about 1000 goats and still lots of snakes, wouldn't think that the goats make any difference.
FollowupID: 396197

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:41

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:41
u guys get my goat! We had 5-6 at home and never saw a snake, Jodi you may be on the money.

FollowupID: 396218

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:05

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:05
John.

You have got "Moses", now you just need "St Patrick".
Thats not the name of your 12gauge is it?
No more water or snake problems.

John, will you and Heather be around home mid Aug 06?
We may be down your way then.

Stay safe this festive season.
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 142600

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:40

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:40
Hi Wim,

Hope you and Judy are well. It is a bit early to speculate about our movements at theis stage in August. It is the cooler time of year here then, usually.

We had farm water problems last week and hopefully are over all that now.
FollowupID: 396198

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 14:59

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 14:59
Hi John

if one was nearby here, then I'd be getting rid of it the best way I could, which would probably involve a shovel...as I don't have a gun...Alan demonstrated his snake despatching skills when we were away with 4 wdadventureoz in Kingfisher camp, so I reckon I could match his abilities...except for the flicking it at people part...hahahah....[which was a panic reaction rather than anything sinster on
Al's behalf...was very funny to watch, though not sure Glenn thought so...lol...]

seriously....I would place personal safety above the life of a nasty....
AnswerID: 142620

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:44

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:44
A certain son borrowed my rifle Lyn and I haven't had it returned yet. It would have been easy with that to miss as it was a 30-36" snake and not particularly thick. The spade it was in one hit. He had wriggled and it got him in four places including behind the head. Didn't move afterwards.
FollowupID: 396199

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:44

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:44
Hmm a clever 3' snake, I would be dispatching as Lyn suggests, I think one less is better in the end.

FollowupID: 396219

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:08

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:08
I thought all the snakes were killed by a Cadillac in Romsie . is this true , is this true ??????
FollowupID: 396227

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 07:11

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 07:11
RC...I doubt the cadilac was that sinsiter...hahaha....I have actually never seen a snake on our place, seen plenty about in romsey, but none here...I think dad's mowing is keeping them at bay...

PS...

My dad said "gee those 4wd's cut the grass up a bit..."...hahaha...we had to explain it was a caddi doing donuts....lol
FollowupID: 396249

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 07:47

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 07:47
but they were only tennee weenee donuts ;-)
FollowupID: 396252

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:30

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:30
Eric, for teensy weensey donuts you really need some good toothy Cooper STTs and a LSD rear end so we could see where you had been next day. ;-)

Paddocks are nice and dry here now and you could raise dust.......... We didn't get the rain you guys got in the metropolis.
FollowupID: 396262

Reply By: Member - JD - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:00

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:00
Hi JohnR,
In my view its simple,I have no want to harm any of gods creatures what ever form they come in,and rarely do I call for my back up,,..Smith& Wesson...but if it comes down to my,or mines survival I have no hesitation whatso ever of protecting my own...but because this course of action is for ever make sure there ar no other ways around it..generally i've been told when you come face to face, their up to no good as they are aware of your presence way before they scare the bejingles out of the misus...word of warning beware of the mate lurking in thebackground!..the no go zone starts from the mowed section.
JD
AnswerID: 142621

Reply By: Mark T - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:33

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:33
Living here in the inner northern suburbs of Brisbane we don't get many snakes. However, Easter 2002 found us having a clean up at home. I'm a professional photographer and I have a small rockery for photographing small children. Late on Easter monday I found a 7 foot carpet snake living under a rock seat that we pose toddlers on. Decided to relocate him... not happy John. Managed to grab him behind the head, but then he wrapped the rest of his body around my left leg and started to constrict. At this point I had a super rush and my heart nearly jumped out of my chest. Wife came to rescue with a large shovel. I held his head down and she "massaged" the back of his head until he was converted to an ex-snake.

Glad I found him though.... can't imagine a parent asking me to get the snake of his/her child duriong a portrait shoot!

Mark Taylor
AnswerID: 142628

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:47

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:47
Shame it ended up that way, but I wouldn't want one of the buggers wrapped around my leg either.
FollowupID: 396159

Reply By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:45

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:45
Growing up on a farm, the rule was simple - in the yard area around the house, snakes were fair game and were quickly introduced to the business end of a post hole shovel. Down the paddock, generally leave 'em be unless there's a pressing need to dispatch them (e.g. kids, dogs about).

I think the laws in each state are basically that a snake can only be killed if it poses a threat to livestock, pets or people. They're part of the environment, have a role to play (keep the bloody introduced rats and mice down for starters!) and going around killing every one you see is rather futile, because there's probably 99 that you don't see for every one you get.
AnswerID: 142629

Reply By: gramps - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 17:33

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 17:33
If you believe it threatens you, your family, pets or livestock - get rid of it.

Taking to it with a shovel, golf club, or stick is generally a high risk solution. No thankyou. Contact your local council. Most have contacts with a local snake catcher/keeper or NPWS.

As a last resort, use a stick that breathes fire if you have one :)) But be prepared for a thorough investigation if one of your neighbours decides to report you.
AnswerID: 142644

Reply By: Spade Newsom - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 19:20

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 19:20
Agree with gramps and others that if snake is in the yard or anywhere you may frequent they are fair game. Carpet snakes and green tree snakes an exception. (A carpet snake over say 6-7 feet would relocate). Anything else I deem is poisonous.

Not real sure about using a rifle, shotgun maybe, but a one inch dowell or poly pipe is my weapon of choice. very effective ... aim for the middle of the back.

Wouldn't worry about the council or National Parks people unless it was large and "stuck" somewhere - in the roof or dashboard of the car.

spade
AnswerID: 142658

Reply By: DP - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:46

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:46
John,
I reckon anywhere near loved ones is fair game.

Your story remindsme of an incident at my in-laws' house a few years ago. They live on a fairly large vineyard in Willunga, SA, and see dozens of snakes each season.

Brian thought he spotted the tail of a brown snake disappear behind the entertainment cabinet in the rumpus room. He decided that he couldn't ignore it considering that he has 4 grandchildren who like to play in that room. So he pulled out one of his shot guns (he normally uses them for bird control), took up position on a rocking chair; grandpa on the front porch style; and waited...

...almost two hours later the snake's head emerged from his hiding place. BANG!

To this day Val still hasn't forgiven him for the chipped tiles and blood-stains on the ceiling. All for a worthwhile cause though!

Dan
AnswerID: 142675

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:33

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:33
There's more than one way to kill a snake that's not a problem but the problem in my neck of the woods is bloody ants. I can kill em all day but they just keep coming at us, millions of them day after day intent on turning our home into one big bloody ants nest. Give me a few snakes and you can have the ants.
AnswerID: 142685

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:49

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:49
Don't want the ants thanks Ray, white, black, brown or red. Snakes are manageable away from the house but I have little troubel from the ants at our home - that I have seen, but then I didn't see the termites in another place til too late :-(
FollowupID: 396234

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 03:31

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 03:31
I recently had problems with an invasion of meatants who had a nest just outsife my side gate. I got 2 containers of david greys ant killer and poisened the holes they were using. They abandoin the hole eggs and all and you follow them and kill the hole they are going to. About every hour go out and poison the holes they are using. I have no idea where all the holes come from - they cant dig them that quick but every time you go out they are using another 2 or 3 holes. It took 3 days and i posoned over 30 holes but finally they are gone
FollowupID: 396246

Reply By: ShnogDog - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:56

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:56
laying lengths of fairly small guage fishnet, similar to a bait net, serves as a very effective trap/barrier. They get tangled up trying to get through. Works very well. Makes them eaiser to flatten with a shovel, or keeps them there till you can get someone around to removing them.

Another effective method of despatching them is to twist together about 4 strands of fencing wire to a suitable lenght, say 5 ft. One strike is all its ever taken, breaks their back with no fuss.

But, after all that said, best to leave them be, unless they are a genuine threat.
AnswerID: 142706

Reply By: ShnogDog - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 00:05

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 00:05
I saw an article recently about a 21yo snake charmer in the North of Malaysia who managed to capture a King Cobra with nothing more than his hands... this snake measured 5.4 metres and weighed in at 15kg. Given that a King Cobra can stand to 1/3rd its body length, that bugger would stare a 6 foot man in the eye.

He's the man... brave or foolish... he's most definately the man
AnswerID: 142711

Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 00:23

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 00:23
G'Day John,

If you can run quicker than it can move, (tiger), then leave it alone, if it gives you no chance, (brown), get rid of the bugger and go find a tiger or a black to replace it!
Rolande
AnswerID: 142714

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 01:06

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 01:06
rolande
Thats funny, run quicker then a (tiger) "leave it alone", in my life with snakes the tiger is the only one that WILL chase you, had them chase me into the water (and they can swim) thank who ever they don't swim that fast.

And JohnR why didn't the misses just shoot it?
FollowupID: 396244

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:19

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:19
Rolande, I used to be quick on my feet but arthritic conditions in my ankles make me lurch a lot when getting to the trotting gaite now so which ever snake could catch me if they were angered. I know that can paricularly be the case with tigers whick have been known to climb tracked dozers after the driver in the bush round this way.

Richard, my dear Heather hasn't learned to use a firearm. She may use it on me if I taught her. LOL Actually my shottie is undergoing repairs and has been a while. Just a repair to the butt. My .22 is at my son's place as he makes too much mess shooting rabbits on the lawn with his shottie. I guess I could have blasted a bit out of the brickwork as Willie did after the neighbours cat!
FollowupID: 396258

Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:49

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:49
G'Day Richard and John,

They must breed them nasty where you guys are!

Ours usually try to head away from you.

I know exactly what steps to take when I see a snake - LARGE ones, in the opposite direction.

Rolande
FollowupID: 396275

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:07

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:07
Hey Bro

Looks like I have started a trend here....lol

Then again I would probably leave the snake alone and encourage it to go away.

Cats.....thats different!!

AnswerID: 142734

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:25

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:25
Bro, I think you taught our friends here the use of gouging out walls in a spectacular way with a firearm and to inject animal blood into the paint while doing so. Me, well I just asked the ethics. LOL Mate Truckie said I should have shot it at least for the forum consumption. Heheh. Just the way you did.

If it was a cat - Bro, yes VERY different way required. Nick has a special licence for foxes. :-))
FollowupID: 396260

Reply By: Boc1971 - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:25

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:25
SIGH , I would just like to point out that EVERY NATIVE AUSTRALIAN SNAKE is a protected species and if you are caught killing one - you can be held accountable which means a hefty fine or even jail time . Details can be found on the NPWS webpage.

I am a snake owner , I have 2x 7 foot long carpets that are totally harmless and had them since they were 2 weeks old ( captive bred and purchased ) Lot of the time these animals are killed by people that think its MANLY or Macho to kill a snake , when all they are doing is removing a animal from the wild that helps keep vermin such as rats and mice to a low level. there is also some Hysteria in regards to certain snake species such as redbellies , these snakes can be kept on a class 2 snake licence ( class 1 pythons and various lizards - 2 mild venomous and hard to keep 3 - very dangerous ) These snakes usually will leave very promptly and will not stand and fight unless you try to attack them or corner them. the only real snake that will chase you is an inland typan or brown snakes. the majority will scamper. "I didn't know what snake it was so I killed it anyway" is an excuse often heard , well -educate yourself - if you want to 4 wheel drive - you learn your vehicle - If you want to camp and bush walk - you learn what to expect and how to avoid! rather than being weekend Rambo and killing every native animal in sight.

Here is some info for you shovel happy weekend warriors, 90%+ of snake bites are as a result of people trying to kill a snake. Is it worth the risk of a potential snake bite , fine or prison time ? I am actually very disappointed in a lot of the comments in here in regards to how "I KILLED ONE WITH A 12 GAUGE or MY TRUSTY WINCHESTER will do the job" I thought this community was a bunch of people sharing interest in 4 wheel driving and what nature has to offer wether it be scenery or our native animals - I dint realize this was a hunting group that kills animals for the sake of it.

very saddened indeed

Frank

P.s the term for toxic snakes is VENOMOUS not POISONOUS - or amongst the snake handlers a venomous snake is regarded as a HOT HERP.

AnswerID: 142744

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:57

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:57
Frank, I certainly have plenty of respect for the species and have some knowledge of snakes in my area. Little of carpet snakes - pythons and the like. I commonly have my grandchildren running around the veranda and they have not really interracted wtih snakes and they (the snakes) could believe they are being cornered as the house is not a plain rectangle.

I would glady had a herpatologist remove the said snake to a distance as little as 50 metres to the roadside reserve. Any handling by me would really have made it angry. I am not a hot herp, nor do I know one who could have helped me.

I think the perusal of the pages of this forum you will find that many respondents commonly have a 'lend' of their mates which is the Australian humour at large. I commend that side too and share with others in the laughs. That may also be in building stories of the 60 foot long snake around the..... Please don't take it all too seriously. I have many hectares where snakes are so very free to roam.

FollowupID: 396279

Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:00

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:00
G'Day Frank,

While I can understand your point of view, I ask you look at ours as well.

You keep carpet snakes, not tigers or browns.

Kids running around, elderly next door neighbour, and a 4 foot tiger comes past your front door on the verandah, (this is an actual account, no rambo here). It's not a nice little kitty, kitty, kitty, it has the potential to kill, and unless it beats a hasty retreat is given curt regard.

Rolande
FollowupID: 396280

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:07

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:07
Rolande, the "nice kitty kitty kitty" here is much more an invitation to meet thy maker for cats. We don't any longer have a foxy about that will follow them up trees. Reminds me I better get my rifle back again.

FollowupID: 396282

Follow Up By: Lachie - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:08

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:08
Fortunately Frank a few of us put more value in our children than in the welfare of snakes. Like mentioned before if there is any snakes ( usually browns. tigers. or copperheads here ) around the house I will kill them. Out around the farm I will give them a wide berth.
Back when I was a kid in nothern SA there was a family who put their child to bed one night. Ten minutes or so later the child was crying so the went in picked up ,cuddled it and put it back to bed. They did this a secoond time and then they saw a snake in the childs bed. The child died.
Lachie
FollowupID: 396283

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:48

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:48
Well Lachie , in that cse we had better KILL ANY anyimal that may cause our children harm - the silky terrier next door - the rottie down the road - the kangeroo in the national park that can easy kick a child and cause huge damage , magpies that can swoop and take out an eye during mating season - or do you generally keep your children away from such dangers so you dont need to kill these animals ?

Frank
FollowupID: 396292

Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:04

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:04
Frank

Appreciate your comments and opinions as a snake lover. You choose to keep snakes and thats your right.
I will tactfully disagree with you regarding my right to destroy any animal I believe threatens my family, either harm or distress.
I have my house fumigated to kill redback spiders because they hide in places that children (and me for that matter) can unwarily place fingers and toes. If I see a redback I will destroy it. I treat snakes the same way. They can and do hide and if threatened can bite.
Do you kill spiders?

If I see a harmless spider in the yard I leave it be. If I see a harmless snake (carpet or green tree snake) I leave it be (or relocate if it is a large carpet). If I see a venomous snake in my yard I will destroy it.

Sorry if you are offended by this

FollowupID: 396373

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:57

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:57
JohnR - that's an interesting post. We've had a few this season - mostly Fierce Snakes. There are shovels all around our place (on purpose) but mostly I have a length of twisted wire with a l-shaped end. As for ethics - agree about out in the paddock or on the road but as we are so far away from medical help etc. if they are in town or in anyone's yards - then they have to go. Funny about they way kids borrow things.
AnswerID: 142780

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:06

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:06
Well Ruth, I hope you and Ian can come South this summer and enjoy a snake-free zone around the house, but that we can also go to the natural environment and catch some fish too, not too far away. Can't swear by the yabbies though and am sure we could find a snake too not too far away if you wanted too.

We seldon even think of snakes and it is a shock to find one seeking to find solace by the doors. I love to see them away from the house though.

I am not sure of "Fierce Snakes" A mate always said he could never own a pub because the ones he would want to kick out would be as profitable as his best cows - he is/was a dairyfarmer, has another occupation now too. I am sure the 'Fierce Snakes' aren't the ones who pay ;-)
FollowupID: 396304

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:36

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:36
I grew up in Werribee, back when it was lots more sleepy than it is now. Well, that is 'cept for the guys lapping the main st in VK commodores. There was a bloke back then, & I wouldn't put him past being still there, who used to do all the snake catching, esp around the river. On the cleanup weekends (eg. lions club) he used to wander ahead and just come back with handful after handful. Something to see. Can't remember his name now, was well known though. There's heaps around, and I reckon leave them alone they leave you alone. But saying that (there's always a but), one about to enter the house - go for the game of "snake cricket".
AnswerID: 142801

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:04

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:04
BUT, JohnR - you thought I was joking about the fierce snake - no it's not a non-paying/runout guest - it really is a nasty one. Inland Taipan - most deadly snake in Australia. All these years here and only ever saw two and that was last year (no, I don't mean you and Willem either!!) - one in our back yard, it was coming at Ian through the bush house - he was 7 ft long, shiny, thick and very healthy and beautiful. Didn't know Ian could dance like that either.
Thinking about this business after my first post - I'm sure the fine in Queensland is $75,000 for death/destruction of a snake. Still, they've got to catch you I suppose.
AnswerID: 142859