Need more space>>> upgrade to 100 series TD??

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:29
ThreadID: 28655 Views:2922 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
People, my family is growing in number. In particular, we will have 2 babies, 14 months apart, by March. We do quite a bit of travelling to family, all within 2 hours drive, but often stay overnight, or for the weekend. Those of you with babies know this means carting quite a bit of gear. We also have 1 x 11 year old who is very easy now, but she wont stop growing and is going to be pretty tall. Our holidays, touring and camping are just going to become a little more demanding of space with the gear we need to take.

My current vehicle is a Petrol 120 series Prado, and it does a bloody fine job and I really love it, but I'm thinking we need a bigger truck. The local Toyota bloke has just traded an 02 TD 100 series with 5spd Auto. 100K on the clock & Wants $48K for it. Now I dont know a great deal about diesels, but I gather that 100K shouldnt be considered long in the tooth for this vehicle or most other diesels, provided they have been well maintained. Is this right? I know I can talk him down a few grand, but need some input from those in the know.

I average about 35-40K per year, so I know I'm going to rack up another 100K in 3 years easily, though its mostly highway. Price is not the issue here, as I can always shop around and find another 2nd hand TD cruiser. I'm just not sure if buying at this mileage holds any traps with this vehicle, knowing I'm going to keep piling the miles on for the next few years...

Your knowledge, opinions and advice would be greatly aprreciated.

Reply By: Member - Bware - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:51

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:51
I can't comment on 100series as I don't own one but you are definitely right about 100k being acceptable for a diesel if it has been treated well. I bought my 80series with 105k on the clock with one previous owner, full log books and when you drive it you know it hasn't been driven hard. It drives like new.
AnswerID: 142689

Reply By: Member - Ian F (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:09

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:09
Hi Mark,

I have a 100 series Aug 03 mod and looked at trading back on a new modelbut can not get a good enough trade at only 82000km. Apparently new models are quite cheap at the moment ie around $62000 and as such $48000 for an 02 model may be close enough to look at for a new one.

Just a thought if money is not a problem.
AnswerID: 142692

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:30

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:30
Thanks Ian,

I had not even considered a new one as they have always been on the wrong side of $70k, but I might ask about it. I have a feeling my problem will end up being similar to yours, with not enough offered on the trade to justify it. Will see...

I thinks it funny how the same guys who tell you how good the resale on these toyotas are, happen to be the very same guys who cant offer you much of a trade in a few years... hmmmm

Many thanks for your response.

FollowupID: 396233

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew L (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:18

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:18
G'day Ian,
try this link

FollowupID: 396298

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew L (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:20

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:20
Sorry, wrong model.this is the one link
FollowupID: 396299

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 07:55

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 07:55
100k klms is just run in for a diesel....
AnswerID: 142731

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:47

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:47
Cheers Truckster, thats what I thought and was hoping to hear.
FollowupID: 396291

Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:51

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:51
Mark, Nego the price as it would be a great buy at about 45 but at any price providing it has been serviced correctly I would agree 100,000 is just run in. I just traded my 80srs which covered 500,000 klms for a 100srs td auto
.My 80srs was man and NEVER let me down I would be most happy if this 100srs does the same but as I am a few years older I now love my auto,but in the end a GREAT vehicle be sure.

REGARDS BILLS
AnswerID: 142765

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 17:09

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 17:09
Bill, I took it for a drive this afternoon, and it was very good. Just needs a slight alignment, otherwise still feels pretty new. Engine is impressive. Vehicle is absolute bare bones stock standard. Not one extra, not even a towbar. Has been serviced by the same dealership, so all seems to be fairly good. Am giving it some thought. Trade offered for my Prado was very sad which makes it a bit harder now.
FollowupID: 396342

Reply By: roblin - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:09

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:09
I would consider very carefully how much extra room you will actually get. My family consists of 14yo (almost 6' tall) 12yo (5 and a bit ft), 5yo daughter and 3 1/2 yo son plus my wife and I (I am 6'4").

My Prado 120 TD has enough room for what you are suggesting. WIth your family, just take out the back two seats and put in a cargo barrier. Although I haven't compared directly, I am sure that the 100 series isn't going to give you loads more room considering the extra $$ it will cost you. Also factor in less manouverable, dearer to run, etc For longer trips, spend the money on a roof rack.

I am not putting the 100 TD down (I would't mind one myself) but the 120 will do what you have suggested (baby gear and all).

Rob
AnswerID: 142826

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 17:30

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 17:30
I hadnt thoght about a cargo barrier, but you're right, it would help with being able to load more in, and with safety too. I havent put one in yet, as I regularly use the third row for school runs, but by the time the next baby arrives, it wont get used for school runs...

Trade in offered was no where near close, so I'm thinking I'll be keeping the 120 for a while yet. Thanks for the tip. I also agree that the Prado is better in terms of handling etc.

FollowupID: 396347

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:42

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:42
i've got a 7/96 build Prado,

also got (beautiful) Wife, 7 y/o, 4 y/o, 2.5 y/o and 1 y/o. Don't forget the room that a car seat for the bub takes up. If you have two needing car seats, that's not a lot of room left for your other sprog. Mostly it's just me and the elder three going away but if you're all hitting the track then forget about a cargo barrier, you need one in the back. I then remove one of the third row seats. I can fit heaps of bulky, light stuff atop.

So, that's where careful and canny packing with roof storage or something in tow may be needed. Cabin needs to be comfy and I agree with roblin that you may not get that much extra room with the 100, although I am not sure of the space behind the third row compared to a 120 series.

If you have two car seats in the middle row, that need anchor points, although the Milfords will accomodate these, your packing will be compromised as you need to protect the anchors.

But yep, how much of that stuff you take do you really need? Is there a better way to provide for ? Can I use something for more than one purpose and get rid of that other thing?
FollowupID: 396378

Follow Up By: roblin - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 13:49

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 13:49
Bushfix,
I am unsure if you have had the opportunity to drive or ride in the 120. They have a bit more internal room than the 90 series. I don't need to now, but have had my 15yo and two car seats in the second row.

You are right, car capsules take up a lot of room but you only need these for about 9 months. It is a lot of $ to get past this period. It would be better to address what you will REALLY use the vehicle for. A 100 series may be better suited for off road however, if you spend 99% of your time on road you don't necessarily need the larger vehicle.

Just my thoughts.

Rob
FollowupID: 396460

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 14:01

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 14:01
as I said "although I am not sure of the space behind the third row compared to a 120 series" i was obviously referring to cargo space when just using the middle row. Your reply was with reference to space in the middle row, no reference to space behind the third row. eg. can you fit an engel there?

re the 120 series Prado vs 100 series, for off road, I do not believe for a moment that one is better than the other, but "off road" implies many different conditions. Those 9 mths are a long time but yes I always bought our car saying that it woudl get better for us as our family gets older. I pack quite lightly.
FollowupID: 396462

Reply By: tdv - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:16

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:16
Here is a spanner in the works. I have 2 kids 4 and 2 and we were having toruble with space on the bigger trips. Good quality 4x4 trailer fixed all that! Bare bones around $2000. Have now migrated to camper trailer and have even more room.

For the changover price you could get into a good quality camper I'd reckon.

Terry
AnswerID: 142990

Follow Up By: roblin - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:58

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:58
tdv

I also have a Cavalier camper plus use the roof rack with 4 kids plus the missus and I on board. I have a Waeco 50 litre mounted on one side at the rear (seat removed) with the other fold down seat used for children. It is a 3 minute job to remove the fridge and put the other seat back in if I need 8 seats.

Bushfix,

I was referring to the amount of room for 3 people across the middle seat row compared to the 90 series. I drove a 90 series prior to buying the TD as it was the only TD I was able to test drive (due to a shortage, at the time, of 120 TDs) and was surprised at the difference in leg room between the 90 and 120.

When referring to off road use, it wasn't about capability, rather I was referring to the carriage of sufficient equipment for the family in the vehicle or on the roof rack.

Rob
FollowupID: 396491