Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:19
Member - Ian F (QLD)
Hello All,
I would appreciate feedback on either Kipor or Suyama Brand digital invertors generators. Ie., are they reliable, noisy or quite, good performers etc. If anyone has either of these would they recommend buying one when compared to a honda price considered?
Thankyou
Reply By: fox - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 06:08
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 06:08
Hello Ian,
We have friends who bought a Kipor 1 kva inverter generator stating it saved them $600 over the Honda. It does the job....We haven't been
camping with them so can't comment about the noise level, however they are not impressed by the blue smoke produced by the motor at start up...this is a brand new unit.
We've had a Honda EU20-I for the last 5 years and it's brilliant...noise is minimal at
camp and at worst you can hear the motor running within a 6 metre radius...outside that no noise is audible.
I know it' s more money....but you really do only get what you pay for.....
If money is a concern then I would spend the new price of a Kipor on a second hand Honda.
Happy
Camping
Rick & Julie
Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:09
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:09
I agree, you pay for what you get. Had a GMC 2 stroke which packed it in while we were in Arnhem Land (not many Bunnings stores out there to do a return). It had been used for 4 days about 2 hours a day and then nothing. The bloke in the next
camp had a EU10 that ran almost constantly, I was sold.
Got my money back and bought a Honda EU20. Not only good for
camping and caravanning but back up power at home for the numerous and regular storm blackouts we have here in Sth QLD.
The Kipors look the part, but it is all about the engine.
Wizard
Gold Coast
Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:25
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:25
You will always hear the other story too.
We have a 750-watt GMC jobbie that we have used on our property for 8 hours a day on both days of every weekend for the whole year. It hasn't missed a beat - ever. To my calculations - that's about 800 hours so far.
We ran it on 25:1 for the first 20 hours or so and then went to the recommended 50:1.
Other than that - we run an NKG sparkplug - and that's it. It's been an absolute ripper. The only thing we don't like about it is that oil ends up accumulating on the alternator's lower cover underneath and runs down the legs. It does need a bit of a clean before it gets thrown in the car for the trip back home.
Reply By: Member - Tony G (ACT) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 07:02
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 07:02
I've looked closely at all the brands and ended up with a Honda EU10-i, mainly on quaility, noise level, workshop/dealer back up and Honda have a cash back deal going on till mid december, pluss the price has dropped a bit as
well.
I have an older model Honda EM, 350 watt and it has run like a deram for the past 18 years, used often on our 12 month trip around the block, but now with the camper and a bigger fridge and battery charger built in, it needs 750 watt to start every thing up but drops back to 450 watt to run.
So I reckon buy once buy right.
Reply By: Banjo 1 - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:30
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:30
Even with Honda's cash back (expires late Dec - probably introduced again :-) the equivalent Yamaha is $100 cheaper ( $1340 is my best - deals in SA at present) - the Yam's specs are identical to the Honda (and 300g lighter!) - I believe their reputation as a manufacturer is as good - that's my pick - I'll probably move early next year - something might emerge in the post Xmas sales !
Follow Up By: Member - Tony G (ACT) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:22
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:22
The Honda cost $1325 and I'm happy with that knowing it's a quality product.
I've got three other honda powered equipment on the farm and not one has let me down, the firefighter has been relied on a couple of times last year.
Reply By: japmel - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:00
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:00
The original post is about Kipor or Suyama generators so why are you all talking about Honda and Yamaha??
Could someone answer the original question as I would like to know too.
My budget will not stretch to a Honda or Yamaha so I am leaning towards a Kipor.
japmel
Reply By: Banjo 1 - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 20:00
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 20:00
Because Jappy if you read between the lines we might be suggesting to Ian that he not rule out the extra outlay..... the $400 might be worth his consideration - the Honda's and Yams have the track record - the Kipor does not yet (
well.... not here anyway)........ and when we forumites reply, we decide how !
Follow Up By: japmel - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 21:02
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 21:02
Banjoke, (See I can call people names too)
Sorry if you took offence to my request but as I said I can not afford a Honda or Yamaha, And would like some feedback on the Kipor generator.
I don't think my request is unreasonable and it didn't deserve a reponce like yours.
japmel
Follow Up By: Austravel - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:05
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:05
Japmel, you'll get this sort of attitude regularly, just look past it.
I've got the Kipor and only ran it the once. Noise levels are a tap higher than the other brands but at less than half the price. It's 4 stroke and produces pure sine wave output.
Mine ran for 5 hours on one
tank of fuel running a 40 amp charger, a 15 amp charger and numberous chargers for camera, phone etc. You can get them for as cheap as $600 on ebay brand new. If your after good quality at a decent price then these fit the bill. If your after top quality but double the price then the Honda or Yamaha are the way to go.
Follow Up By: japmel - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:18
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:18
Austravel,
Thanks Mate thats just the sort of information I'm after.
japmel
Follow Up By: Member - Ian F (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:27
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:27
Hi Japmel,
Have been away but thanks for your comments. Evryone ones comments have been appreciated but as you say Budget is a consideration. Greeat to read Austravelks comments and Ebay pricing of between $530 and $899 certainly rasied my quetsion.