Ideas to secure a spottie

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:32
ThreadID: 28663 Views:2496 Replies:9 FollowUps:22
I was scratching aound in my 'parts' cupboard last week and found my old Hella Bull light that used to be affixed to Rosie G60.

So I moved aerials around and fitted and connected it but for the life of me I cannot get it to point anywhere except up( looking for owls and overhead wires).

The Bull light has two nuts at its base. One to tighten the light and one to secure the tightening nut. But everytime I tighten the lot and think I have it all in place, it slips backwards when the wind hits it and the light goes skywards.

Any inventinve ideas, anyone?

Yeah, I know......go buy a pair of Lightforce lights. But first I need to waste time with this one....lol

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:39

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:39
goodday willem
can you post a picture of said problem i will be around for a little while if it is possible denny goes under the knife about 1.30pm so will be leaving about 10.30 but will be home later

AnswerID: 142739

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:47

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:47
Thanks Steve

It will have to be later as today is a rush.

Best wishes to Denny for a successful op and a full recovery.

FollowupID: 396265

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:06

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:06
willem does the spottie have or supposed to have a dished washer between the nut nad spottie if washer is there is it streched

FollowupID: 396267

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:45

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:45
Yes Steve,

I will try and look at it tomorrow but SWMBO has me working flat out getting ready for a big bleep -up on Friday eve at the Art Centre. No rest for the wicked. lol

FollowupID: 396360

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:34

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:34
Hi Willem, you wouldn't believe it but have finally spent some money on the LC100 and bought some LightForce spotties!! BUT, am having trouble keeping THEM from tipping up - as you say, great for owls (not that there are many here). Hope you find the solution - I need it also.
Steve, best wishes to Denny - thinking of you.
AnswerID: 142772

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:05

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:05
G'day Ruth (& Ian)....long time, no hear!!!!
Did you get the XGT or Blitz model?
They should be relatively easy to set-up and lock into a fixed position; although I had a look at Peter (of "Peter & Lez" on here) on the weekend at TB picnic. He has the XGTs and pointed out that the horizontal bolt is designed in such a way that you need a special, thin-walled socket to be able to hold the bolt-head for tightening purposes.
The Blitz model (like I have) are very easy to tighten up (& unfortunately very easy for any mongrels to loosen off/remove as well).

As for Willie's problem, have you tried giving the bull-light with a hit with the arc welder??????? hehehehe

FollowupID: 396295

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:33

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:33
Hey things are beeing seen better with Lightforce........ With my 240 Blitz lights I took the reflectors off to do up the nuts on the bolts but ther are all shielded against tampering by sockets and no one without an angle grinder would get them out.

Next a new fishing boat Ruth?
FollowupID: 396335

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:44

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:44
Hello Ruth and Ian

How are you two. Cuttin' a bit of slack time now, eh? Geez, spending money on the Yota. Getting flash,eh? lol

FollowupID: 396358

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:46

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:46
Hi Ruth, If they are the XGT's I had the same problem on the way up to see you when I never quite got there. The solution is to tighten them up till you think you've done them up too tight and then nip them up an extra bit. Thats fixed mine and since have belted them around Poolamacca and Broken Hill and they've not moved.

And as has been said above, great to see you back posting, I missed you.

FollowupID: 396362

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:58

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:58
Willem,

Have a look at what I did in the driving light article. Just screw in a small sngle bracket to the lights and then get a couple of long bolts out of the parts box easy and cheap. When you go to the article scroll down to see the mounts.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 142782

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:47

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:47
Thanks David,

Will study your notes in depth soon.

FollowupID: 396364

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:08

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:08
Thanks from me also, David.
FollowupID: 396374

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:08

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:08
Hey there Willem :)

Are you sure you aren't breaking any local state laws by only having one (i.e. odd number) light? I know that some states see that as an offence.

AnswerID: 142784

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:40

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:40
Willie's not sure about that and probably doesn't care anyway. :):):)
FollowupID: 396300

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:50

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:50
hehe... you're right of course.... :)
FollowupID: 396303

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:41

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:41
Hello Omaroo(aka Chrispy)

Yes, but it doesn't seem to be an issue around here with lots of roo shooters about.

I have been waiting for years to be stopped and told that I need two spotties instead of one. I will then ask do I also need two HF aerials and two CDMA aerials and two UHF aerials....hahahahahahaha

Yeah I know, somewhere, sometime I will come unstuck on my weird theories but until that time I will get away with it....lol
FollowupID: 396356

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 07:49

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 07:49
Willem's life....fraught with danger and controversy!!

FollowupID: 396428

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 15:58

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 15:58
Thats the way life is, Omaroo

Never a dull moment lol
FollowupID: 396483

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:40

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:40
Willem:

1 Lower front tyre pressure to 3psi
2 Remove front springs
3 Add 34" body spacers to rear of vehicle only
4 install 8" lift rear springs
5 run 48" rear tyres (at 50psi)

By my calcs that will have your new light exactly parallel with the road, ofd course that is at your Latitude at Peterborough, for every 10 degree latitude you venture north drop rear tyres by 2 psi...QED

AnswerID: 142816

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:48

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:48
Mr Bonzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

You been drinking Pan Galactic Gargle Blasters again LOL
FollowupID: 396365

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:02

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:02
Only with Zaphod and Slartibartfast at the Restuarant at the end of the Universe mate

FollowupID: 396372

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:10

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:10
Yeah ........ a bit like Groundhog Day, watching the Earth explode time and time again.

Funny, these VB's don't seem so strong tonite lol
FollowupID: 396375

Reply By: signman - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:36

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:36
Get a longish worm type hose clamp- cut it 'open' opposite the tightening screw.
Straighten it out and pop rivet one end to the top of your driving light and the other end to the vehicle- say the radiator surround or grille.
Presto- a vibration proof, micro adjustment for your lights.
AnswerID: 142832

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:49

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:49
Thanks signman,

A very practical idea. I like that!

FollowupID: 396366

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 18:18

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 18:18
Have you ever tried to drill a hole through one of those hose clamps??? Bloody hard.!!!!!!!!!!!

Also, could be a bit hard for Willie to secure this way, cos his light stands proud of the top of the bonnet by about 18 inches.

FollowupID: 396505

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:15

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:15
Hey Bonz, Roachie et al - well, will give that a try also. Seems as if I can't do them up tight enough. Willem - also had to spend money and buy a new v-belt for the A/C fan. Couldn't get one to fit at the garages and had to get a GENUINE Toyota part - the parts guy jumped the counter and instantly put it on for me. How sweet was that? Wasn't going to dirve home to Birdsville without the a/c working - I had the Engel after all in my car. Poor old Doyley - he was in the ute with nothing working - ha,ha - just shows that a bit of maintenance never went astray (I keep telling him).
JohnR - new Toyota ute to set up like yours before the new boat - so sayeth Doyley after driving that old thing 3400 klms for 2 weeks.
Sorry Bonz, you'll have to put up with me all this summer - can't expect me to stay outside when it's 48 (the dogs won't even stay out now).
Let you know how I go with the spotties.
Three Dutchies came out of the Simpson yesterday in an old 60 series - pretty keen I'd say. The tops of the dunes are really fantastic - been having howling winds about every three days. Should be really high by the start of next winter.
AnswerID: 142862

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:21

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:21
Ahhh Ruth

'Couldn't get one to fit at the garages and had to get a GENUINE Toyota part - the parts guy jumped the counter and instantly put it on for me. How sweet was that? '

All that pent up charm ,eh? Works magic. And all you did was flash those lovely eyes of yours :o)

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
FollowupID: 396376

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 10:06

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 10:06
Willem, you're such a little debil debil, you!
FollowupID: 396439

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 17:52

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 17:52
How about a detenator on the nut.. so when they try adn undo it, the whole thing blows up...
AnswerID: 143001

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 19:16

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 19:16
Sorry I'm late

Light Stays

We strongly recommend the fitment of IPF light stays to the larger range of lights, where long distance, corrugated terrain is to be encountered

Light Stays

Or stainless steel turn buckles the yachts use
AnswerID: 143259

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 19:19

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 19:19
or this page

ARB

[ View Image]
FollowupID: 396771